Bumble Pie

There it was: The confession and the acknowledgment of blame.

The backstory is this: On Saturday, we were having our first Christian Intervention BBQ, and being the wife of the pastor and the mother of the instructor, I of course wanted to make a good impression as to my cooking ability. Decided to whip up a beautiful pie–homemade crust–the works…When disaster occurred, and I dealt heroically with it, I typed up that little note, tucked it in with my picnic things, and beside the pitiful pie on the park table was the story of Bumble Pie production.

No matter the humiliation, for now I’m famous. In the Sunday morning service as the glowing report of the CIP picnic was told, mentioned with high honors was Bumble Pie. People snickered and grinned at me. I grinned back, for what else can one do when suddenly placed in the limelight. Bumble Pie and I are now well known. Kind of like “Joe the Plumber.” πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “Bumble Pie

  1. mike

    I think my favorite part of pie is the crust. I love the layers as they flake and melt in your mouth, so my friends let me tell you, as I spooned that bumble pie in my watering mouth it was so nice to taste the crust right away and not havung to wait until most of the filling was eaten. YUMMY

    Like

  2. brenda g

    I must tell my pie story!! When I was taking Spanish in college, my final assignment was to bring in something to eat, and then tell about it in Spanish. I made a pecan pie, but accidentally used self rising flour for the crust. Here’s what happened – the crust rose up to right under the crispy pecan layer that forms on the top of the pie. The ooey- gooey filling was on the bottom.
    So there I was trying to explain all that in Spanish!! But like your Bumble Pie, my Pecan Pie tasted delicious!

    Like

  3. Pingback: First CIP BBQ « Christ Alive Worship Center

  4. Sister Buxton:
    The next Bumble pie you make are you going to push it in Jerry’s face like you used to do in Garden Grove?
    Brother Webb

    Do what? I have no memory of doing such a thing…but then we were very young and adventurous during those days.

    Like

  5. Goes to the old adage: When you are given lemons, make lemonade. When your pie falls out in the oven, scoop it up, finish cooking it, and then give it a catchy name (with accompanying explanation) and voila, you are famous in Havasu!!

    I wish I could have tasted Bumble pie!

    Fame must come easy. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Greg the Explorer

    Bumble pie – what a hoot. Good on you Shirley. The ability to make mistakes and recover and be appreciated for it is truely one of Gods graces.

    I’ve made some pretty interesting looking things as well and never had the grace to recover to the extent that you did!

    Love and peace

    Greg

    Perhaps I have motivated you to CHANGE.

    Like

  7. Yes, Shirley. And your candidate for president is uglier than my candidate for president. So, I guess you win all round. πŸ™‚

    Leave the veeps out of it. LOL

    You’re too quick, Helen. You know you would win that round–or is it lose now?

    Like

  8. dean

    I am not very humble,still working on it, but I am a master meatcutter. I love it and have for decades….. but I recently made some cutlets for a friend. The tenderizing machine was not put together correctly the evening before…. my high priced veal steaks came out… as cube mistakes. Not cube steaks!! Practice doesn’t always provide perfection. ps. I heard they were delicious! Keep on Baking!!

    Were the cutlets ruined so that you had to keep the fine morsels and eat them yourself?

    Like

  9. Shirley, About two weeks ago, I made (what until now was) the ugliest apple pie ever. It tasted fine. And I’m sure this one did, too. πŸ™‚

    My apple pie is uglier than your apple pie, Helen. So there!

    Like

  10. This reminds me of when I was a teen and mom and dad were both working. We had a visiting minister and family comming for dinner and service. We were so poor financially at that time, but mom had put on a roast and was praying that it would be enough to feed us all. She left a note for me to finish up getting dinner ready and have it ready at 5:00 PM as they and the company would be in at that time. I mopped the kitchen, got every thing ready to go. Preacher and family arrived first. I welcomed them and explained that mom and dad would arrive shortly. Went back into the kitchen to take out the roast and all that went with it. I reached in and pulled out the roast and dumped it ALL in the floor. I got some spatulas picked it all up, sorted the carrotts, potatoes and meat then put it on the table. I didn’t even tell mom till the next day. Kept the secret and everyone enjoyed the dinner and we had plenty .

    Virginia, thanks for sharing this delightful story. Such occasions are when that prayer before eating comes in mighty handy. Trust God to take care of a few little germs that might be nosing around.

    Like

  11. You are now famous! I love you!
    You MUST make this when we have your big birthday party πŸ™‚ How about for mine when I turn 60? Not joking Sister Buxton.
    Only you could pull this off so gracefully πŸ™‚

    Head over to Lake Havasu around your 60th, and I’ll see what I can whip up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

