Skeptical?–The Age of Obama

Image from Commission on Presidential Debates

A face of suspicion in others does not appeal to me; certainly I do not cherish a personal image of such description. My thinking leads me to the conclusion that an anointing of skepticism is not generally felt to be soothing; yet on occasion, I contend, such smearing may be the pith of wisdom.

This morning, I learned that the moderator for tomorrow night’s vice-presidential debate, PBS anchor, Gwen Ifill, has written a book that is scheduled for release on inauguration day. Name of the book? “The Breakthrough: Politics and Race in the Age of Obama.” It is reported that in the book she praises Senator Obama for “forging a new path.”

How can Ms. Ifill possibly be considered neutral in tomorrow night’s debate? She obviously has an interest in Senator Obama’s being elected President, for it is fair to conclude that the sale of such a book would be greatly enhanced by his capturing the world’s greatest prize on the very day her book is to be released.

The Commission of Presidential Debates is responsible for the choice of this moderator. How are the moderators chosen?

Did Senators Obama and  McCain have a voice in the selection of this moderator (and those for the other debates)?

Are Senator McCain and his election council guilty of a serious oversight here?

I’m leaning toward thinking that Gwen Ifill should recuse herself as moderator in tomorrow night’s debate.

What say you? Am I missing something?

—–

EDIT: Thursday evening. I listened to the entire, excellent debate and I am happy to say I did not detect anything other than fairness as Gwen Ifill moderated the session. She did an excellent job.

However, I think in the future, a person who has written a favorable book toward one of the candidates should not be chosen as moderator for a debate in which that person is represented. In addition, I think Gwen Ifill should have mentioned the book to the commission who chose her.

3 thoughts on “Skeptical?–The Age of Obama

  1. Sis. Buxton:

    Mom & I have been hampered by computer problems (for the last few months) and have not been able to blog much lately, but it looks like things are fixed, so we’ll see how we do in the future. We are going to Maine from Oct. 8-14 for my nephew Jeremy Mester’s wedding. It’ll be our first time on the East Coast, and it’s supposed to be prime leaf-peeping time. As for Gwen Ifill, I’d seen/heard her a few times, and although she seemed to have democratic leanings, I’ve always liked her. We’ll see how she completes that book of hers. Sarah Palin is quite the speaker, isn’t she?

    GOD BLESS and hello to Bro. Buxton!

    There you are, Tommyjoe. So good to hear from you and to learn you have conquered the computer problems. Flat drive you crazy, don’t they.

    I’m sure your trip to the East Coast will be beautiful. Please greet your mom.

    Yes, Sarah Palin is a talented speaker. VP? We’ll see in a few weeks.

    God bless you always.

    Like

  2. dean

    At this stage in the process, do you think anyone will be swayed, stunned, or persuaded to change their voting preference?? I seriously doubt it. I feel for all the Americans who vote by appearances, and forget the results of an ill thought out selection. Kick out the soap box, I am done for the day. Peace

    Dean, Sarah Palin is so refreshing, so articulate and such a powerful speaker, that I can see her persuading someone who was unsettled in their choice. She makes sense and comes across as “the real deal.” We’ll see.

    Like

  3. Two things, it is my understanding that the Commission chooses the network, the network chooses the moderator. Also the timing of Ms. Ifill’s book release date coincides with Inauguration Day.

    So, Senators Obama and McCain had no veto power?

    Like

Leave a Reply

