Coyotes in Crestline

My beloved Crestline, CA. lies within the San Bernardino National Forest, and within its ranging miles are many varieties of wildlife. Among other species, the area abounds with bear, raccoons, deer, coyotes, numerous birds and a few mountain lions. I’ve never seen a deer in our area, nor a cat or bear, although I’m assured they are all around us.

“Experts say there are 4,000 to 6,000 mountains lions in the wild of California.”

Daisy Nguyen of AP

I have seen many birds, several raccoons and lots of coyotes.

We don’t really worry about the youngsters playing outside, for attacks from these animals are rare, and as I said, we seldom see any of the large animals–excepting for the coyotes, which come by frequently. I’ve tried to get good pictures of them, but until last week, failed at that.

Then on one of the snowy Christmas days, I glanced from our living room to catch this view: fortunately I had camera in hand, and snapped a picture of this beautiful animal.

dsc_0003

I went then to the dining room and through that window snagged a great shot.

dsc_00042

Isn’t he (she?) beautiful.

One more shot.

dsc_00051

P. S. After reading Lorraine Bertram’s thoughtful response, I found these helpful instructions:

If a coyote approaches you:
Be as Big, Mean, and Loud as possible
-Wave your arms and throw objects at the coyote
-Shout in a deep, loud and authoritative voice
-DO NOT RUN or turn your back on the coyote
-Face the coyote and back away slowly
-If attacked, fight back with your fists and feet

22 thoughts on “Coyotes in Crestline

  1. wallace henderson

    we have one squirrel on our street in big bear. they vanished a couple of years ago like, overnight. ya i have heard about a squirrel mange and other rumors of west niles etc etc. we are licenced members of national wildlife as a refuge and by having a proper ammount of nests and watering in our yard, we are legal to feed them also birds. we used to have 15 to 20 living in our back yard and raised several young ones that fell from their nests untill they were old enough to fend fot them selves.
    i have googled everything i can on why they vanished from the san bernadino mountains and all i can come up with stinks like its a cover up? perhaps the chem trails they keep treating us to up here are to blame? i can’t find in my searches, any place in the world that the squirrel has vanished.

    Like

  2. Janae

    yeah i’ve noticed there are no squirrels any where in the san bernardino mountain, none. is it true that mange is killing them. because they’re all gone. i can’t find anything about the squirrels disappearing any where. is that what happened to the squirrels?

    Like

  3. Leanne

    My husband and I live in Lake Arrowhead; we use to have many, many squirrels, coyotes, and birds around our house. It seems as if they have all but disappeared! (We did see a bear two months ago.) One of the shop owners in Blue Jay said there has been an outbreak of mange killing the squirrels———-and so goes the food chain.

    Like

  4. Hi Karen. For the past couple of years, we have been away from our place in Crestline most of the time. The last time we were home–couple of months ago–our next door neighbor mentioned to us that the squirrels had disappeared. Funny thing, though, that while we were there we saw several squirrels.

    This week I will be in Crestline on Thursday and Friday. It will be interesting to see if there are any squirrels in our yard.

    Like

  5. Karen Huggins

    We have a cabin in Crestline, Ca and have noticed the last several months, all the squirrels have disappeared. Does anyone know why?

    Like

  6. Oh, my goodness, Susie. When I clicked on that link, it scared me a bit, even though I knew I was looking at an image on a computer screen. I can see why you were alarmed when you saw such an animal in Crestline.

    I don’t know if wolves are routinely spotted in our area or not. I’ll check it out.

    Do you live in Crestline?

    Thanks for visiting here; hope you return often.

    Like

  7. Susie

    In the spring of 2008 while my husband and I were hiking on the trail around Lake Gregory with our two dogs (a Golden Retriever female and a Border Collie male) I glanced over my shoulder and I saw a HUGE black animal that I could have sworn was a wolf. It was too big to be a coyote and it came out silently from the underbrush and stood there on trail, just staring me down. The hairs on the back of my neck and arms rose and I was instantly spooked – instinctively I shouted at it andwaved my arms about but it didn’t flinch or run away, just kept staring at me. This animal weighed 100 pounds, and it’s fur was a dusky black with piercing yellow eyes. Thinking if we ignored it, it would lose interest, we started walking again but when I glanced back again, it was much closer and that’s when I felt a real wave of fear. I think it was someone’s wolf-hybrid pet because it had a chain collar around it’s neck (I didn’t see any tags) and I yelled at it and waved my arms around and it never even blinked. My husband (who’s 6 ft 5 inches and weighs close to 300 lbs) stepped towards it and yelled at it and waved his arms and clapped his hands and finally the animal ran off again into the underbrush. I was worried because there were small children and an elderly couple on the trail that we passed up and I didn’t know if that animal would attack them or not. I’ve seen coyotes before and this thing was NOT a coyote. Has anyone ever spotted a black wolf in this area before or since?

