IQ

An old saw goes something like “Every crow thinks hers is the blackest” referring I suppose to the understanding that most parents see their offspring as exceptional; beautiful and intelligent. Truth be known, most children are average. Has to be that way, doesn’t it, given the definition of average. It’s just that as parents we are sure ours are the exceptional ones, our children leaving the average in the dust. Come around then to asking grandparents about their little gaggle, and scores burst off the charts.

Enter Karina Oakley, 2 years old, who lives near London and who along with professor Stephen Hawking and Microsoft founder Bill Gates has an IQ of 160. Not just according to her mother, who had noted her daughter’s exceptional language and Newsmemory skills, but determined by a 45-minute IQ test in which she was challenged in verbal ability, memory, handling a pencil and numbers and shapes.

At the end, the professor found that she had a special bias towards words, with a ‘wonderful imagination’.

‘Karina is a lovely, responsive and friendly little girl,’ said Professor Freeman. ‘She is more than very bright and capable, she is gifted.’

The professor noted that Karina gave imaginative responses to questions. For instance when asked, ‘What do you use your eyes for?’ she answered, ‘You close them when you go to sleep’ and then also said, ‘You put your contact lenses in them’.

karina graphic.jpg

Source: Mail Online

I’m curious today about your thoughts concerning IQ. How important do you consider a person’s intelligence? Does a brilliant person make for a “better” person? Do they accomplish more? Are they more dependable? How about character and integrity? In your opinion, is there any correlation? Are such people happier than us average ones? Less happy?

I’ve confessed before to my enjoyment of working with bright youngsters; those with keen eyes, an awareness of their surroundings, full of questions (so that you’re driven nearly batty, at times), an ability to understand nuance and abstract thought. I love that. On the other hand, I’ve known Down’s Syndrome children who are loving, who make me laugh, and who are exceptionally musical. And I’ve known scores of average children.

Children grow up, giving us then low IQ adults, average ones, and those with superior IQs. Does it make a lot of difference? Are adults with superior IQs happier and more productive? Which group makes the best neighbors, friends and co-workers?

Interesting.

 

19 thoughts on “IQ

  1. renaissanceguy

    Intelligence is a gift from God. Like all of God’s gifts it can be used for good or evil or it can be put to no use at all.

    It is nothing to be proud of, since a person does nothing to get it. (There are ways to boost one’s IQ, but they only go so far.)

    Contrariwise, there is no reason to be ashamed or embarrassed by being lower on the IQ scale.

    I subscribe to the multiple intelligences theory. It holds that reasoning skills are just one kind of intelligence. There is also musical intelligence, kinesthetic intelligence, social intelligence, and a few others. According to that theory, almost everyone is intelligent but in a particular way.

    My mother-in-law, for example, was not brilliant in school, but she is an expert at all kinds of crafts, including cake decorating, sewing, and knitting. She would not do well on an IQ test, but she is very intelligent. Even better, she is a hard worker and a godly woman.

    In my career as a teacher, I have seen time and time again that hard work is superior to intelligence in predicting success, by which I mean being thoroughly grounded and well-rounded as a person and accomplishing whatever goals one sets for oneself.

    Like

  2. Sometimes I wish I was that smart! 😉 But I’m content with the brain I have. I’m just trying to expand my knowledge a little more these days. LOL By the way, I love the header for your blog…cute kids! Love you!

    Jennifer, you have a good brain, and I’m glad you’re content with it. Nothing wrong though with sticking a little more knowledge in your beautiful cranium. Most important; always maintain your sweet spirit and your love for God. You know I am counting on you.

    Thanks for liking my header. I love it–a couple of grandkids and one great. I stole the picture from Shawnna off facebook. I confessed, but stole it anyway! So far I’ve escaped arrest.

    Like

  3. Jay-
    SHHH!!!!! It was a clove cigarette, and I was only trying it because the big kids said I’d be cool if I smoked. Now, if you will excuse me, I have to go steal your dad’s empty cans and bottles so I can put some gas in my old clunker to drive it round and round on “the loop”!

    Like

  4. Mike, I’m going to refrain from making the joke that you and Dean were in the park smoking pot that day… oh wait… whoops.

    Shirley, yes, I do agree that intellect is a talent. and should be put to use for the purposes of God rather than self only.

    God has purpose for all of his children. Whether that be to lead, follow, create laughter, show you how to love, or maybe just teach you patience. God’s plan is perfect though we are not.

    Like

  5. dean

    interesting post. IQ and good looks? Stayed home the day they were passed out. But I have been called a Idiot Savant a few times…. oh wait… that was just a Idiot. Makes no difference to me… now about the Theory of the Universe…let me explain.

    Like

  6. AP

    Sis. B
    You must read, Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell, it covers this topic quite well.
    AP

    Thanks, Adam. Made a note and will check to see if its in the library system here.

    Like

  7. Greg the Explorer

    If IQ’s were dollars I’d be a millionaire – or at least have $135-140 extra, depending on what scoring took you use! Alas and alack, I have not one skerick of a million dollars to be found in my bank account.

    IQ is not determiner of greatness – in fact I think it often get’s in the way and makes one so proud that you think everything should just happen for you…I am often quite surprised when i don’t get that promotion I was going for or the prize job that I thought I was a shoe in to get.

    attitude, application and awareness are the keys to success in my opinion. A man as thick as two short planks will get further with those than a person sharp as a tack without them.

    Now put them all together! A person with intelligence, attitude, and awarenes who applied themselves – well that can’t be beat.

