Book Style

Yesterday was its 50th birthday, and although I’ve been an acquaintance for many years, I didn’t light one candle or bake a single cupcake. For one reason, I was traveling to Tucson; another reason is that I didn’t know about the birthday until this morning, as I read Thursday’s edition of USA Today,

I’m referring to the birthday of a book, a slim book named The Elements of Style, that was written by William Strunk, Jr. and E. B. White and 514b109m2pl_bo2204203200_pisitb-sticker-arrow-clicktopright35-76_aa240_sh20_ou01_published 50 years ago. New York editor David Remnick calls it, “The little book that never goes out of style.”

Many years ago, I chanced on a copy of this paperback in a thrift store, knew right away it was a valuable tool for such as I, and have since then bought and given away many copies. At my home in Crestline, I have two or three of the thin volumes scattered here and there where I do my writing.

Spend a 10 dollar bill on this book which is dedicated to concise and clear writing. You will thank me.

5 thoughts on “Book Style

  1. renaissanceguy

    I love reading it because it is so cleverly written. For me it is “pleasure” reading, as well as a valuable tool.

    Doubtless, both its “simplicity” and the cleverness of its writers so that indeed it is fun to read has contributed to its long success.

    Like

  2. I bought a hardback copy, complete with book jacket, recently, but for the life of me, I cannot remember where.

    For some reason, Helen, I’ve never seen a hardback copy, although I know they are available. The USA Today article reports:

    the 1959 hardcover cost $2.50. The leather-bound 50th anniversary edition is $19.95.

    Like

Leave a Reply

