Final Face of Camp

It would be foolish to neglect picturing both the day and the night speakers at our recent camp, for truly, the preaching was the high point of that exceptional gathering. Rev. Bill Davis is a prolific writer, (including, surprisingly for some–Westerns) and preaches in a unique, unforgettable manner. Beginning on Tuesday, a different pastor preached each morning, followed then by Brother Davis. Every sermon was exceptional.

Rev. Jerry Jones is known around our fellowship for his studied, dynamic preaching. He is amazing, and was no disappointment in Santa Maria.

My two favorite men at camp: Jerry and Michael

The cute lady with a hat!

A little girl was tugging along this bull dog, whose name she told me, and whose I have forgotten; I know it was a lady name, maybe Madeline or something like that. Anyway, the dog did not want to walk, her owner insisted she would walk, and after I snapped a few pictures, that little girl tugged on her lazy pet, urging her down the driveway. Reluctant dog probably weighed as much as did her owner. It was hilarious.

I could go on for days posting pictures of camp, but it must end here. Come by my place sometime and I’ll show you dozens more.

Cheers!

Edit: Because it is important that all of you see this, I’m moving here a comment and my response .

Steven Saiz // August 11, 2008 at 7:51 am (edit)

Sis. Buxton, great coverage of Camp Meeting. Thank you for attending and being a part of this great meeting. You and Bro. Buxton are dear friends and it was great to see you there!

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO ALL MY READERS: Pastor Steve Saiz was the coordinator for this excellent camp meeting, and it probably is impossible to calculate the time, energy and money he expended on producing this momentous event. As you come by here, (or go to his site) please leave a note of thanks and appreciation for both Steve and Debbie, two sweet, remarkable people.

Many of you know a new district has been formed–called the Southern California District. I understand, Brother Saiz, that you will be the coordinator for our first camp there next year. Any hints? Where? When? Who? How?

Now don’t be reluctant to let us in on early plans. You know any secret is safe here. )

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

12 thoughts on “Final Face of Camp

  1. Good morning, Linda–

    It seems that everyone agrees about our camp being one of the finest ever…so glad we all were able to be there.

    Looks as though you conquered the commenting situation. Glad to hear from you.

    Love

    Like

  2. Linda (LAS)

    Hey Sis Buxton, I spoke to you Tuesday evening before service at Camp meeting and told you how much I enjoyed your blog site, you make me laugh, you make me cry and Bro. Buxton asked, She make you mad? Honestly, that is one emotion I have never felt while reading your blog. You asked if I have ever left a comment, I told you I have tried but can’t for whatever reason. I am trying again. Camp meeting was totally wonderful! I loved all the choirs and singers but I loved the energy that the ALC choir and director had, it made me want to get up and dance! It’s a great day…

    Like

  3. Sis Buxton you have such a way with words, it is always a pleasure to read you. Your account of Camp Meeting is so “right on”, I’m there all over again!
    May I say that you and Bro Buxton are delightful people on top of inspiring Saints of God? Thank you for your love.

    Thank you, Sister Catherine. Thank you very much.

    Like

  4. Sis. Buxton, it was so great to see you again and spend those few precious moments with you, Bro. Buxton, and Michael. Wish it could’ve been more, but I’m grateful for what I got. 😀

    Camp Meeting is different every year as far as whose there, whose not, etc. But, one thing I’m so happy about that never changes, and that’s the Spirit of the Lord and His presence. It is always powerful and life-changing. I’m so glad we can count on Jesus to NEVER change.

    Love you guys!

    Likewise, Tena, was it great to visit with you and your family. Every night when I looked to the platform and saw your handsome son playing the bass, I was inspired and thankful. I know you and Lenny are so proud of him.

    Like

  5. Bro. Bill Davis… I was a young cadet for him on his previous trip to CA Camp Meeting (well older in terms of cadets). It was my honor… what an extraordinary man. As a way of “thanks” for the week, I receive, from him, an entire collection of books he’s written. His book about Genesis is fantastic!

    Good morning, Brother Wilder. I’m sure you’ll never forget the opportunity to serve this fine man. I haven’t read his book on Genesis, but am not surprised at your calling it fantastic.

    In my opinion, a couple several things make Brother Davis outstanding: I’ll mention four; 1. He’s very intelligent 2. He is studious and well-prepared for his sermons 3. He has a great personality. 4. He has a powerful anointing.

    Brother Davis and I missed all of you He asked me once about someone…and after we talked a little, he said, “Tell him I missed him.”

    I appreciate your being here. Hope you come often.

    Like

  6. Steven Saiz

    Sis. Buxton,

    Thank you for your kind words….but I do have to state that I will not be the Camp Director for Socal. They have a research team in place that has been scouting out different facilities that is headed by Bro. Jon Cupoli. Debbie and I have been planning to take a year off in 2009 from running anything…..ha! The church here in Torrance is really growing and I want to focus on the great people of Bayside. As for any secrets about Socal Camp……a little bird told me that the Del Mar Fairgrounds is a possible site….shhhhh…..ha. We love you and Bro. Buxton!

    Steve

    I promise to keep the secret. Del Mar would be awesome.

    Like

  7. You have captured the heart of camp meeting with your great posts and pictures. It truly was a wonderful, blessed week. Bro. & Sis. Saiz did a fantastic job (as always).

    Were you and I not blessed to be in such a God-anointed meeting!

    Like

  8. Sis. Buxton;
    I likewise so enjoyed camp meeting. The singing the preaching and just good old time fellowship with our Lord’s people. Many old friends and the making of some new ones. This is what camp meeting is all about.

    Mervi

    No place like family camp!

    Like

  9. Steven Saiz

    Sis. Buxton, great coverage of Camp Meeting. Thank you for attending and being a part of this great meeting. You and Bro. Buxton are dear friends and it was great to see you there!

    IMPORTANT NOTICE TO ALL MY READERS: Pastor Steve Saiz was the coordinator for this excellent camp meeting, and it probably is impossible to calculate the time, energy and money he expended on producing this momentous event. As you come by here, (or go to his site) please leave a note of thanks and appreciation for both Steve and Debbie, two sweet, remarkable people.

    Many of you know a new district has been formed–called the Southern California District. I understand, Brother Saiz, that you will be the coordinator for our first camp there next year. Any hints? Where? When? Who? How?

    Now don’t be reluctant to let us in on early plans. You know any secret is safe here. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