    Agree with all you have said, Greg. I’ve worked with scores of people in varying situations over a long number of years now.
    While I must say I admire an exceptional intellect, I have also come to the conclusion that I would rather deal with a moderately talented person who is willing, loyal and committed, than with that one who, while talented, must be courted and catered to, and dragged along. Love your last sentence, though and agree. It’s beautiful to work with someone that God has blessed with brilliance in mind and with a sterling attitude.

    Like

  8. Someone mentioned IQ being as important to God as good looks. Obviously God isn’t judging on those charactoristics as He is the one who created us.

    Secondly I believe that it is often times more difficult for folks with higher IQ’s to come to a believe in Christ as savior.

    This may be due to the analytical nature of their minds or simply due to a confidence in their own intelligence.

    Hi, Jay. I agree that God doesn’t judge us according to either our looks or depending on our intelligence, and I agree with your second point that it may be more difficult for persons with higher IQs to believe on Jesus. My son Michael has a close friend who is very intelligent, and whom Michael is trying to win to God. We had this very conversation yesterday. Mike told me he had finally said to his friend, “You must have a certain amount of faith.”

    I wonder, though: Does God expect more of those to whom He has given exceptional intelligence? Consider the parable of the talents in the Bible. Is not a quick mind in a believer a talent?

    Like

  9. Kris Keyes

    I was doing calculas at the age of 2…..well maybe not quite, but I had learned how to stuff dried beans up my nose….

    Some people are just incredibly talented. The rest of us watch and weep.

    Like

  10. Esther

    I don’t care about all this. I KNOW my grandkids are smarter. When Grayson was asked about sleep he responded with, your eyelids are blankets that you cover them up with so they can sleep. Far greater response I think. He also wanted to know if the Bible said it is a sin to smoke. His Mom said, No, but it teachs up to take care of our bodies because they are temples of the Holy Ghost and smoking is bad for the body. His response: So, if you smoke you are burning the Holy Ghost right? Love to brag on my munchkins

    You’re a grandmother; automatic bragging rights.

    Like

  11. DH

    I think intelligence is on the same level to God as good looks. We humans like both and rate both too highly, but God places no value at all on either. I agree with CM on this one.

    Hi, Darla. Interesting to consider whether or not God places any value on intelligence and “good looks.”

    Like

  12. Character,selfcontrol,integrity none of these traits are determined by IQ.

    God came for the weak and beggarly elements. Paul said he didnt come with mens wisdom. Knowledge puffeth up. We are warned, lest any man spoil you through philosophy (think brilliant college professors here)and vain deceit. Moses was slow of speech and yet he was so meek he became one of Gods favorites. God chose David not because of his intelligence, rather God looked on the heart. God chose foolish preaching to save us.Those that profess to be wise are fools. The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge and wisdom.

    Anointing,discernment and wisdom are gifts from God, and you dont have to be intelligent to possess any of them.

    1Cor 3:19For the wisdom of this world is foolishness with God. For it is written, He taketh the wise in their own craftiness.

    1 Corinthians 1:18-31

    CM, thank you for your thoughtful and valid response.

    Like

  13. Hi, Sandy. As you know, I haven’t had the privilege of seeing your son grow into maturity; only knew him as a child. But I can truthfully say that even in his early years he was an exceptionally sweet, charming boy. In no way am I surprised to learn he has developed into a caring man, of high integrity and of strong character.

    You, Sandy, have every right to claim some credit for the distinct development of your son. You are a special person; loving, kind and upright yourself.

    Can’t wait to see you again.

    Like

  14. Sandy Bock

    I am a very proud parent of a 19 yr old son with average intelligence. I spent a lot of money and sent him to the best schools in our area. I am the most proud when people come up to me and tell me how wonderful he is or share a little story of how he did something sweet or caring. I have had his teachers, other parents and even his boss make it a point to tell me about the quality of his character and integrity. I believe these things are the most important qualities in any person and I am proud that this young man I have raised and watched grow into a young adult possess these qualities.

    So in my oppinion intelligence is a good thing but a persons character is what really shows who they are.

    Like

  15. Hi Mike. You have succinctly covered a lot in these few lines, and I tend to agree with all your conclusions.

    I want to add this. Not sure if you are tongue-in-cheek when you mention the rentacop job, but either way your other sentences in that paragraph are important to that issue and to the broad scope of the subject. You “spend more time bored than productive,” you’re a “starter rather than a finisher,” you’re “more into ideas and less into putting them into action,” you’re “better at writing to express myself than being personal and sociable.”

    I find it incredibly important that a person be involved with that for which he is innately directed. There is nothing wrong with being merely a starter (in some situations), and certainly having ideas is at least as important (if not more so) than putting the ideas to work. You who are gifted with writing skills should not necessarily be expected to being as personal and sociable as others who can’t write a lick.

    Finding the niche to best use the abilities God gave us is vitally important–be our IQ 99 or 135.

    Like

  16. My thoughts are that IQ has little to do in determining your life’s path. I tested at 140ish in elementary school, and the test involved a lot more complicated exercises than that.

    But instead of being some powerful mastermind, ala Lex Luther, I’m just a $9.50/hr rentacop, who spends more time bored than productive. I’m a starter rather than a finisher. I’m more into ideas and less into putting them into action. I’m better at writing to express myself than being personal and sociable.

    I’ve met people that I consider to have a lower IQ, and they are very sociable, successful, etc. I’ve also met people with much higher IQs than I who share these traits with those of lower IQs

    Like

Leave a Reply

