Ten Things I Greatly Dislike

As I worked on my post from yesterday in which I listed ten things I love, my cavorting mind brought up this list of things I greatly dislike. Interesting the differences among us as to what we like and dislike; for instance, I know people who enjoy bookkeeping, a job which I cannot abide. What about you? Is your list much like mine or dissimilar?

1. Bookkeeping

2. Finding a place for all the leftovers after Thanksgiving dinner

3. Doing laundry at a laundromat

4. Paying bills (closely related to # 1)

5. Confronting someone about a perceived problem

6. The time when all our children and grandchildren have gone from our house after Christmas

7. Pumping my own gas

8. Slow internet connections

9. The minutes before I am introduced to speak at a large meeting

10. Able-bodied people who won’t work, but who seem glad to take money from the government, and from their parents, and from anyone else who will support them.

11 thoughts on “Ten Things I Greatly Dislike

  1. Yep, Dean, I do! And when I was younger and slept even more soundly, I used to put one of those loud wind-up jangly types in metal pan in my shower stall. Good thing I’m not married or I’d probably be divorced… 🙂

    Like

  2. FYI…In New Jersey and Oregon it’s against the law to pump your own gas…I LOVE the smell of gasoline, and diesel, so gas pumping’s okay with me. I greatly dislike having to wake up to an alarm and have to set three of them in ensure I do wake up.

    Like

  3. I liked your list. I too, cannot stand slow internet connections. We are spoiled and when there is only dial up I don’t even connect. I remember when dial up was all there was and it was normal to sit and listen to the dial tone as your internet connected. How things have changed.

    Hi, Tredways. Thanks for coming by my spot and for the comment. I suppose we are a bit spoiled. I was thinking about that the other day, recalling that in the early days of our country, people received news from each other by Pony Express. Imagine if we were reduced to such communication, accustomed as we are to connecting to another within seconds.

    Be blessed always.

    Like

  4. How interesting! I also love 7 of the things you love, and dislike 5 of the things you greatly dislike.
    I recently challenged myself and our Bible study group to list 10 items under each of the things we’re to think upon in in Philippians 4:8. It wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be.

    Hi, Karen. Thanks for being here. Which 7; which 5?

    Like

  5. Esther

    1. Being so far from all my sweeties.
    2. Fighting this Polymyalgia that won’t go away.
    3. Only having dial-up in this oldtimy town.
    4. Pumping gas.
    5. Having only Walmart for most shopping.
    6. Not being able to sit in tub for a soak.
    7. Going home after visiting in California.
    8. Cleaning bathrooms.
    9. Starting a good book just to find out it’s not good after all.
    10. Not having Sunday night church.
    I think I have many more “likes” than “dislikes”.
    But thanks for the opportunity to write this down. Now, I feel better because I can think more on my “likes”. Love ya.

    Esther, I’m sorry you keep having that pain. Is it a form of arthritis?

    Like

  6. I can’t stand #8 either…at all! lol

    Our service is better here in the RV park lately (they changed to cable) but for quite awhile, it was so frustratingly slow. When it is that way, I just go away from it. Can’t stand it.

    Like

  7. Kris Keyes

    #2….not too many leftovers around my family….buncha pigs…

    #5 ….oh how I hate that..

    #7….are there any full service stations left?

    I don’t know of any. My sweet Jerry is the car attendant around here. I hate pumping gas.

    #8…if its dialup….I dont even bother.

    Like

  8. Sis. Buxton;
    Your last dis-like is something that I don’t wish to start on here. This topic is on my bad list times two!! :-[

    Mervi

    I understand, Mervi. Numerous men refuse to even support the children they have sired. It’s really sad.

    Like

  9. Hi Sister Buxton,

    I don’t think we’ve ever had a Fuller Brush salesperson come to our door. We have had a lot of Kirby vacuum salesman and people selling magazine subscriptions. The ones that really annoy me are the pushy type that just do not want to take “no thank you” for an answer.

    Regarding the pushy types, I’ve heard of people who when a telemarketer keeps persisting, lays down the phone and just walks away.

    Like

  10. #’s 1,2,3,5,8 and 10 would make my list too. I would add calls from telemarketers or door to door salesmen to my list as well.

    Good morning, Carol. For many years when I was a child, my father sold Fuller Brushes–door to door, so I guess I have a little soft spot for such salesmen. Do they still do that? I cannot remember when a salesman has knocked on my door, but truth be known, even though I have the little soft spot, I’m not fond of the thought. Telemarketers? Not fond of those, either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

