Mabel Combs At Rest



Blessed People, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

In January of 2008, I wrote a column (the first paragraph of which is below) and posted this picture of Pastor Walton Combs and his precious wife, Mabel. Yesterday, the death angel carried away Mabel, and she is now resting in the everlasting arms of Jesus. My prayers and love go out to her family and to the church in Casa Grande.

Rev. Walton Combs and his wife Mabel of Casa Grande, Az. have been active in our churches for decades…and have literally given their lives for the Gospel. Now they are aged, and his health is broken. Today I want to honor these two beautiful people and, by association, all elderly people of God.

Remainder of the article here.

14 thoughts on “Mabel Combs At Rest

  1. Bobby L. Edmiston

    Why did they have her funeral at the Assembly of God on Korston, in Casa Grande?
    I know Walton Combs and the last time I talked with him he said to me that he would not be caught dead in a Trinity doctrine church. To me that place is a devils playpen, they do not believe in the gifts of the spirit and they call themselves Pentecostal.

    I’m sorry I do not have that information. Blessings…….

    Like

  2. Bobby L. Edmiston

    I have known the Combs since the seventies and have a great love for them. If you are in Jesus you are already a “saint” according to Pauls writings.

    Like

  3. Karen S

    While a senior in high school, I worked for Arizona Bank as a COE Student in 1979. One day at work, they told me, “Karen, your mom is in the lobby for you.” I walked out, and it wasn’t my mom (who also has snow white hair) it was Sis. Combs. I said, “oh, that’s not my mom.” To which Sis. Combs replied, “But, I’ll claim her.”

    What a true “women whose value is far above rubies.”

    She will always be remembered in my heart as a special person. Always ready to give a smile, firm handshake, and a hug.
    Arizona Ladies Retreat will be different. No Sis. Combs to sing and shake that hairdo all at the same time.

    What a heritage she has left for her children, daughters-in-laws, and grandchildren.

    I feel blessed and honored to have known Sis. Combs.

    Thank you, Karen, for taking the time to pay this tribute to dear Sister Combs.

    Like

  4. kennethdsmom

    Thanks you for your permission to print your kind words! I was not able to attend due to living days away. I was told that it was a beautiful ceremony though.
    If anyone else would like to share a story about either Mable or Walton of how they influenced their life or just what you remember I would appreciate it! I plan to put these in my family genealogy paperwork to share with family. Thanks!

    Like

  5. kennethdsmom

    Mabel Combs was my great aunt (my grandpa’s sister). I wasn’t close to her but she is somewhat of a “spiritual legend” within our family. Thank you for writing this beautiful blog on her.
    I tried to read the whole page but everytime I clicked on “Remainder of the article here” link it kept saying I can’t edit the page -instead of letting me view it. Could you possible send me a link to view the whole blog? (kennethdsmom@yahoo.com) I would love to print it (with your permission) and put it with my family history collection. If anyone else has stories they would like to share I would love to collect these also.
    Thank you! Stephanie

    Stephanie, I am so sorry for that faulty link. It is now corrected, and of course you are welcome to use what I have written about this lovely family.

    Like

  6. Bill Powell

    Thank you Sis Buxton for the picture & story on the Comb’s. Sis. Combs was my 2nd Mom. I loved her very much. Pray for My Pastor Andrew Combs, & Bishop Walton Combs.

    Bill, thank you for your comments here. Yes, I know this must be a tremendous trial for Pastor Andrew and Bishop Walton Combs. They are definitely in our prayers. My husband has talked with Andrew on the phone. We will be attending the funeral on Friday night.

    God bless and comfort you during these days of loss.

    Like

  7. I never knew this precious elder and saint, but I understand your feelings Sis Buxton… I can only hope to glean from people like her… and you… and reach my “After All”, if the Lord tarries.
    I love you.

    Thank you, Sister Catherine. I love you too.

    Like

  8. Rebecca

    Sister Combs has reached her “After All.”
    She has sung about it for years, now she gets to enjoy her sweet Saviour, and hear His words, “Well done, thou good and faithful servant… enter thou into the joy of thy lord.”

    I’m crying now as I think about that. Her funeral is Friday night at 7:00: I suspect it likely they will play a recording of her singing that beautiful song–for which thousands of people know her.

    Like

  9. There are quite a few ‘maturer’ Christians that I know and I love talking with them – especially if they have been in ministry – age and reflection on life adds a wisdom I can only hope to emulate when my turn comes round.

    You are wise, Greg. There is much that can be learned only by experience–no other way. When we are young, no matter how smart or well-intentioned, it is impossible to have the experience that older persons possess. It is hoped that as we mature, these experiences will teach us lessons that we can pass along to those coming behind us. It’s a rather precious thing.

    Like

  10. I’m sorry to hear of her passing. Truly our loss and heaven’s gain.

    When someone close to me like this dies, I think a lot about the afterlife…how does it work?…where is she now?…what is she doing?…

    Like

  11. Sister Buxton:
    I remember Brother and Sister Combs when they went to Garden Grove , when my family and I were there before we went back to Indiana in 1969. Is that Brother Combs in that picture? Who is the lady ?
    Brother Webb

    The picture is of Walton and Mabel Combs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

