“Mr. Gorbachev, Tear Down This Wall!”

I cannot let this day pass without noting the significant event that shook the world 20 years ago today. Nor can I mute my mouth and fail to give credit to President Ronald Reagan whose bold words and courageous demeanor contributed to the destruction of the wall; an ugly wall that divided the city of Berlin–East from West, Freedom from Subjugation. Standing before the Brandenberg Gate, often noted as a symbol of communism, the President of the United States spoke directly to the communist leader:

“Mr. Gorbachev, tear down this wall.”

The press paid little attention to the speech, except that the Soviet Tass spoke of Reagan as giving an “openly provocative, war-mongering speech.”

But within months, the wall had fallen–chiseled, hammered, clawed at, and axed. Deliverance had come to Berlin.

I’ve brought over a couple of videos. One is of President Reagan speaking the historic words; the other is a moving account of the destruction of the Berlin Wall by photographer Anthony Suau.

…I long for President Reagan, the liberator…I long for his courage, conservatism, honor, and love for our country, these United States of America.

6 thoughts on ““Mr. Gorbachev, Tear Down This Wall!”

  1. My husband and I were stationed in Germany during this time and I remember this as if it were yesterday. I remember seeing the wall come down. I remember what it was like before and after. I remember mostly the people who were now free and the families reunited.

    What an incredible man President Reagan was. I too long for his courage, conservatism, honor, and love for our country, these United States of America.

    Like

  2. dean

    Great men do great things! And he did not receive the NOBEL Peace prize for his efforts. Yet Hussein Barack Obama received one for….. I forgot…. just what did he receive it for???

    Like

Leave a Reply

