Jessica’s Birthday Pizza Party and Photo Shoot

Her birthday is Saturday, and she is so sweet and so beautiful, that Tuesday night I asked Jessica, “Want to go out for a little photo shoot?”

“Sure, Granny. Like that a lot.”

Our little party grew. I invited Melody to go with us because she’s an amateur photographer also, and she’s interested in Jessica and her well-being, and Melody said when I asked her to join us, “Why don’t we have pizza, too?”

I invited Rosalinda and at first she said yes, then remembered an appointment, but she would pick up the pizza and take Jessica to our meeting place at the park. “White pizza would be good,” Jessica suggested for she was familiar with Ken’s pizza place. Around 5:30 we all arrived at the park bench for the hastily arranged birthday party. They giggled as I drew DSC_0016from my bag yellow place mats, birthday napkins, white paper plates (referring to them as our china) and plastic forks (which we pretended was sterling silver, but which no one used!) I also plunked down cans of diet coke and the celebration was ready. It was scrumptious, and Rosalinda was able to stay just long enough for the great meal.

My recent increased interest in photography, and my acquiring a nice set of Hoya magnifying lenses so that I’ve spent a fair amount of time with bugs, flowers and water DSC_0015drops has enabled me to have acquired now a small portfolio of rather nice shots. But although they’re cute as can be, they’re still bugs and rose petals and watery drops. I was wanting now to tackle portraits…and her birthday was coming up…thus the photo shoot with the birthday girl, Jessica.

An indication of my inexperience and ineptitude was that I was lacking in a distinct plan and location for the portraits, but the grassy area just behind our picnic table was beautiful, and the light was perfect. The light was important to me because I don’t have a separate flash unit, and had decided to use only ambient light. We would shoot awhile there, then drive over to the bridge, for the gorgeous sky filled with cotton-candy clouds promised a striking sunset.

Everything went well, and I knew I was getting some good shots, then all of a sudden when my camera wouldn’t snap,Β  I looked down and my indicator reported a full card. Full? How could that be? Impossible, for I had taken only 30 or so snaps, and had come to the shoot with nearly a full card. But there it was. Full. I took out the card, blew on it, reinserted it, removed and replaced the battery. Nothing…and I didn’t have a spare card. Had one at home. 😦 (learned a lesson there.) I had used that same card for years and supposed it had just worn out.

Later as I loaded my pictures onto the computer, I noted at the bottom of the pictures the word, RAW…and then I knew. Somehow (no idea how it happened) my camera settings had been changed so that I was shooting in RAW mode (which most serious photographers do, but which I had never done). RAW takes significantly more memory that other shooting modes.

So, we didn’t get over to the bridge, didn’t get sunset pictures with beautiful Jessica in the foreground, but we’ll do it all later…and I learned a lot yesterday afternoon.

Later on my photography blog, I’ll post some of the other pictures I took of my beautiful granddaughter. Happy birthday, Jessica.

6 thoughts on “Jessica’s Birthday Pizza Party and Photo Shoot

  1. Aisha

    Hi! Happy Be-lated B-day to Jessica!!

    I would love to learn photography someday…after I list the piles of stuff in the closet on ebay (try to start today!), and after I open the box of my brand new sewing machine, and after I start creating a children’s series of books that I have in mind, and after…. u know, someday!

    BTW, I think you are doing absolutely great photography! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Isn’t technology wonderful!!
    Until you / it goes wrong or fail to communicate with each other.
    Remember we are smarter than any DUMB technology. Well at least we are supposed to be?

    GREAT picture of your grand-daughter.

    Mervi

    Like

  3. Scott, this compliment coming from you means a lot to me, for I greatly admire your work. You are a talented photographer. Wish we lived close so you could help me learn things. πŸ™‚

    For sure about the card. I have never shot in RAW before for I was thinking you had to have Photoshop to process it; have no idea how my camera got set that way. I don’t have Photoshop; just use the photo program on my Mac.

    Love you guys, and again thanks for the compliment. I’ll see Jessica in the morning and will tell her you sent greetings.

    Like

  4. Granny, that is a beautiful capture! Great job, you are becoming quite the photographer. Jessica looks great, tell her I said hello (we stayed at her house once when C&J bought a boat out there). Make sure and pack an extra card next time πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

