Dustin, Rhoda, and Peter’s Prayer Meeting Buddies

I just called Misty to be sure what I  heard was accurate…and it is. Dustin is to be released from the hospital this week–probably by Friday! It seems unbelievable to me, given the severe and extensive injuries he sustained a mere eight days ago. Just last Sunday when we visited him, he didn’t even open his eyes, although I know he had done so at other times. Now, he is fully aware, and scheduled to be released by the weekend.

Why should I be shocked? Have we not been praying? Have not people told us they were fasting for these families? Have not thousands of people joined in extreme and faithful prayer? Yes! Why then am I shocked? Why are you shocked?

I remind myself of that long-ago day recorded in the 12th chapter of Acts after Herod had killed James and had thrown Peter into jail. A bunch of Christians gathered over at Mary’s house for a prayer meeting; after all Peter was their leader, and here he was, a prisoner. Time for a prayer meeting. Time to pray Peter out of jail.

Meanwhile, there were rumblings over at the city jail. An angel flitted into Peter’s cell, poked him in the side, and said, Get up. Uh, get up? Yes, get up, Peter. Put on your shoes and socks, throw something about you, and follow me.

Peter did as he was told, not understanding, thinking perhaps he was dreaming, but the chains had fallen off his hands as he first arose; would that be in a dream? Quietly they crept–the angel and the man–past the first ward, past the second ward, then to the iron city gate which opened of its own accord, and finally through one city street.

The angel left Peter then. Poof. Disappeared. Peter was now standing in the dark of night–an escaped prisoner, startled and bewildered at what had just happened. Finally his senses kicked in, and he said, “…The Lord hath delivered me…” Think I’ll go over to Mary’s house.

Peter’s banging on the door interrupted the prayer meeting, and somebody sent Rhoda to see what was going on. She must have asked, “Who’s there?” for verse 14 says, “And when she knew Peter’s voice, she opened not the gate for gladness, but ran in, and told how Peter stood before the gate.”

You’re mad, Rhoda. Can’t be Peter. He’s in jail, remember.

“It’s Peter, I tell you,” Rhoda insisted.

Rhoda, there’s something wrong with you.”

No, there’s not. Peter is standing at the gate, I tell you.”

Finally  they all went to the door–all the unbelieving prayer meeting buddies–and sure enough, there stood Peter. They must have yelled out in astonishment when they saw him, for Peter “beckoning unto them with the hand to hold their peace, declared unto them how the Lord had brought him out of the prison…”

I feel like one of Peter’s unbelieving prayer meeting buddies today. But the news is real, it’s true. In an astonishing way, Dustin has been touched by God, and is scheduled to be released from the hospital by Friday.

12 thoughts on “Dustin, Rhoda, and Peter’s Prayer Meeting Buddies

  1. I hate to admit it, because I believe myself to be a man of faith, but at times, my faith has not always been as “high” as it should be. I have a feeling that my initial reaction would be that of “shock” upon hearing news like this. YET, when I “come unto my own” and remember the God I serve (does the expression hindsight is 20/20 fit here?), and how He answers prayer, then I’m not so surprised. God be praised for this answer to prayer, and we’ll have to pray for continued progress!

    Like

  2. I thank our God and Savior that I have been allowed once more to hear of the Glory of God as it passed by these two young men.

    We are keeping these two families in our prayers. Along with the Buxton’s as the minister to their very deep needs.

    Mervin

    Like

  3. “I can’t believe it”, is often said when God answers one of our prayers. Funny people, we are. 🙂
    Our God is so Awesome! He has heard our prayers. Rejoicing with you. So thankful for the good report. 🙂
    Blessings!

    Like

  4. CECELIA FRANKLIN

    HELLO SIS. BUXTON……THIS IS GREAT NEWS ABOUT BRO. DUSTIN AND BRO. GEORGE!! OHHH THANK YOU SWEET JESUS, FOR YOUR GRACE AND YOUR MERCY!!MY PRAYERS ARE WITH YA’LL ALL. LORD BLESS YOU!

    Like

  5. Exciting faith building testimony! Thank you for sharing. I have certainly prayed for these families. It’s awesome to serve a prayer ANSWERING God. This is going to bring revival to your church. I just know it!!!!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Topics about Religion » Dustin, Rhoda, and Peter’s Prayer Meeting Buddies

  7. Praise the Lord! He never ceases to AMAZE His people. Even we have specifically asked for a healing, expecting the healing, we still are amazed when God steps on the scene and actually heals!

    We will continue to pray for the Hope and Halliday families.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Topics about Peace » Archive » Dustin, Rhoda, and Peter’s Prayer Meeting Buddies

  9. Pingback: Accident Update « Shirley Buxton

Leave a Reply

