Shopping for Jerry’s Birthday Present

Jerry is in bed and doesn’t know what I am planning for him as he sleeps. His birthday is in March. Do you believe he would like this for a present? (He’s going to kill me when he sees this. 🙂   )

H & M’s New Collection features skirts for men

Not only has H&M decided men would look good in pleated skirts come spring, they think they’re best paired with tights and a shirt with a dream catcher on it. Are there any words? Because we can’t find them.

Not only has H&M decided men would look good in pleated skirts come spring, they think they’re best paired with tights and a shirt with a dream catcher on it. Are there any words? Because we can’t find them.

Photo by: H&M

Kudos to Kaye Palacios on whose FB page, I first spied this developing trend.

13 thoughts on “Shopping for Jerry’s Birthday Present

  1. Oh, no!!! Knowing Bro. Buxton’s voice, mannerisms and character, this is a definite “NOOOOOO!!!!!!” There isn’t an effeminate bone in his body. UGH!!! The very thought of him in this outfit is – – – gag.

    Like

  2. Hi Sister Buxton,

    This is in response to your comment concerning there being no trousers in Biblical days. It’s true that there weren’t trousers as we think of trousers today, but the Old Testament priestly garments did include linen breeches which were worn underneath their outer robes. (Leviticus 6:10, Exodus 29:42, Leviticus 16:4) Something I learned recently too from our midweek Bible studies here is that there were definite distinctions between the male and female robelike garments. The term “gird up your loins” is used in the following verses. 2Kings 4:29, 2 Kings 9:1, Job 38:3, Job 40:7 and Jeremiah 1:17. This girding up the loins refers to the act of reaching between the legs, pulling the back of the garment toward the front and tucking it into a belt. This would cause the robe to take on a pants like appearance on the man. This command to gird up thy loins was always given to men. There is no instance in the Bible of a woman ever doing this.

    As far as the skirt for men in the picture, I agree too that it’s clearly intended to be a gender bender. When I saw the picture a saying came to my mind that I read years ago in a book by Francis Schaeffer. “What is unthinkable in one generation becomes the thinkable in the next.” I believe that statement to be true. There was a time when two people living together without being married was not the norm and really frowned upon, but because of human reasoning and the idea of it being continually presented, we hardly bat an eye at it today. The same goes for women wearing trousers. From some of the reading I’ve done this was considered scandalous during the early 1900’s, but with the advent of motion pictures and Hollywood actresses dressing in such a manner gradually lost its’ stigma.

    I feel grieved when I think about young men out there maybe struggling with their identitiy that may see this man in a skirt get up and decide to try it. God help us!

    Like

  3. Shirley, You find no argument from me here. I think even the idea makes men feel odd. I know I’d feel odd with a man dressed as such. But add bagpipes and plaid and it’s a different story. It’s not just how a garment is made but society’s attitude toward it, which is why some clothes (polo shits, sweatshirts, jeans) are now considered uni-sex. I think the “something” you speak of is attitude. Women tend to be more progressive than men for a number of logical reasons.

    Like

  4. I don’t know that it’s the specific piece of clothing as much as it is the intent. I love a man in a kilt, but that’s a traditional piece of clothing. It was also traditionally only worn by men, so differentiation still existed. And the Scots are not the only culture where men don’t where pants. However, the item above is clearly intended to be a gender-bender. So it it the intention and the context that make it an issue, rather than what the specific item of clothing might be.

    Like

  5. Helen, I haven’t made a comprehensive study of it, but I believe in the days of the Bible, no one wore trousers. There was something, though, that differentiated the clothing of a man from that of a woman. Otherwise there would not have been such a scripture as that found in Deuteronomy 22:5: “The woman shall not wear that which pertaineth unto a man, neither shall a man put on a woman’s garment: for all that do so are abomination unto the LORD thy God.

    I also believe there to be an innate sense in the human that calls for men and women to look distinct from the other. Might be why you said, “I think they look ridiculous.”

    Well, I won’t be buying such a suit for Jerry. What about Bill? Would he like one? I rather think not. 🙂

    Like

  6. I think they look ridiculous. But skirts are nothing but the bottom halves of short robes. That’s all. God did not say, “Let there be pants that shall be worn only by the male of thine species.” Honestly.

    Like

  7. I think if Jerry has a little Scottish in his background you may be safe. If he does not, then I, personally, would not be home the day his gift arrives.

    Mervi

    ps:
    Gift Jerry a great birthday wish from Virginia and myself!!

    Like

  8. I’m sure that’s what he’s always wanted! Hehe! Actually, that’s really sad! I hate how the world is mixing men and women’s clothes more and more each year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

