With Hope, We Eye 2009

https://i1.wp.com/thejudopodcast.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/01/new-year.jpg

Given our natures and our ages, both Jerry and I were sound asleep when the significant hand sweep occurred, bringing us all into the year of our Lord 2009. But here we are–all of us, whether awake or asleep–standing in the raw dawn of a new year; tentative, questioning, cautious, hesitating, and probably so unsure of the world that our throats tighten in reluctance when asked for prediction.

A year? What is a year? A period of time–we know that– a 12 month segment: it is God, a space of birth and death, a number of days, a slippery slot where determined hands will craft both good and evil, a cycle of heat and cold–of those we are sure. But, in truth, little else may be stamped of absolute and of certitude.

Were I artistic, I would trace the bent figure of the retreating aged 2008 man as pocked with near-mortal wounds and scars, bloodied and tattered. I would scrawl of ragged and dark lines, and with candor and frankness illustrate the dismal and sad year of recent history. My hand would not linger, nor would I allow hesitation as I chalked the naked, undisguised truth.

Yet, somehow with great pains and endeavor, I
would find a way to infuse the leaving of wounded 2008 with hope and
dream and optimism for the baby of 2009. For we Americans have slogged
through other dismal years…and yet have we emerged a living, vibrant
nation. We have been knocked about, both by others and by ourselves,
but, always, we have struggled to our feet, victorious, our vision
clear and sure. We have fought and scratched and clawed; loved and
tended and bound up wounds. We have failed and, again, succeeded. Anew, then,…in 2009, we will rouse ourselves, and with fresh resolve and determination fix our eye on success–on morality and integrity, so
that from the last page of its calender we may honestly label the year 2009 a good one, one of progress and advancement.

Were I a cartoonist, I would craft such an image. Lacking that ability I scribe instead these words…and, from my heart, wish you, your families and your friends a happy, prosperous year.

Powered by ScribeFire.

5 thoughts on “With Hope, We Eye 2009

  1. Nita

    Aunt Shirley and Uncle Jerry,
    HAPPY NEW YEAR!
    What a wonderful gift for words. You clearly drew the 2008 Man and the 2009 Baby. I promise I could clearly see them. Love you two wonderful people. I pray your harvest be great this year and many blessing to you and yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

