A Surprise Meeting in Lufkin

It was in Lufkin where my nephew Ted Buxton and his wife, Karen, would make a hospital call last Wednesday, and as we entered the city limit, I thought of my friends Linda and Wendell Elms, who during the past several months had moved to Lufkin, Wendell having been elected (or appointed, or something) secretary of the Texas District of the United Pentecostal Church. The district camp ground is there, as are the district offices, so I asked Ted, “Will we go close to the camp ground?”

“We’ll pass right by it, Aunt Shirley. Do you want to stop?” Ted asked, gracious and lovely man that he is.

“Yes, I do. I’ll take only a minute, run in, see if they’re around and say hi.”

I dashed from the car into the beautiful office complex and asked if the Elms were on the premises. “Just went to lunch,” someone told me.

“Do you know where?”

“I believe they are at Logan’s Roadhouse.”

At Logan’s Roadhouse, I again promised not to take too long, leaving three in the car. As I entered the restaurant, I hoped I could find my friends quickly and not be forced to prowl around the place, dsc_0006as I looked for particular faces. I turned left, then right, and there they were, seated at a long table with several other people. The men were situated together, and closest to me as I approached the table.

It was hilarious, for recall, these friends of mine, whom I had not seen in years, had no idea I was anywhere in the area. Wendell Elms stared at me for a minute, then said, “Is that you?”

“It is I,” I replied

Linda’s eyes were wide and she was smiling as she stood and made her way to where I was. It was a delightful surprise, and I had timed it perfectly, for they had just concluded district board meetings, and I had the opportunity to meet ministers and their wives I did not know, and say hello to others of a long-standing friendship.

“Where’s your husband?” Linda asked, and when she knew he was outside in the car, we went outside, they visited a bit there, and then Jerry and Ted went into the restaurant for there were dsc_0004other people at the table they wanted to see. They invited us to join them for lunch, but we had to make the hospital stop first, so after half an hour or so, we left Logan’s Roadhouse.

Linda and Wendell Elms are beautiful people, whom I have known since they were youngsters, well before they were married. They are capable, godly and true Christians. I so enjoyed surprising, and spending a few minutes with them last week. She produces an interesting, well-written blog.

I don’t even know the name of the hospital where we went then, but it was unique to me in that it has a grand piano in the lobby, and, as I waited while Ted and Karen visited their friend, dsc_00111a lady played mellow, simple songs. Seems a wonderful idea to have relaxing, beautiful music in such a place as a hospital.

7 thoughts on “A Surprise Meeting in Lufkin

  1. Shirley – where to start. If you can stand the heat of an Australian Summer (temps regularly top 35 degrees Celsius – not sure what that is over in the USA) then January is the time to come over – different festivals all over the place – but two of the best would be the Tamworth Country Music Festival and the City of Sydney Festival. CSF is an arts festival with movies, theatre, installations and all sorts o things happening everywhere.

    You would have to eat at Doyles Restaurant in Watsons Bay – the best and I mean the best sea food restaurant in the world. And of course catch some live theatre at the Opera House or at on of our other fine theatres. I would love to show you around if you ever come over here – wold love to arrange some speaking dates for you as well

    Greg, wouldn’t it be a hoot to have a Pentecostal preacher and his wife speaking in a meeting sponsored by The Church of England!

    Like

  2. Sis. Buxton, it was such a JOY to see you and Bro. Buxton! We could not believe it when you walked in!!!! At first, I thought I was seeing things. THANK YOU for taking the time to see some of your “old friends”. I have so many awesome memories of you and Bro. Buxton at Youth Camps and Camp Meetings in California! You definitely “made our day”! We’re so glad you stopped and we had at least a “short visit” with you. Love you!

    I’ll never forget your quizzical face as you looked my way. It was priceless. The only problem is that we did not have the time to stay and visit. Perhaps next time. Love both you and hubby so very much.

    Like

  3. Man I wish I were in Texas!

    That sounds like you had teh most wonderful time Shirley. Those life long relatoinships are the stuff that make life extra ‘tasty’.

    So When are you and Jerry going to come to Australia?

    Greg, what places/tastes/sounds/visions/ would you recommend to a first time visitor to Australia?

    Like

  4. Well, I’ve eaten there, know all those people, and love Texas! Had I heard about the ladies conferene prior to the week of the event I would have attempted to ‘hear’ you, too! Glad you enjoyed the many foods and friends of Texas.

    Hi, Tracie. It would have been wonderful to see you there–an outstanding conference.

    Like

  5. How neat that you were in Lufkin! I was born there! AND, probably not as significant as my birth, I have eaten at that very restaurant. LOL

    Hi, Jana. How about that hospital? Were you born there?

    Like

Leave a Reply

