Does it Matter that Michelle Obama’s Sneakers Cost $540?

USA/

Huh, what do you think? Is it any of our business that Michelle Obama’s sneakers cost $540? Was it thoughtless of her to wear them Michelle Obama and Jill Biden (center) at a Feeding America event. The First Lady could feed quite a few people with what she paid for thesneakers she's wearing. as she  handed out food at a food bank? Are we being picky to even notice? Tell me what you think.

That’s right: These sneakers – suede, with grosgrain ribbon laces and metallic pink toe caps – are made by French design house Lanvin, one of fashion’s hottest labels. They come in denim and satin versions, and have been a brisk seller all spring.

From Daily News

26 thoughts on “Does it Matter that Michelle Obama’s Sneakers Cost $540?

  1. Pingback: What I’m Politicing: Michelle “Let Them Eat Cake” Obama « Fastidious

  2. I think the shoes are ugly and kinda make her feet look funny and can’t believe anyone would pay that kind of money for them. I don’t care that she spent that kind of money on shoes, but I wish she would buy cute shoes if that’s going to be the case! Just because something is expensive doesn’t mean it classy or worth the money! 🙂

    Like

  3. I haven’t found a house, Shirley. Will a purple grill do?

    http://winstonsalem.craigslist.org/for/1158975315.html

    Helen, I don’t know. I sort of hate to see us going from being established Real Estate Brokers to second-hand purple grill dealers. Not sure that is a good move, not only because of individual self-esteem issues, but in consideration of the global respect and admiration we have previously acquired. I’m really busy today (important person that I am,..and all that, you know…)so I can’t commit the time that is needed at the moment, but I don’t think I’m for the purple grill business, although I must confess I did not check out the link (important, time starved person that I am…and all that, you remember…). At the least we probably should stay in the housing market, maybe a mobile home, a high line RV, or…maybe even a trailer in a trailer park.

    Like

  4. RE: “I’m not sure that it is nosiness, but I confess to being interested in the Obamas. I’ve looked at the clothes she and her beautiful little girls wore to the inauguration (glanced at his, but a suit is pretty much a suit ) and even paid attention to the outfits she wore when they took the overseas trip. I enjoy doing that. I know these are not big issues and certainly don’t address serious concerns. Tell the truth, I even enjoyed hearing about their new puppy and seeing our President running down the hall with Bo. Not earth-shattering, just pleasant to me.”

    No problem with any of that, Shirley. Just with people who think she shouldn’t get to choose any more, because her husband is POTUS. Why should that mean she can’t choose to wear the shoes she likes and can afford?

    “We do,” I say as I sit barefoot, typing. LOL

    Sometimes I think we get too serious, Shirley. Wanna buy another house? 😉

    Helen, I wish you would look and find us a good deal to work on. Was that not the greatest fun. I will never forget those days.

    Like

  5. thatgirl3353

    Like most celebrities, she did not probably pay for the sneakers. They gave them to her.

    Uhmm…possible. Aren’t there regulations though about gifts our President may receive?

    Like

  6. John M.Boyd

    No on complained about the expensive wardrobe of Jackie-O or Nancy Reagan, why all the fuss about Michelle Obama’s.? Do I sense a bit of jealousy or a double standard.? Perhaps they would see the First Lady of the U>S> in sackcloth.

    Hi, John. I’m not sure if anyone is complaining about her having the costly shoes. The issue was raised as to whether or not it was appropriate to wear such expensive ones as she handed out food at a food bank.

    Like

  7. I’m rather on the fence about this one. On the one hand I completely agree with Helen and others that it is a total non-issue. There are definitely bigger things to report than the shoes that Michelle Obama wears. However, I also agree with Sis. Buxton when she stated that she would not drive a hign-end Mercedes through a poverty-stricken area of the Philippines. Perhaps Michelle Obama would be more thoughtful if she did not wear such expensive attire when at a function such as that. It’s no secret that she is wealthy, but a little thoughtfulness would go a long way, in my opinion.

    Thoughtfulness. Now there’s a good word to consider. Goes a long way toward making people comfortable.

    Like

  8. I think Jen speaks rightly. I like to hope, if I were rich (which I am not) that I would be as frugal as I am now. But I don’t know for a fact that I would be. Therefore, I think this falls under that “not judging others” deal.

    It’s easy to lose track of the real issue by saying she has big feet (which is true) and that the shoes aren’t that cute (which is a matter of opinion). But the issue is, if I don’t want people to tell me what to buy and judge me by my shoes then I need to recognize that this is a total non-issue and very much none of my business. This is not news; it’s nosiness.

    I’m not sure that it is nosiness, but I confess to being interested in the Obamas. I’ve looked at the clothes she and her beautiful little girls wore to the inauguration (glanced at his, but a suit is pretty much a suit ) and even paid attention to the outfits she wore when they took the overseas trip. I enjoy doing that. I know these are not big issues and certainly don’t address serious concerns. Tell the truth, I even enjoyed hearing about their new puppy and seeing our President running down the hall with Bo. Not earth-shattering, just pleasant to me.

