Faces Around Camp Part 2

In another post, I mentioned the WAY choir, which is composed of young, unmarried people from around the state of California and Nevada, a small group of singers. Their ministry on Thursday night was astounding, and I wanted to share it with you, but knowing there had not been made a professional video, I went to YouTube hoping to find something of theirs I could bring over. I was surprised to find that someone had posted a video of the very song I wanted. It is not professionally filmed, but I want you to see and hear this.

Although there are other groups who do so, of course, Pentecostals may lead the way in demonstrative, exuberant worship. Such worship is biblical; it is healing and refreshing and soul-satisfying. In heaven, there are created beings whose only job is to worship God. On earth, during Jesus’ ministry here, there were those who objected to loud, exuberant worship of God. “If they don’t praise me, the rocks will cry out,” Jesus warned. In our small way, we too worship.

What you will see here is only the ending of a spectacular musical presentation. I don’t even know the name of the song that comprised the first part, but it started with rather modern sounding, little bits of music and morphed magnificently into this.

The entire congregation was profoundly moved by this beautiful hymn of the church. Our ministerial leaders intensely worshipped.

As did the keyboardist and director, Ken Fitzpatrick,  whose spirit was “overcome” by the presence of God. By these few dedicated young people, we were truly ushered into heaven’s throne room.

13 thoughts on “Faces Around Camp Part 2

  1. Kadee Sullivan

    Hi, Sis. Buxton, my name is Kadee Sullivan; I am a member of the WAY Choir. I just wanted to thank you for everything you’ve said about this choir. It means a lot to me personally to hear your comments. We truly have great leadership in our choir. God has truly called us, and we are so blessed that we get to minister in such a way. Thank you again so much for your comments.

    Love,
    Kadee Sullivan (Citrus Heights, Ca)

    Kadee, how sweet of you to take the time to read and comment on my blog.

    I’ve said it to other such young people and certainly include you: I feel good about the future of the church when I observe such worship and dedication among our young people. It truly touches me. Thank you again.

    Hope you comment often on my blog. I’m interested in your opinions.

    Like

  2. We love Bro. Ken! Always sensitive to God’s presence… and one of few keyboardists who can close his eyes and get before God’s throne while putting together the most beautiful chords.

    Yes, he is amazing…such a blessing to all of us.

    Like

  3. DEBBIE and LINDA–

    As both of you know that camp was our last as the original Western District, for we have now formed the SoCal district. So, because of that and other reasons, it was a special one.

    And God didn’t let us down (as though He ever would), but blessed us with an exceptionally great camp.

    Love you both

    Like

  4. Debbie Saiz

    What a great camp we had! Thank you for posting the video of the WAY Choir! What an awesome presence of God was there when they sang! What a great man of God is Bro Fitzpatrick.
    It was great to see you and Bro. Buxton. Steve said that he enjoyed visiting with him on Sat. before camp. We love you both!

    Like

  5. P.S. The “keyboardist” is Ken Fitzpatrick, WAY Choir director. He is one of the most talented people Brian and I have ever worked with and he lives “in the spirit.” He is truly a humble Christian, dedicated man of God.

    Like

  6. Eve, when one encounters such worship and such majestic presence of God, it is possible, at least in part, to understand the moment when, to Moses, God spoke from the bush that was burned, but not consumed: “…put off thy shoes…for the place whereon thou standest is holy ground.”

    Like

  7. Oh, Shirley, this is fantastic. It gave me chills, made me tear up, and carries me to all the places I’ve been where we’ve been able to worship like this as a group of believers. Isn’t it wonderful?

    Like

  8. Jana, thank you for the sacrifices you have made in regards to WAY choir. I too am proud of our young people who have made the decision to follow Jesus, to live separated lives and to dedicate their talent and ability to God and to the church.

    I was so blessed by their singing and their obvious commitment and hard work.

    They’re so humble. I tried to get around and compliment them, and when I spoke with the young director, he speechlessly tucked low his head.

    Like

  9. Thank you for your support and positive review of WAY Choir. Having traveled with the choir since its first year, I can truly say they are a great group of kids. Many times, their practices erupt in spontaneous worship that will become hour/s long prayer meetings. Such songs as the one you posted, testify to their devotion to God. I am so proud of them.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Faces Around Camp Part 2

Leave a Reply

