Preparations for 70

Rebecca said she would be there at noon, but “don’t feel pressured about arriving at a certain time, Mom,” she said when I talked with her this morning. “Come when you want to. If you want to be there as we’re setting up, that’s fine, but you don’t have to,” she reassured me. “Everything is under control.”

So as I’m lounging around in a motel room here in San Diego, my four  children are down at beautiful Balboa Park arranging a birthday party. The party is a picnic style, will be outside, starts at 4:30 and I believe we’re eating around 6:00, but I’m not sure of anything beyond that. The party is a little early, for my birthday is not until the 24th of July, but our schedules caused us to plan the party today, the 17th.

I’m turning 70.

I have absolutely no idea how this happened. How can I possibly be 70? Aren’t 70 year old females little ole ladies? Don’t they wear purple and scrunch over a bit? Huh, be honest, now, aren’t they? And is that I of whom you speak? Impossible, except for my birth certificate which reads July 24, 1938.

Jerry and I arrived here in San Diego yesterday, went to church at Steve’s last night. (He’s our oldest child, and he pastors a thriving church here in the area.) We slept fairly late this morning, had a bit of breakfast here in the hotel, then we’ve spent a few hours doing a little shopping.

Today is Shawnna’s birthday and I hadn’t bought her anything yet, but found her something really neat and I would tell you about it, but she reads here from time to time and I don’t want her reading about her present, but actually she better not be reading, she’d better be down at Balboa arranging my party. 🙂

Anyway I’ve got this nice gift and a great helium balloon to give her at my party…my shared party.

Tomorrow I’ll tell you about the festivities; next week on the 24th I’ll tell you how it feels to be 70, and unless things change drastically in the coming up days, it will be a delightful report.

Still can’t believe it. You know what just occurred to me: I think someone forged my birth certificate!

Cheers!

27 thoughts on “Preparations for 70

  1. renaissanceguy

    Happy Birthday, Shirley!

    Your post has helped me gain some perspective. I’m 44, and I feel my age. But when I read about how you are about to turn 70, I realize that I have so much to look forward to, God willing.

    Like

  2. pat keyes

    Happy Birthday Sis Buxton,
    What a sweet and precious thing for your children to do . Nothing makes a mother happier than being with her children and grandchildren. What a beautiful family. Glad you had such a great 70th. God Bless you sis keyes

    Like

  3. Happy early birthday, Sis. Buxton! Seventy is just a number – nothing else. You are young at heart and mind and that’s what matters. Just take care of your body so it can keep up with your mind. 🙂

    Wish I could be at your party – I could be your photographer. Have a fun one! You deserve the best because you are an awesome lady and I love and respect, oh, and admire you TONS! 😀

    P.S.
    Happy birthday to my awesome sister, Shawnna! Glad you enjoyed the “wonderful, huge, beautiful, crunchy, best cherries in the world ever!” Ha! (I sent her some Rainier cherries as a surprise).

    Like

  4. Happy Birthday Sis. Buxton! You are the youngest 70 y/o that I know.

    I hope your b-day party was great and that I am as spry, active and sharp as you are when I am at your age. (If Jesus tarries that long…:) )

    Happy Birthday to Shawna also! What fun…to be together with family celebrating.

    Love you!

    Like

  5. Farrell Forrest Jr.

    Happy birthday!!!!!!

    It seems like yesterday we were playing ball by that big tree that had beans on it. I really don’t know where the time went.

    Have a wonderfull time at your birthday party and hope to see you soon.

    Love Jr.

    Like

  6. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!
    You are one great lady! No, you can’t be 70! Someone fiddled with things somewhere 🙂
    Thank you for living the life before the world. Thank you for your blogs, books and all you do for God. Blessings to you and many more birthdays!
    Happy Birthday to your daughter-in-law Shawna too!

    Like

  7. HG

    You haven’t heard? 70 is the new 50! And, dahling, you look mahvelous!

    So sorry we couldn’t join the festivities today. I know it was a wonderful time of celebration. Our prayer is that God blesses you with many more healthy happy birthdays.

    If anyone DESERVES a happy birthday, it’s certainly you.

    Love you tons,
    The Garretts – PHIZ

    Like

  8. Sis.Buxton, Have a very Happy Birthday. I can’t believe it either. Time seems to go by faster and faster the older I get… maybe its responsibilities… I’m not sure.

    Thank you for always having an encouraging or thought provoking passage to read on your blogs. You have a wonderful ministry there… as well as your many others. Please keep it up and only take a short break from it to enjoy a very Happy Birthday.
    PS Also Happy Birthday Shawna!

    Like

  9. Happy birthday!!! I want to be like you in 30 years! You’re active and still have fun with your grandchildren. Nothing is more improtant! I know any day spent with family is blessed.

    Like

  10. Jana

    Sis. Buxton,
    I join with everyone else in wishing you a great and fun party, lots of gifts from your kids and close friends, and a wonderful birthday next week! You don’t look like you are 70! Hope I look as good when I reach that age in a little over 30 years.

    Like

  11. HAPPY BIRTHDAY today and always! I know you will enjoy the party tonight. It’s great turning 70, I’m sure. I always look at my birthdays as a blessing. As Keith once told me when I was saying something about turning older…”Well, it’s better than the alternative”. 🙂 I agree! Love you!

    Like

  12. Esther

    Well, Sis Buxton………… 70 will not feel any different for you. I turn 72 in 2 months. I feel about the same as when I turned 60 except for this pesty weird authritis.
    By the way, I hope Shawnna was home to get the flowers and candy I had sent. Otherwise the flowers will be wilted and the candy melted. Oh well………………. I hope you both have a fun party. And, remember, 70 is not old. Now maybe 80 is getting there but……………

    Like

Leave a Reply

