An Appeal for Health Care Logic

Perhaps for many years, it has been established and acceptable protocol for either house of Congress to pass a bill which virtually no one had read in its entirety.

I don’t know.

Perhaps whether Republican led or Democrat led, our representatives have routinely voted up or down on important legislature they have not read.

I don’t know.

Today, the health bill before the House of Representatives is of staggering size; 1990 pages. Am I missing something? But doesn’t this seem ridiculous, confusing, incomprehensible, unreasonable, too much bureaucracy, too many words, too much mumbo jumbo?

I think so.

We are told the cost for these measures will exceed $1.055 trillion. More than a trillion! I said, although I hardly can push the words from my mouth, and my ordinary brain can in no way compute such a figure.

And yes, the “death panel” section did survive.

And no, I don’t like it.

Has common sense completely fled? Are we totally unable to be “down-to-earth sensible?” How can our representatives wisely vote on a package of such ponderous weight and girth? Is there not a better solution for our health care issues?

I don’t know for sure, but logic whispers in my ear: There must be a better way.

Health Care Overhaul


AP Photo

2 thoughts on “An Appeal for Health Care Logic

  1. Section 1- I also don’t know, but I believe the answer is leaning toward ‘YES’.

    Section 2- I think here too the answer is yes, and many votes aren’t based on the overall bill, but a couple personal or party-related key sections or ammendments thrown in (whether or not they are related to the subject matter of the overall bill)

    Section 4- Congressional employment requires being innoculated for common sense. The vaccine also kills the ability to be down to earth. One couldn’t hardly socialize effectively with their colleagues without being high and mighty about themselves. As for their wisely voting…I dont know, but I’m leaning towards the choice of ‘not likely’. And as for a better way, the answer is ‘yes’. Whether thru the private market system or the government run system, or even a combination of the two, I think any bill could easily be broken down to 500 pages or less and still cover everything under the sun. But whats a congressional bill without a lot of unnecessary language, legal jargon that requires a definitions section, and some extra blowharding thrown in for good measure?

    Like

Leave a Reply

