A Great Day in America

Despite its many challenges, this has been a great day.

Because of Gustaf, almost two million persons, in historic, near-perfect maneuvers, were evacuated from the gulf coast. There has been no looting. All departments and agencies have worked flawlessly together.

Our President and other political leaders set aside their own agendas and directed their full attention to those threatened by the storm.

In response to derogatory remarks made concerning Governor Palin’s daughter, Senator Obama made the following principled statement:

Politico’s Carrie Budoff Brown reports: At a press avail in Monroe, Mich., Barack Obama on Palin: “Back off these kinds of stories.”

“I have said before and I will repeat again: People’s families are off limits,” Obama said. “And people’s children are especially off-limits. This shouldn’t be part of our politics. It has no relevance to Gov. Palin’s performance as a governor or her potential performance as a vice president. So I would strongly urge people to back off these kinds of stories. You know my mother had me when she was 18 and how a family deals with issues and teenage children, that shouldn’t be a topic of our politics.”

On charges that his campaign has stoked the story via liberal blogs:

“I am offended by that statement. There is no evidence at all that any of this involved us,” he said. “Our people were not involved in any way in this, and they will not be. And if I thought there was somebody in my campaign who was involved in something like that, they would be fired.”

I love America. God shed His grace on us today.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

3 thoughts on “A Great Day in America

  1. I will concur with Mr. Obama’s comment.

    I also believe that Mr. McCain has invited a great lady to be his V.P., and one who will become a powerful asset to both Mr. McCain and those of a concretive ideology.

    Mervi

    Like

  2. Hats off to Senator Obama. I must say that I respect him for taking such a stand regarding the privacy of the candidate’s children. I completely agree, they should be off limits. Youth have a hard enough time finding themselves, without having the whole world look at them through a microscope.

    I may not agree with all of Senator Obama’s politics, but think that this was highly commendable on his part.

    I love this nation. This year’s election has shown us the opportunities available in our country, to those who desire to succeed and who will work hard at it. No matter one’s race or gender, anyone can “be” that desires to be. Ya gotta love it! We live in the greatest nation on earth, as far as I am concerned.

    Like

Leave a Reply