    Like

  8. Hi, Jean.

    Yes, coyotes are a threat to smaller animals, and many people here in Crestline keep their house cats inside. Our neighbors Ken and Nancy have two cats, whose paws have never touched the earth.

    Once walking right down the city street of Rialto I saw an opossum–strange looking sight.

    Like

  9. Jean Walter

    Your pictures are excellent as usual, but I do not like coyotes. We have lost a couple of cats to coyotes. We do not live in an area that you would expect to see them. We have houses all around us. A couple of days after we lost our one cat, our neighbors across the street saw one on their block wall as they were having breakfast about 11:00 AM on a Sunday. Coyotes are a danger to small animals in the middle of Upland CA…a city and not the desert!

    Love to you and Brother Buxton!

    Like

  10. Hi, Rob. We have lots of lizards, and although we don’t see them often, we know we have gophers for they are a pain around here: they chomp on flower bulbs, tree and plant roots, often destroying them. Literally, I have stood and watched a wiggling plant disappear into the ground…a snack for some furry babies, maybe.

    We also have fat squirrels with fluffy beautiful tails–a few ground squirrels and chipmunks. Not sure if we have tarantulas, but I know we have other spiders…and mice…they love to explore our kitchen cabinets when we’re gone for weeks at a time. I think they set up banquets in there.

    The thought of mountains lions padding around scare me also.

    Be well.

    Like

  11. Rob in Gallup

    What beautiful photos, especially the second one. Our property borders Cibola National Forest, and I know we have coyotes here as well — I hear them most nights — but I have yet to see one. I would love to see one; they are beautiful animals. Our wildlife experience here has consisted mostly of rabbits, lizards (in the summer), tarantulas (in the fall) and a few deer.

    It’s the mountain lion statistic that concerns me more. It’s supposed to be about the same for us. I thought I heard one scream in the distance once, but have seen no evidence of any around. The shotgun hangs above the front door, though, just in case.

    Like

  12. Michael

    When we first moved to Lake Havasu City in 1993,the coyote population in the city itself was controlled by by the amount of rain we would get. If we had a real rainy season you wouldn’t see alot of these critters because there would be plenty of food due to good vegetation growth.As the homes started moving toward’s ther domain you would see more and more of them in the city streets.It was and is still common to see and hear them. The city government tried to control it by putting a bounty on their life but I don’t think it went over very well.I went with my friend Jim out to call coyote’s in, and I really got to appreciate there intelligence watching them hunt from a close view.

    Like

  13. Sis. Buxton, as you know we live out in the “country” but, are only one mile from businesses and the highway. We had never seen a coyote here until, this Sunday!
    We were leaving our home to go to church, and had just driven down the street when, we saw a coyote relieving itself πŸ™‚ in the middle of an alfalfa field! When it finished, it headed towards Home Depot (which was next to the field). We don’t know what happened to it after that since we had to get to church. We are glad we had left our dog, Daisy, in her pen, as always when we are not home.

    Like

  14. Sis. Buxton….

    Merry Christmas!!

    A word of caution….although the coyote is a beautiful animal, and we don’t hear alot about it, it is a ‘predator’. It is a very opportunistic predator and VERY smart. If they are found in neighborhoods, they are not hunting for rabbits, but are preying on small animals like dogs, cats, and occasionally small children. My son David has been asked by many dairy farmers, and such, to track and kill them, as they constantly are eating their calves and livestock….So be careful!
    Love You!

    Hi, Lorraine. Good to hear from you. You’re right of course that we must not forget that no matter how friendly it seems, a coyote is a wild animal, and there have been times when small children have even been attacked by these animals. It’s not typical, but it has happened. The smallest at our house this year is nearly two, and she would never be allowed out by herself.

    Have a wonderful new year.

    Like

  15. Whoa! That’s awesome. You can really see the details against the snow! We have them here in North Texas, but it is rare to really get to “see” them since they blend into the surroundings so well.

    The view I had that day was the best of any since we have lived in Crestline. I believe its dark coat against the white of the snow made the coyote’s figure stand out.

    Hope your Christmas was blessed and that you have a wonderful new year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