    Like

  9. I guess it’s not really my business, but I think that spending that much money on sneakers is ridiculous, regardless of how much money you have. But then again if I had that much money… 😀 I don’t know..hehe

    Jen, I hope you one day you are rich. Let us know, then, if you buy any $500.00 sneakers.

    Like

  10. No, I don’t think it would make a difference as long as there was some sort of budget. The only thing that would get under my craw is if they were able to write a blank check to buy anything they wanted at anytime.

    That wouldn’t set well in my craw either, but I don’t believe that to be the case.

    Like

  11. Does the first family get a “clothing budget” out of our tax dollars? Does it come out of their pocket?

    I don’t think they get a clothing budget, but I’m not absolutely sure. Would that make any difference? His salary comes out of our tax dollars, as well it should.

    Like

  12. Couldn’t care less. I am comfortable with my $20-25 pair of Payless or Walmart shoes. She seems to be fine with her $540 pair of shoes. The way I look at it, is your shoes are your business. Mine are about comfortability and function. I have yet to find an “expensive” pair of shoes that held up to my abuses any better than the cheapies I wear now.

    But Mike, do yours have metallic pink toe caps?

    Like

  13. I’m sure you want my honest opinion?

    I don’t think it’s any of our business.

    That’s it – my little 2 cents. 🙂

    Good morning, Tena. I’ve been thinking about this tennis shoe business and have thought that maybe the shoelaces of her other pair broke that morning. 🙂

    Like

  14. well…i think it’s a bit trivial whether she wears a 500 buck or a 50 buck piece…as long as her work speaks foor itself…its a media fascination really – if she were wearing something worth a 50, people would be quibbing that the first lady is a bit of a sod…so… 🙂

    Good morning. You’re right, of course. Wouldn’t you hate to have the whole world analyzing everything you put on your feet or on your back.

    Like

  15. Everything in a life is relative … $540 to Michelle might be the same as $5.40 to someone else…than again a bit of sensitivity towards the others can go a long way…on the end If you haven’t told me I thought sneakers were ugly and from some discount binn…

    Relativity is definitely important.

    I once walked through a place in Manila, Philippines called, “Old Smokey.” It was nothing but a dump, but thousands of people lived there. Children were born and reared in that place of perpetual stench and smoke. Even though at that time I could afford a high-end Mercedes car, I would never have considered driving my car to a place that is so poverty-stricken. I would have been embarrassed.

    New subject: Love your work!

    Like

  16. the1and2and3

    Who needs $540 sneakers!? I don’t care if your the first lady show some respect for the rest of America who is going through a freakin’ resestion!
    kaunis.wordpress.com

    Respect is important for sure.

    Like

  17. karla

    I’m just tired of the media – both conservative & liberal.

    In recent years, more than one time, I have heard the thought: Journalism is dead. I’m about to believe it. During the recent major news conference with President Obama, I heard little conversation about our staggering economy. I did note this zinger of a thoughtful question, though. Pitiful

    JEFF ZELENY, NEW YORK TIMES: During these first 100 days, what has surprised you the most about this office, enchanted you the most about serving in this office, humbled you the most and troubled you the most?

    Like

  18. Kris Keyes

    I paid $30 for my Dr Scholls at Wally World….does that make me a bad person??

    Makes you smart…and probably comfortable.

    Like

  19. I do care! I can’t believe this! I wrote up a long blog post about her when they first became elected. She wore a dress from H&M that cost $35. I thought that was pretty neat, and fell for the media trick of appealing to my age-group by her spending habits.
    The media made a hey-day over the fact that she was trying to set an example for our country, and just 2 days ago I saw an article of how chic she was for recycling her wardrobe and wearing something twice. *gasp* (imagine that!)
    Of course not everything she wears is going to be cheap, and I don’t want that for a First Lady; on formal occasions I want her to look her best. But people need to be consistent!
    If the media (And Michelle herself?) decide they want to portray her as thrifty and representing conservative spending habit, they need to be persistent.
    Flaunting the fact that our President’s Wife is wearing $500 in an economic hardships, (while her husband increases the national debt on a daily basis) is so tacky.

    Understand your viewpoint entirely.

    Like

  20. To be consistent, just like when people criticized Palin’s wardrobe, this is such a non-issue, that should MAYBE be reported by gossip news publications, and Hollywood Entertainment/Fashion outlets, not by any news-worthy organization.

    In other words, WHO CARES.

    Like

  21. I honestly don’t care what she wears or how much she spends on it, as long as it is her money she is spending. However the media has praised her for being a thrifty shopper. This does not sound like a good deal to me. I don’t like being lied to. Just my opinion.

    Hi, Lynda. I have mixed feelings about this, for the Obamas are independently wealthy and probably can afford 500 dollar sneakers. (I can’t imagine paying that even if I were wealthy, but my attitude might change if I indeed became rich. Don’t think so, though. ) And I do believe our president and his family should have nice clothes and create positive images in their appearances for they represent our country.

    It does fly in the face of reports that she is a thrifty shopper, and seems a trifle thoughtless considering she was making an appearance at a food bank.

    Like

Leave a Reply

