Faces Around Camp

Children are the best humans on the globe. Take a look at a few I gazed on this past week at the camp in Santa Maria. This three-month-old beauty is named Sabrina (I think. If I’m wrong, someone let me know and I’ll correct it.) Her parents attend Pastor Paul Walker’s church in Desert Hot Springs, CA. Is she not the cutest thing! It is such a blessing to be granted a long life, and one of the benefits is seeing godly young people grow up, face early struggles, but continue to walk with Jesus, marry in the faith, and begin a family of their own. That’s the case with the parents of this child. I don’t even recall their last name, but through the years I’ve seen them in sectional and state functions and when we visited their church, and now they are married and have brought their gorgeous child into the world, and when we are in meetings together, they bring her over so I can know her. I pray for this couple and for other such young families, for I feel deeply the tremendous challenge they face in nurturing and training children in such a world as ours.

I have pictures of Andrew and cotton-top Marc Stevenson cutting apples in our pre-school in Garden Grove. Now both Marc and Andrew are pastors in the San Diego area. You know how impressive and highly intelligent and destined for greatness are Andrew’s children: I’m sure you’re aware, seeing they’re my grandkids and I’ve clipped lots of pictures here and have written a million or so words about them 🙂 Marc’s children are equally beautiful; actually they’re breathtaking. Meet Luke.

He stared me through when I first pointed the camera his way, then impishly hid his face. I waited.

During the Friday morning service, I sat a few rows behind this somber little girl. She was poking around in her things, occasionally taking a bite of cookie, then of a sudden, she struck this pose. I have no idea of her name. I just know she mesmerized me.

At the conclusion of one of the morning services, I was struck when I saw this group of people praying in the altar area. Sometimes preachers ask families to come forward and pray for each other, but that had not at all been the case during this service. It appears that spontaneously these children had gathered about and were praying for their parents.

5 thoughts on “Faces Around Camp

  1. Selena

    Awesome pictures! Just to think in a few years Sabrina will receive the holy ghost and get baptized in Jesus name!! Absolutely NO regrets raising her in church in positive and Godly environment. This was her 1st of many Camp Meetings! Brina’s parents: Jeremiah & Selena Gonzalez

    Selena, thanks for visiting my blog. Sabrina is an absolute doll. I’m glad she has parents who love her and will teach her God’s ways.

    Like

  2. Sis Buxton,
    The little “pea” is indeed Sabrina Gonzalez from Desert Hot Springs. The mother’s family is of Bro Gilbert Buelna. Our friendship goes back 17 years thru the oldest daughter, Vanessa. I was her counselor at Junior Camp and she adopted me :)before becoming Crystal’s friend. Right now she is attending church here, staying with us a while.
    Yes we had one of the best Camp Meeting I have ever been to.
    BIG THANK YOU TO BRO AND SIS SAIZ!!!

    You’re so sweet to help out people when they’re in need.

    Like

  3. PAT, I thought I recognized that couple as being from your church. What precious children.

    KARLA, wish you could have been in camp with us. It’s been too long since I have seen you. We had an outstanding camp…as you can tell from the reports, I’m sure.

    Like

  4. pat keyes

    Sis Buxton, the last picture of the children praying are all from the santa maria church. This is Bro and Sis Masalta. These children are bro masaltas nephews and a little girl that they pick up for sunday school. Isn’t that precious. You made my day. I will tell them to look at your blog. sis keyes

    Like

Leave a Reply

