Fire Stricken and Thirsty Koala Bear

Edit February 12 Breaking news reports millions of animals to have been killed by the devastating fires in Australia.

By email, Greg just sent me a touching picture and story of a fireman who took time to give this little bear some water.


More moving stories and pictures are here.

As I understand it, these are the worst fires Australia has even seen: of course it is not only human beings who suffer, but many animals, both wild and domesticated, have been burned and killed.

0_61_021109_koala

UP photo

Thanks, Greg.

11 thoughts on “Fire Stricken and Thirsty Koala Bear

  1. No Australians never call Koals Koal Bears – it is an americanism…and you would never ever ever approach a koala in te wild under ordinaory circumstances – they ahve very nasty bites and scratches and they have a tendency to hurt!

    Like

  2. Greg, while I know a koala is not a bear, we here often say koala bear. Do any Australians ever use that phrase or is it purely an Americanism?

    I was surprised to see on the video that the fireman rubbed the head of that little hurt animal. Are koalas in the wild considered tame?

    Like

  3. It’s a KOALA – not a bear!!!!! You are right Brother Webb (and I am hugely disturbed that I find myself for a 2nd time agreeing with you); that is indeed compassion.

    Apparently, yes, a person or persons unknown (police language for – “buggered if i know mate” when asked who’s responsible) may be found to have started these horrendous fires.

    A good thing – as in most tragedies – the best in human nature is also witnessed in the rallying to give aid and support to those who have lost everything by te rest of Australia – in fact from around the world as well.

    Ex-pat Aussie Nicloe Kidman (yes she is ours not yours!) has given a huge donation it was announced this morning.

    Greg, I’m glad to see you and Brother Webb have kissed and made up. 🙂

    Like

  4. I LOVE KOALAS!!! I used to have a huge collection of stuffed animal koalas growing up, and then in my early 20’s I lost them to a flooded basement.
    I hope that whoever they find guilty of arson for some of those firestarting spots gets the harshest treatment allowed by law for what they did. Probably a leprechaun…..

    IT WAS NOT A LEPRECHAUN!

    Like

  5. I have been following those fires that are burning in the land down under. There have been several pictures of horses and other domestic animals which have been killed by these fires. I have seen nothing on the endangered wild life of that country. If my memory has not failed me, they said it was man set, very similar to the fires that ravaged the south land this last summer. Hard for me to grasp the idea of setting a fire to just watch the carnage, destruction, griefs, finical cost and lose of life.

    Mervi

    Like

Leave a Reply

