Dr. Pepper, Anyone?

“Would you like coffee?”

“No, think I’ll have a Dr. Pepper.”

Unusual exchange, I recognize, but I have known people who are so taken with Dr. Pepper that they guzzle down a cold one for breakfast. Seems to me that Dr. Pepper is more popular in the south and the mid states than out here in the west, but I’m not at all sure about that.

Anyway, in an antiques store, a man has unearthed a ledger that seems to document the early formula for the soft drink called Dr. Pepper, whose present day formula is of course a secret, known only to a few people.

0_61_drpepper_320

DALLAS  —  Poking through antiques stores while traveling through the Texas Panhandle, Bill Waters stumbled across a tattered old ledger book filled with formulas.

He bought it for $200, suspecting he could resell it for five times that. Turns out, his inkling about the book’s value was more spot on than he knew. The Tulsa, Okla., man eventually discovered the book came from the Waco, Texas, drugstore where Dr Pepper was invented and includes a recipe titled “D Peppers Pepsin Bitters.”

“I began feeling like I had a national treasure,” said Waters, 59.

Dr Pepper’s manufacturer says the recipe is not the secret formula for the modern day soft drink, but the 8 1/2-by-15 1/2 inch book is expected to sell between $50,000 to $75,000 when it goes up for auction at Dallas-based Heritage Auction Galleries on May 13.

“It probably has specks of the original concoction on its pages,” Waters said.

More here.

drDr. Pepper, anyone?

12 thoughts on “Dr. Pepper, Anyone?

  1. Yes I like Dr Pepper..no I do not like prune juice itself. However, the new abominations of Dr Pepper (the cherry vanilla and all that stuff) I find to be absolutely disgusting, and wish God would strike the vats of the stuff with the swine flu and Have it remain a smoten memorial to bad ideas. Sometimes the original idea is enough!

    Like

  2. Dr Pepper, I believe does contain prune juices, however, like most commercial products they are not going to list every single ingredient, for lack of room on the bottles, as well as protecting the recipe. All it says is contains natural and artificial flavors.

    Do you like it?

    Like

  3. Kris Keyes

    Dr Pepper tastes like Prune Juice….

    I’ve heard Dr. Pepper does have prune juice in it. If I had a bottle here, I’d check it out. It probably does not.

    Like

  4. Spierce

    I love your coffee! After drinking yours for so long all others taste pretty weak. We keep up on your blog almost daily but only respond to real important issues like Dr. Pepper :0)

    I love knowing people who are so brilliant that they comprehend what are the important issues.

    Like

  5. OOOOHHH! I love a cold Dr. Pepper almost as much as the dark, thick and black coffee you make :0) Both can do wonders when exhausted.

    Sharon, what a surprise to hear from you. Okay, okay, I know I make awfully strong coffee. 🙂

    Like

  6. The Dr. will continue being one of if not my favorite soda. Now, should you add a little ice cream, now you have hit the spot.

    Mervi
    Now that sounds tasty.

    Like

  7. I like Dr Pepper, but I’va always had a bit of Pepsi-man inside me from when my dad bought those 8 pack glass bottles when he went grocery shopping.
    I think it all tastes better in the glass bottles, than these cans and plastic bottles they have these days.
    But I’ll never give up my coffee, I suspect!

    Aren’t you glad we don’t have to choose between a soft drink and coffee…We can have both. I agree about the glass bottles. Much better than plastic or aluminum.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Dr. Pepper, Anyone?

Leave a Reply

