Is the Beauty of Sarah Palin a Hindrance to Presidential Consideration?

It has occurred to me to consider whether or not the beauty and extraordinary attractiveness of Sarah Palin has any negative influence on the perception of her ability to be president of the United States. Apparently it was not a hindrance in her being elected governor of Alaska–or then perhaps it was was–and her other attributes led to the overcoming of that bias, and thus to her election. I don’t know. But now that she has been a vice-presidential candidate, and that there is wide-spread talk of her being a candidate for the presidency in 2012, I’m wondering if her beauty could be a hindrance to her being seriously considered as a presidential candidate.

Are some people of such mind-set as to believe (consciously or even unconsciously) that a woman cannot at the same time be intelligent, logical, well-informed and, yes, beautiful? I’d like to hear your thoughts about this. If you are of the mind-set that a beautiful woman is somehow perceived less desirable as a national leader because of her appearance, consider whether or not the same judgment applies to attractive men. Think of Ronald Reagan: Was he at all viewed less promising as a leader because of his handsomeness? Or was ever such a thought entertained?

I don’t want to talk about any other attributes of Sarah Palin–either positive or negative. Merely her natural beauty is what I am speaking of here.

Think about it and let me know your opinion. I’m eager to hear from you.

13 thoughts on “Is the Beauty of Sarah Palin a Hindrance to Presidential Consideration?

  1. Montgomery

    As a man I will say she isn’t just beautiful, she’s smoking hot! I don’t know one single man that doesn’t think she isn’t a fox. It isn’t just her physical beauty that makes her so alluring, it is her down to earth view of life. Not to mention she’s a hunter, fisher, fighter. She’s got enough intelligence to govern a state, and she doesn’t mind getting dirty. Seriously, what’s not to like? She works hard, plays hard, and has the strength to raise a special needs child. That’s the kind of woman I would want to have my back.

    Like

  2. Greg the Explorer

    I gotta say that I think Sarah Palin is a very attractive person, she is in my opinion beautiful – not stunning stare at her in the street beautiful but very very classy and pretty. Certainly I find her attractive. That wold not stop me voting for her…not being an American citizen would be one of the things that would stop me voting for her.

    It is an interesting question though, I do think that many men may well think a beautiful woman like Sarah Palin incapable of leadership – however I think that kind of thinking is very much on the wane

    Like

  3. Sandy Bock

    In the little part of the world I live in (Orange County, California) most men tend to view beauty as very important when it comes to their wives, girlfriends and daughters, but not so important in the CEO’s or managers of the companies they own or work for. So in my opinion the men of this county would not vote for her because of her beauty, they would have other things on their minds during her speeches and not really listen to what she is saying. Now, the women of this county tend to look past appearances and listen. So would it be possible for her to become president, as far as Orange County is concerned it depends on the number of female voters vs male voters.

    Like

  4. Kris Keyes

    Wow!!! Sarah Palin is like…Wow!!….What!!! Oh sweetheart I didnt see you looking over my shoulder while I was typing….Oww!!!! OWW!!!…NOOOO….dont hit me again!!!!…its Sis Buxtons fault…..PRAY SAINTS!!!!!

    Like

  5. Shirley,

    Unfortunatly, I believe there is opposite views of good looking men and women. A handsome man is often thought of as strong and compelling. An attractive woman on the other hand is thought of as week, perhaps even ditzy.
    It shouldn’t be that way, but it is.

    Like

  6. Hi Helen. For sure, there are varying opinions as to what constitutes beauty, and these differing views might skew my little poll a bit: I’m not sure. Still, though, I believe most people consider Sarah Palin beautiful–certainly not plain. You’re probably right that none of these considerations affect elections as much as does party politics.

    Yet I wonder if somehow very beautiful or handsome persons may, because of that, be thought a light-weight. I know when Ronald Reagan appeared on the political scene, I had a little problem viewing him as other than a movie star. Very short-sighted of me.

    Thanks for commenting. Hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas.

    Like

  7. Sarah Palin is a nice looking woman. To call her “beautiful” is going a bit far. As far as her looks affecting a vote, I’m not sure. One group of people think she looks wholesome. Another thinks she’s hot! I still think it will come down to party politics not Palin’s appearance.

    Like

  8. Hello, Blake. Welcome to my blog. Hope you’re here often.

    Whoops. Remember I said, “I don’t want to talk about any other attributes of Sarah Palin–either positive or negative. Merely her natural beauty is what I am speaking of here.” You pose a timely question; one which is being widely discussed, and which will be addressed on my blog, I’m sure. But today, I want to stick with my original thesis question: “Is Sarah Palin’s beauty a negative force in people’s consideration of her being fit for the presidency?”

    Think of it this way: Would the views she offers–her thoughts on limited government, abortion, exceptionalism of America, necessity of protecting our country from terrorism, etc.–be perceived more weighty if she were not beautiful? If she were plain appearing?

    Like

  9. Blake Lewis

    Dear Shirley,
    Respectfully, I think highly of Sarah Palin as a person, and am proud that she shares similar views as I do about the role of government. Unfortunately, I don’t share those views about her with the consideration of public office. Listening her speak, hearing her response in various media situations and witnessing her reactions to controversy have all reinforced those opinions. What has she said that everyone thinks she a brilliant and articulate conservative?

    Yours,

    “Blake”

    Like

Leave a Reply

