A Flash of Death…and of Life

dsc_0060In our Crestline dining room is a favored green chair, stuffed and contoured precisely for comfort, and with a matching ottoman on which to stretch legs and prop feet. While sitting there one morning last week, gazing into the trees and across the far sky that canopies Lake Gregory, I saw these two leaves flutter from a near-by oak and settle into the needled pine that frames the glass expanse.

A bit of life–and consequently of death–had I observed in the downward flutter, and in the quiet minutes of that morning, as I pondered the wily subject, I found myself no more wiser than had I been at my last encounter with the thought of ultimate existence. With the consideration of leaves and tiny rodents (one of which the night before Jerry had snared with peanut butter) am I able to distance myself, and with less emotion comprehend the logical, “eternal” cycle: birth, life and death.

For soon the veined leaf will serve its span and finish its falling. On the cold earth, atop thousands of acorns, the leaf will dissolve, and before many days have passed snow and ice will be its cover; a new season will begin. Had we exceptional hearing and seeing ability, within the rotting acorn, could be seen and heard a rustle, as life writhes and prepares for Spring.

3 thoughts on “A Flash of Death…and of Life

  1. woundedlily

    I too agree…you write so beautiful. You capture in words, what I capture in my heart. We too, have had a mouse for weeks. We set 4 traps with peanut butter. No luck. A closer look at the traps (after a couple of days) revealed the mouse ate all the peanut butter but did not get caught.

    So…we put down cheese instead of the peanut butter. Again, the mouse in the house was able to feast on the chesse and still not get caught.

    Now comes drastic measures, we left the traps as they were – empty. But behind one of them we opened a box of decon. Sometime last night the mouse that is in our house tried to get the decon and now the mouse which was in our house is gone.

    Foolish mouse, went after something big to carry back with him and ended up in his greed to travel over our trap. Now I know that one mouse in my house might mean a family is present. So before I take everything out of the lower cabinets and wash them, I will wait to see if they are completely out of the house.

    When the night before Christmas comes, I would like to be able to say. Twas the night before Christmas and all through our house, not a creature was stirring not even a mouse. LOL

    Like

  2. Linda (LAS)

    First of all I just think that picture is absolutely gorgeous. Next, I love your last paragraph, especially these few lines … “For soon the veined leaf will serve its span and finish its falling.” … “the leaf will dissolve, and before many days have passed snow and ice will be its cover; a new season will begin.” … “as life writhes and prepares for Spring.”

    Your words activate my brain into full color motion picture mode. I likened our existence on Earth to what you described in the leaf. I likened Heaven to Spring. Thanks for the beautiful picture.

    Like

Leave a Reply

