Obama and McCain Presidential Forum–A First

I listened from the initial word to his final ones as Pastor Warren of the famous Saddleback Church in California hosted a forum in which presidential candidates Senator Obama and Senator McCain each addressed the capacity crowd. It was the first meeting of its kind; an impressive event.


Sen. Barack Obama, D-Ill., Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz. and Pastor Rick Warren, greet parishioners during a non-debate forum moderated by Warren at the Saddleback Church in Lake Forest, Calif. (AP Photo)

Previously on this site we have discussed the issue of whether or not such political events should be held in church venues, and both pro and con opinions have been voiced. I wish to disregard that facet of the question today, but I am curious to hear your take on this meeting. Did you listen or watch? What is your opinion?

In my judgment it was an excellent affair, timely, and with pertinent, probing questions asked and–for the most part–answered. It was an interesting approach. Senator Obama had drawn to be first, and for an hour, with Senator McCain not present or hearing his answers, Pastor Warren had asked him questions. After an hour, Senator McCain was presented to the crowd, and was asked the same questions.

It was an intriguing, enlightening presentation. I’d like to hear from you, and along the way, I will probably add other comments.

More pictures here.

4 thoughts on “Obama and McCain Presidential Forum–A First

  1. Dean, I really wouldn’t expect anything less than for these two gentlemen to shake hands and be civil to the other.

    Who seemed surprised? I did not see these interviews–just heard them on the radio.

    Like

  2. dean

    It was indeed a courteous meeting. So much so that I saw one gentleman offer his hand to the other, much to the others surprise. Civility and Grace. Our Leaders need it, almost as much as I do. Peace

    Like

  3. Good morning, Ronda–

    One thing that distresses me about our country is the tendency to speak of each other with a lack of civility and courtesy. While knowing our freedom of speech is priceless and that we have every right to utilize it–and most of us do–I cringe when I hear exceptionally strong, discourteous–even vile–language used in reference to others.

    So, it pleased me tremendously that this forum was handled in a decorous manner, and that both candidates spoke with civility.

    I hope for the chance to again hear Pastor Warren’s closing remarks when he spoke to this very subject.

    Like

  4. I too listened to this forum tonight with my husband. I thought it was extremely fair and it answered several of my questions about both candidates. I liked the “non-debate” format. I think, this way we probably received more honest answers to the questions that were presented.

    Like

Leave a Reply

