Memorial Day Tribute

In my childhood we called it Decoration Day and it was an important celebration that we marked in the streets with parades and in the parks with rousing speeches, recalling the heroes who, on one field or another, had given their lives for our country. Today it is called Memorial Day. May we never forget those who lie beneath the white markers, from the youngest–the one little known–to the one highly acclaimed and honored. To their families today, I say a sincere thank you, for that one you have offered up so that my children and my grandchildren and I may yet reach into uncommon opportunities and glory in our rare and costly freedoms.

Mary McHugh mourns her slain fiance Sgt. James Regan at the Arlington National Cemetery May 27, 2007, Memorial Day weekend. Regan, a U.S. Army Ranger from Long Island, was killed by a roadside bomb in Iraq in February, and this was the first time McHugh had visited the grave since the funeral. When he died, Regan was on his fourth combat deployment – twice in Afghanistan and twice in Iraq.

Source: Getty Images John Moore

flags_cemetery

Edit Monday 9:30  Thanks to Dale White who on my Facebook account sent the image of the markers and the children I posted just above here, and the following information:

The National Moment of Remembrance, established by Congress, asks Americans wherever they are at 3 p.m., local time, on Memorial Day to pause in an act of national unity (duration: one minute).The time 3 p.m. was chosen because it is the time when most Americans are enjoying their freedoms on the national holiday. The Moment does not replace traditional Memorial Day events; rather it is an act of national unity in which all Americans, alone or with family and friends, honor those who died for our freedom. It will help to reclaim Memorial Day as the sacred and noble holiday it was meant to be. In this shared remembrance, we connect as Americans.


12 thoughts on “Memorial Day Tribute

  1. Pingback: My Tribute to our Servicemen | Shirley Buxton

  2. To me, Memorial Day has always been just another welcome holiday. I cannot imagine how it must feel to countless others having lost someone they love. The picture really captures those emotions. Thanks for remembering me of what Memorial Day is all about.

    Thank you for being here and for these honest remarks. I too, was extremely touched when I first saw that photograph.

    Blessings to you always.

    Like

  3. On this weekend as my wife and I drove to Frisco we passed by Gustine. My youngest brother lies there. I do not know the sadness of this young lady. I do know the sadness in my heart when I think to much about my “little brother.”

    Mervi, thank you for the sacrifice your family made for my freedom.

    Like

  4. Thank you to all the people who gave their lives for our country…this post touched my heart.

    Jennifer, no matter how much you hear people trashing our country, remember America is the greatest place in the world–not perfect, but the greatest. Continue to honor those who have given their lives for our freedoms both here and in many other countries around the world. Love you, trust you and believe in you.

    Like

  5. Shirley, thank you very much for your nice comment about my photograph.

    This is a wonderful post of Memorial Day you’ve written. My husband is a Vietnam Veteran and my dad was a WWII vet. Although my dad is long passed, I know he and my husband appreciate all the people who remember the veterans and how much they have dedicated to their country. They’ve put their life on the line everyday protecting us. We salute them and their families. Today is the day we remember… but we should NEVER forget to respect their bravery and dedication to our safety.

    You’re right, Lorrie, that remembering (and expressing) appreciation for the bravery and dedication of those who have given their lives to protect us should extend far beyond this special day. It should forever be in our hearts.

    Thank you for your time and remarks.

    Like

  6. Kris Keyes

    In a little while we are headed up into the mountains to try and find a little known place called “the Old Soldiers Grave” it is 10-15 miles up a dirt road and has been forgotten by most. When I was a kid the VFW and the American Legion would hold Memorial day ceremonies there.
    It is near the ruins of an old building that was used as a home for WW1 soldiers whos lungs had been messed up by mustard gas. This soldier, realizing that he was going to die there built a grave marker out of pieces of mountain rock and he is buried there on the top of a little hill beneath that marker…..I hope we can find it today.

    Oh, wish Jerry and I were with you, as I would love to visit that grave. Please let me know about your day, including any pictures you take.. If you can send some by email, I could post them here.

    Like

  7. dean

    To all Veterans and their families….THANKS FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART.

    I love you, Dean, for many reasons. One is your tender heart and your true patriotism.

    Like

Leave a Reply

