On The Second Night of Christmas

“Granny, we’re not cold.”

And so it seems they were not, even though much of the day was sliced with knife-edged wind, intermittent rain, and then finally in the evening two inches more of snow. The black trash bag full of dsc_0014boots of all sizes and sorts had been taken from the basement to thedsc_0016 garage, and each child was responsible for finding a pair to fit his feet, and to scurry up suitable jackets and snowpants. I had intended to go out for a while and take pictures, but it was so cold and blustery, that the extent of my snow adventure was to take a few steps onto the front deck, so that I could snap a frame or two of the youngsters playing in the front yard.

“It’s freezing out here,” I complained as, with my camera, I turned back to the house. And because of my wimpiness, I didn’t get any good pictures of them in the snow.

It really was miserable, and I was shocked that they stayed out in it for the better part of an hour, finally coming in and stripping off their soaking clothes. Shawnna, dsc_0025busy mom that she is, spent a great part of her day drying clothes, and handing out fresh things. Brady gave me a hand at the chopping for turkey tetrazzini…sans pants!

We have a snowsuit that would fit baby Ella, but she has a terrible cold, so she stayed inside, spending much of the day on Pappy’s lap. dsc_0032The green? She’s a budding artist, and is quite taken with markers–found a green one somewhere and painted her face.

Andrew had gone early in the morning to work with Adam at Wrightwood, and as he left San Bernardino to come back up the hill in the evening, he stopped to pick up Nathaniel, as Rebecca isn’t coming up until today, and the cousins here were frantic to have him up here NOW!

We were waiting dinner for them, and it was past 6:00 o’clock when Andrew and Nathaniel finally arrived. “That was the scarriest trip I have ever had in my entire life,” Andrew said. “We had thick heavy fog all the way up the mountain. Couldn’t even see the middle line, a complete white-out.”

“Granny, I was holding onto the dash, shaking, I was so scared,” Nathaniel chimed in.

Not long after dinner when we had cleared up the kitchen again, we heard noises from outside, and when we opened the glass door to see better, we saw coming down sleet and icy rain, mixed with snow. Finally it was just snow, adding to the sparkling, pristine mounds we have already.

Ipods are the talk of the big dsc_0037boys around here…and the little ones, too, I suppose. Before bedtime, they were gathered about one of the computers as Andrew helped them with some downloading.

In cycles, we all went to bed; first Ella Claire, then Pappy, then Brady and Cole, then about 10:30 the big ones were marched off to their sleeping places, and only left were Andrew, Shawnna and me. We didn’t linger long, though. One by one, I turned off the lights, then found the way to my bed in our darkened bedroom. For awhile I listened to the wind, envisioning what I could not hear; slanting snow blowing into the tall oak limbs, and a glorious accumulating, that come morning, would no doubt rest in the extended arms of the fragrant pines.

2 thoughts on “On The Second Night of Christmas

Leave a Reply

