Accident Update

Edit: Tuesday morning, April 21

Both the men are doing well. George is home and has been to church a couple of times in a wheelchair. Sunday morning he walked in all by himself–no wheelchair, no crutches, no cane. He still returns weekly to Las Vegas to have his burned leg tended, but has made tremendous progress.

A couple of weeks ago, Dustin was transferred to a rehab unit here in Lake Havasu, and he also has made great strides. Continue to pray for him, please. He has developed blood clots in both legs, and faces more surgeries on his legs. His spirits are high, though, and his attitude concerning the death of his son, Daniel, is remarkable.

God is a good God. We thank him for sparing the lives of these two precious men.

Edit: Wednesday afternoon, March 25th

George is having surgery today to graft skin onto his badly burned leg. I have called Michele, but was connected to voice mail, so have not heard how he is doing. I did speak with his mother, Laurel, who is also in Las Vegas, but she did not yet have news of his surgery.

I expect he will do very well. He continues to improve every day, is eating adequately, and has less pain than previously.

Amazingly, Dustin is to be released from the hospital by the end of the week. God, most gracious and loving, has heard our prayers, and has exceeded our expectations. (Edit: April 21 As it turned out, Dustin was not released when it was thought he would be.)

Edit: Tuesday morning, March 24

Both men continue to improve; on Monday Dustin was much more alert. It is Jerry’s understanding, according to a phone conversation, that Dustin has been told of little Daniel’s death. “It was very rough,” Dustin’s mother told Jerry.

We so appreciate your prayers and other support.

Tonight and tomorrow night convene our Christian Intervention classes; the lesson this week is What alcohol and drugs do to families. We are believing God for a special anointing and visitation of the Holy Ghost during these sessions.

Though unconfirmed, I have been told that the woman, who driving while intoxicated, and who crossed the center meridian and crashed into Dustin’s vehicle, has been arrested and may be charged with man-slaughter. I hope she has someone in her life who can minister to her.

Edit: Monday morning, March 23

After church yesterday, Brandon drove Jerry and me to the hospital in Las Vegas where we visited with George and Dustin and with their families.

George has been moved a step down from ICU, where he is in a private room, but still connected by telemetry to the nurse’s station. He wears an oxygen mask and still experiences extreme pain, especially from his leg that was so badly burned. His spirits are high, as are Michele’s. We had a lengthy visit with them and a peaceful prayer before we left.

“We are pleased with his progress,” the nurse told us as we visited with Dustin. Dustin’s eyes are closed most of the time, but after we had been in there awhile and had told him who we were and that we loved him, he began muttering, and I believe he said, “I love you.” Later, Misty fed him spoonfuls of a milkshake. It was strawberry, and he didn’t seem to want it.

“What kind do you want?” Misty asked.

“Chocolate,” Dustin was able to say, and so Misty went to the cafeteria to buy a chocolate shake for Dustin.

Again, thank you for your prayers and other forms of support for these families and for us.

———-

George and Dustin, though severely injured as previously reported are making progress. Please continue to pray for them and for their families.

Misty has found some comfort in knowing that her son is now safe in the arms of Jesus.

Previous posts concerning this incident have now been made private.

7 thoughts on “Accident Update

  1. Kandi Vallee

    I’M Dustins cousin Kandi Vallee and Please tell em I love them so much they mean so much to me him Shawna and my Uncle Danny . I hope to come see them soon. please send them this info Ms. Shirley Buxton. Send hem my email if you will tell them to please contact me and leave a number,to reach them I have no number yet please. thank u soooo much they are my whole and one we all 4 bond unite and in not only gods but special place that not a soul can touch in my heart. hugs and kisses and my warmth I shall send through god to send to them of my love. xoxoxox. I also have face book and my space Kandi Allyson or Kandi Vallee my name should be. *********DUSTIN I LOVE YOU !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! MORE THAN ANY THING !!!!!!!!!! you guys are number 1 u know cant wait to see you guys again and hug u.***********
    Psalms 103:3-4

    Like

  2. Kim Hope-Baker

    George is my brother, with all the fight in him I know he will recover. It is people like you that make if happen I believe in prayer. And I know God answers them. Thank you from one who is greatful to your congregation for lifting these men up.
    God bless you
    Kim Hope

    Like

  3. Please let these hurting families know that our congregation is still praying and asking our King to bear then up during this time of great and deep sorrow.

    Mervi

    Like

Leave a Reply

