Josef Fritzl Edges Closer to Trial–Daughter Leaves Facility

There may be no person living to whom the world looks with such revulsion and even hate, than Josef Fritzl, the fiend who for 24 years jailed his daughter Elizabeth in a dungeon, repeatedly raping her, and with whom he sired seven children.

Now March 16 has been set for the beginning of his trial.

During the late days of December it was reported that Elizabeth and her children have recovered from their unspeakable ordeal enough so that they gone from the psychiatric clinic where they had been living. Their home is in an undisclosed location.

I have written extensively of this event, for it shook me to my core when I first read this macabre account. From time to time I continue to pray for Elizabeth and for her children. Let there be peace and healing in their minds and hearts.

8 thoughts on “Josef Fritzl Edges Closer to Trial–Daughter Leaves Facility

  1. Sarah

    I found this one of the most disturbing pieces of news that I have ever heard and like many others it consumed me and I could not stop thinking about it for many months.
    As a mother I could not get over the fact that those poor children had never been outside and enjoyed a sunny afternoon in the fresh air,amongst many other things that we all take for granted. I cannot imagine how Elizabeth kept her sanity and managed to cope with being kept prisoner for so many years. I just hope that she and her children can live out the rest of their lives peacefully and to be able to enjoy all the wonderful things that they missed when they were in captivity.

    Hi, Sarah. Welcome to my site; hope you return often. I agree with you about this story. It is the most despicable thing I have ever read. I have prayed often for these children and their mother; we must continue to care about them.

    Like

  2. Marie

    Thank you for writting about this. I have not been able to stop thinking about this whole nightmare for these children. What has developed in the well being of these innocent victims? There isn’t much on the internet as to the development of them since being freed.

    Marie, I do have wondered about these children, and have not read too much more. It is possible, I understand, some of them are using assumed names to protect their privacy.

    We must keep praying for this terrible situation. So sad.

    Like

  3. Michael

    I have a hard time figuring out why God would subject anyone to these horrors… well I’m sure he had a reason.

    Michael, God did not do that. Josef, Elizabeth’s father, did. He performed those dastardly deeds because of evil, not because of God.

    Like

  4. ymtheman

    Im a person that a lot of people say that dosent show any emotion and that happenes to be true ive seen everything possible and it dosent affect me at all when i heard what happened to Elizabeth i broke down,i completely broke down,the fact that a human being can do that to another 1 esp.ur own flesh and blood was beyond me.Elizabeth you are a incredible woman may god bless you and your kids.

    Yes, God, please bless Elizabeth and her children.

    Like

  5. cat

    I truly hope that Elizabeth and her children know that so many people around the world have been praying for them, I also am amazed that she lived through all that, I think most of us would have just curled up and died, yet she found the strength to live and love her children, God bless you Elizabeth, you and your children.

    Cat, I agree. Elizabeth must be an incredibly strong person. An amazing story.

    Like

  6. Kris

    hi
    thanks for your caring article, how many of us have lost sleep and even pulled away from our own loving spousesnfor awhile after having relived to some degree this poor woman’s life. there are so many million questions I have for Elisabeth, yet I would have such a hard time even interviewing her, can you imagine not falling apart just talking to her for the first time. I pray so any times for her and the kids! God will take up thier cause and has already done a miracle in her eldest daughter’s life.

    Thank you, Kris, for your caring heart.

    Like

  7. Julio

    When I first heard of this story, I told everyone I could telling them that it was the most henious crime I have ever heard of. Sure there are untold number of individuals who were tortured, murdered and buried in undisclosed graves. But this is the worst. I shudder to think of what would have happened had he died outside while they were locked in the cellar. They would haved died slowly of starvation. It is amazing how twisted some people are to others, to their families and to animals.

    Julio, thank you for visiting my site. It is a ghastly story. I am so thankful that through Kerstin’s illness, their plight was revealed, and they were rescued. How any human can be so vile as is Josef is beyond my comprehension.

    Like

  8. I, too, share your horror of Josef Fritzl’s crimes and your compassion for Elisabeth and her children. I don’t believe there’s a day gone by since the crime was revealed last April that I’ve not thought about her situation. There has been a lot of discussion at The New Statesman (a journal) site, and some of us from that discussion have set up a special ‘chat’ just for further conversation. You may be interested in reading the New Statesman article if you haven’t already! Here’s the link: http://www.newstatesman.com/europe/2008/04/abuse-survivors-fritzl-rape

    Thank you Kathryn for the link and for the invitation to read there. Sometimes I wake in the night and think of the horror Elizabeth and her children must have endured. Many times have I considered her pregnancies and births–especially the first one. Unbelievably sad and sickening.

    Like

Leave a Reply

