Christian School Maintains Right to Expel Lesbians

On Monday, a California court handed down the ruling that a Christian high school could legally expel students because of an alleged lesbian relationship. Coming from the 4th District Court of Appeal in Riverside is the finding that private religious organizations are not bound by the same anti-discrimination laws as are other businesses.

John McKay, attorney for California Lutheran, says the school’s goal is to educate children based on Christian principles.

Two teens filed a lawsuit claiming they were discriminated against after they were expelled from the Wildomar school in 2005 because of an alleged lesbian relationship. On Tuesday, their attorney could not be reached for comment.

This is a positive news account. I’m happy to report it on my site.

10 thoughts on “Christian School Maintains Right to Expel Lesbians

  1. Rachel – scripture an verse thanks. Is former president busha christian? and yet he was bombing the heck out of women and children. We all live lives where we fall short of the glory of God…all of us and yet we still count ourselves ‘filled with the spirit’ – so what happens – the Spirit comes and goes according to our behaviour? I don’t think so.

    Like

  2. The danger of homosexuality is not in Christians turning their backs to it (referring to Greg’s comment) it is in Christians becoming apathetic and accepting of Biblically immoral behaviors. It is encouraging to see that Christians are still lawfully allowed to maintain their convictions when it comes to teaching young people in private Christian schools. Now, young people become more and more confused regarding their sexual orientation. Making the statement that homosexuality is acceptable opens the door to all sexually immoral behaviors.

    In the four years I was in a public high school, I watched homosexuality become a norm. I watched people become more open and joking about it, I watched posters being put up of two hockey players kissing. It is disturbing. Thank God Christian schools are taking a stand for what is right.

    As for homosexuals being Christians, you cannot be filled with the Holy Ghost living a lifestyle counter to God’s original intention.

    God Bless,
    Rachel

    God bless you, Rachel. I appreciate your words. Agree 100%.

    Like

  3. GREG, this question of works versus grace is a complicated one, I believe, for on the one hand I totally agree with you, yet the Bible clearly states that people who do certain things will not inherit the Kingdom of God. I know except for the grace of God, I will never make it to Heaven: I am quite convinced of that. However, I have a problem (and I believe the Bible backs me up 🙂 ) with “dismissing” blatant sin.

    PAM, thanks for stopping by my blog and for your comments. Hope you’re here often.

    I’m thankful for many things; one of them is that I am not called on to judge people–certainly not concerning their eternal destination. It is God’s Word that judges us, and although I lay no claim, in any way, to being a scholar, I do try to read and understand God’s Word. God’s Word speaks strongly against homosexuality. You might want to read the first chapter of Romans for more insight.

    One more thing, Pam. While I agree with you that Jesus was a peaceful man, there certainly was another side of Him, and I believe He was aware that His teachings would often bring separation and yes, even misunderstandings. In the extreme is Matthew 10:35 when Jesus’ own words proclaim Him to set father against son and mother against daughter.

    While loving and kind–even to the extent of giving His own life for you and me (and all the world)–He was not a “Yes Man” nor a “Pansy.” He was strong and forceful, as are His teachings.

    ROB, you are an impressive, sincere young man, and I’m so glad you are a part of my blog. It is a difficult problem, and this question of sin and grace and works is not easily sensed, and it definitely takes God to help us with these situations. We must deal tenderly with everyone, but at the same time abide by the mandates in God’s Word.

    May have more to say later.

    Like

  4. Rob in Gallup

    This is really difficult for me to sort out. On the one hand, I realize that a ruling in the opposite direction would be one step closer to, say, requiring churches to hire homosexual pastors and stop teaching that homosexuality is a sin. So in that respect, this is something of a victory for religious freedom.

    On the other hand, I’m deeply saddened by the school’s decision to expel these students. These girls need Christ (whether they are Christians or not, either of which I believe could be possible) and now an establishment that represents Christ to them has turned them away and washed its hands of them. I think that this is indicative of a larger problem with the way the church views sinners, whom Jesus came to save.

    Maybe I’m missing the mark and a Christian school doesn’t belong in the same category as a church, but I went to a Christian school and know that for many of those students, it’s the closest experience to going to church that they ever had. It doesn’t make sense to me why students who engaged in premarital, heterosexual relationships were counseled and helped to walk through a process of restoration, but students who said they were homosexual were promptly deported.

    I really think that homosexuality is a favorite tool of Satan’s these days — not because it’s a “worse” sin than any other, but because it’s a guaranteed way to make the church turn its back on someone and to make that someone hold a lifelong, bitter hatred against the church for abandoning them.

    Like

  5. Jesus was all about who should be excluded wasn’t he? Oh hang on a minute – the ones the religious leaders rejected Jesus sought out. There’s something cooky going on here. Who’s right, Jesus or the religiouos leaders?

    Shirley I disagree with you that lesbians can’t be Christians – we are not Chrisitians based on our behaviour – all of our so called righteousness is but filthy rags in the sight of God, we are Christians based on who we follow – and yes Jesus did advocate certain moral/ethical behaviours, but he actually had more to say about what we do with our money than what we do with our genitalia.

    Rejection of others is not what Jesus was about and nor should we be – whatever we think of anothers behaviour.

    Like

  6. I am so glad to hear that a private assemblage still has the ability to choice who and what it admits into its group. My main concern would should this be appealed to the 9th district court in wonderful San Francisco?

    Mervi

    Like

  7. alphabetrain

    Surely everyone has the right to an education?If you don’t believe in that, then I think your other opinions can fall by the wayside. Get your priorities straight. One in ten in the real world are homosexual, and if you denied education to all of them the academic and intellectual world would be severely impoverished.

    Hi, Alpha. Welcome to my blog. Hope you’re here often.

    I agree with you that everyone should have an education. I also believe that a Christian school that is privately funded should be allowed to enforce its own standards–as they understand them from Biblical reading– concerning accepting or rejecting students who are homosexual.

    A church school rejecting homosexual students can hardly be seen as denying those persons any education. There are no doubt many schools who would accept them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

