Robert Heredia, A Teacher Who Has My Heart

DSC_0110“What’s your favorite subject in school?” I asked Chloe during the time she was with us.

“Science, Granny,” she told me.

On last Friday when we met Andrew and his family in Yuma, her mother handed Chloe a letter, which after she had read, was passed around the table. After I read the amazing letter, I propped it against something and took this picture, for instantly on reading it, I knew I would write about it here on my blog.

In a world gone crazy, in a world where public schools are often looked on with disdain ( many times, deservedly so), in a world where classrooms are too often a buzz of disorganization, in a world where teachers are verbally abused and where their hands are too often “tied,” in a world where teachers’ salaries are laughable (but where athletes make millions and rock stars rake it in by the bushel loads), in a world where high school graduates can’t identify their own continent or name the president and the vice-president…rises a shinning star named Robert Heredia…No wonder Chloe said to me, “My favorite subject is science, Granny.”  And then she added, “Mr. Heredia is my ‘most favorite’ teacher.” Easy to see why after reading this remarkable letter.

In a heart-tugging way Mr. Heredia goes on in the letter to challenge Chloe (and her classmates) to finish high school. He will be writing them twice a year–once around Christmas, and once in the Spring time. Do they need to talk to someone? He gives his telephone number and his email address.

“Why do you think I am doing this? Are they going to pay me to help you? The reason why I am doing this is because I choose to. Helping you and your other 107 classmates is something I choose to do.”

“What am I going to be doing you may wonder. I am going to University of California San Diego to get my PhD in chemistry. I will then become Dr. Robert Heredia. :) It will take about four years. I have a dream of going to your high school graduation and inviting you to my PhD graduation at UCSD.”

I pay tribute today to Mr. Robert Heredia and to the many other teachers in our public (and private) schools who have a heart for the children of our world. Thank you, Mr. Heredia. Thank you for your contribution to our society, for your obvious concern for the children of San Diego. Thank you for loving my beautiful Chloe, and for being “her most favorite teacher.”

I hope to meet you when Chloe graduates from high school. Perhaps I can sneak in when you receive your doctorate at UCSD.  I would be honored to sit in the audience with Chloe’s family, and you may be sure we will be cheering.

EDIT: I have submitted this article to DIGG. Please go over and vote; Mr. Heredia needs to be honored.

13 thoughts on “Robert Heredia, A Teacher Who Has My Heart

  1. Karen S. (Phoenix, AZ)

    Nice article. What a blessing this teacher would have been to ME back in 1978.

    I enjoy reading your blog.

    Merry Christmas, enjoy Crestline. I’m sure we’ll be turning on our A/C AGAIN this Christmas.

    Like

  2. Great post. Mr. Heredia sounds like a great one. And on the subject of thanking influential teachers, I invite you to check out this brief video — ahamoment.com/pg/moments/view/4654 — it’s the “aha moment” experienced by one teacher whose hard work and care were recognized in a very special way. Saying thank you really means a lot, especially to teachers.

    Thanks,
    jack@ahamoment.com

    Like

  3. Chloe

    yup yup…he is the best teacher EVER. my mom is going to send him a copy of this post Granny. i wish all you guys could meet him. he impacted everybody in my classroom. he always told us to do our best. he taught us in the most amazing ways. but more than anything he told us that we could do anything we wanted and i dont think any of us really believed that untill he said it. i wish everybody could have a teacher like him.and all this stuff is coming from a guy who wears a white lab coat that says phsyco ward!

    Like

  4. Rebecca

    Chloe will always remember this remarkable teacher. Perhaps look back to the day of the letter and say, “This is why I have been successful.” Awesome!

    Like

  5. Greg the explorer

    I still recall with great fondness the teachers who took personal interest in me when I was in school

    Mrs Buckner (grade 2)

    Sr Jacquie – maths in high school
    Sr Marie Julie – Science in high School

    Yep I went to Catholic Schools and both those nuns had a great impact on my faith (though not while I was at school) but just as importantly I new that while I was at school, when I didn’t believe in myself, they believed in me.

    It is indeed brilliant to hear about such an amazing teacher as Robert Heredia – whose name I think is an indication of his power as a teacher – Heredia, which is a Basque name from the Latin Heredium which is an ‘hereditary estate’ (a derivative of heres), i.e. one that could be passed on to the heirs of its tenant instead of reverting to the overlord. Robert Heredium is passing the love of knowledge on to his students rather than keeping it for himself.

    Peace

    Greg

    Like

  6. Nita

    Its true! Praise brings more results than tearing one down. Reading his letter would make one want to achieve goals that have been set. He deserves honor.

    Like

  7. dean

    It seems daily we hear of teachers abusing or seducing students across America. Rarely do we hear good stories about great teachers!! Thanks for sharing with us. p.s. Chloe you are indeed a fortunate person.

    Like

  8. Truly amazing! I’ve had a few awesome teachers. In middle school my favorite was Mr. Catalano, he was my history teacher. God Bless all our dedicated Teachers whether they be educational or spiritual.

    Like

Leave a Reply

