Yes, Nancy, We’re Serious

“Are you serious? Are you serious?” was her testy response when Nancy Pelosi was asked to specifically show where the constitution gives Congress the authority to mandate the purchase of health care coverage.

CNSNews.com: “Madam Speaker, where specifically does the Constitution grant Congress the authority to enact an individual health insurance mandate?”

Pelosi: “Are you serious? Are you serious?”

CNSNews.com: “Yes, yes I am.”

Pelosi then shook her head before taking a question from another reporter. Her press spokesman, Nadeam Elshami, then told CNSNews.com that asking the speaker of the House where the Constitution authorized Congress to mandated that individual Americans buy health insurance as not a “serious question.”

“You can put this on the record,” said Elshami. “That is not a serious question. That is not a serious question.”

A follow-up post on Mrs. Pelosi’s official web site shows she was not teasing when she dismissively answered the reporter from CNSNews.com. She states that Congress has unlimited power in this regard.

…(T)he power of Congress to regulate health care is essentially unlimited.

From Nancy Pelosi’s official web site

This makes for a riveting discussion, and as is to be expected, opinions run the gamut; scholars and constitutional experts write and speak from both angles–some saying such is constitutional; others that it is not. It will be interesting to see how this is resolved.

My disappointment with Nancy Pelosi (among other things) is her presumptuous demeanor and her superior and self-important ways. There should be no honest question any of us will ask that is treated with such disdain and disparagement. These are crucial days for America. We must ask questions. We must have answers.


7 thoughts on “Yes, Nancy, We’re Serious

  1. If my old mind serves me right, somewhere I read that Congress only has as much power as we allow them to have. Then there was a man who said, “the most powerful thing you have is your signature.”

    So, let’s put out signature on a letter letting those in Congress now where we, the electorate, stand and how we feel about their actions!
    Mervi

    Ps;
    NO!!! I do not approve of the actions of this Congress.
    YES!! I have sent letters, real paper in real envelopes.

    Mervi, I appreciate your response…and your actions.

    Like

  2. Indeed, our hope is in God. That comforts me, but it does not lessen my sadness at the stunning decline. I think of Jesus weeping for Jerusalem. Of course, my sadness is not just for the United States. We have been the country that supported most of the world’s charities, missionaries, relief organizations, human rights efforts. When we go, everything goes. Also, it is certain things will get more difficult for Christians in this country, if things aren’t turned around. I just saw a preview of a movie that states that the greatest danger to America and the world is American Evangelicals, because we support Israel and make Muslims unhappy.

    The enemy has always been the enemy, but he is getting bolder. I suspect Pelosi and her ilk have always thought Congress has unlimited power, but actually putting it in writing shows how confident they’ve gotten.

    Though I agree that this looks a lot like end-time prophecy, I am still praying for revival and a return to righteousness. I am, at least, encouraged to see that so many more Christians seem to have awakened to the fact that there is a war going on, and it really does involve us.

    Waltzing, I agree completely with you, and did not intend in my former comments–when I pointed out that perhaps this is a fulfillment of Biblical prophecy–to suggest there is nothing we should try to do. To our last breath, we must press for righteousness and for godliness. I don’t think it beyond the mark to pray and expect an end-time revival.

    Like

  3. “How about it? Want to make the pledge? Down with whining! Up with waving!” Shirley Buxton

    Helen, I fear you’re being disingenuous in this. Given your raw intelligence and your fine education, I am confident you understand the difference in whining and in voicing serious concern about the actions of a government. A whine is a feeble or petulant complaint. This is not a whine, not a feeble, nor a petulant complaint. It is an expression of my sincere apprehension and unease about the direction of our country as demonstrated by the actions of some of our leaders.

    My concerns are not exceptional or atypical. President Obama now has the lowest ratings of any President after one year in office.

    Like

  4. I have to agree with Waltzing here. Not only does Congress NOT have unlimited powers to do (insert subject du jour here), but it is expressly and very clearly written out in plain english, that congress has limited powers, and one reason the balance of power was to held in three separate branches of government. I am so glad I do not still live in California. With the likes of Pelosi and Boxer, nevermind the rest of the idiots in power on all sides of the aisle, I surely would’ve had myself committed or worse.

    Like

  5. Good morning, Waltzing. These are treacherous days for the United States–indeed even for the world. I’m sure much of what we are seeing may be connected to end-time Biblical prophecy, and I suppose it should help us in some ways to understand this.

    Our hope is in God, is it not.

    Like

  6. Man — she is one scary lady. Even if one agreed with her thoughts on health care (though I don’t), it is hard to imagine anyone buying the comment that Congress has unlimited power for any issue. What ever happened to “We the people” being in charge?

    Like

Leave a Reply

