Why I’m Glad I Believe in God–Part 2

Thou hast loved righteousness, and hated iniquity; therefore God, even thy God, hath anointed thee with the oil of gladness above thy fellow.” Hebrews 1:9

 

·        Belief in God helps me understand David’s response when he saw the ark coming—that lowly symbol of The High God. He stripped off his tunic and “danced mightily before the Lord.” 

Although I have never thrown aside a tunic and danced before an ark, I’m glad that action is not a mystery to me, nor foreign to my thinking. I’m glad the very presence of God strikes both a physical and a spiritual response within the depth of my soul.

I’m glad I understand weeping in His presence.

·        I delight in the comprehension that even if I’m a “failure,” I’m still a valuable being.

I think often of the 11th chapter of Hebrews that tells extraordinary accounts of miracles and deliverance. Then—right in the middle of verse 35 –come these stunning words: “…and others were tortured, not accepting deliverance; that they might obtain a better resurrection. And others had trial of cruel mocking and scourging, yea, moreover of bonds and imprisonment;

They were stoned, they were sawn asunder, were tempted, were slain with the sword: they wandered about in sheepskins and goatskins; being destitute, afflicted, tormented: (of whom the world was not worthy) they wandered in deserts, and in mountains, and in dens and caves of the earth.”

Listen, though, to the concluding remarks. Verse 39 “And these all, having obtained a good report through faith…”

I’m glad I believe in God and His righteous judgments; that I understand His mind and Being to exceed human reasoning and value.

·        I’m glad for the practical help I find in the Bible.

Markers are there, warnings and sound advice. Though we are generations removed from their origination, these ancient writings are fresh as frolicking lambs. Their instructions are relevant and, when followed, lead to enduring marriages, stable families and the development of upstanding citizens.

·        The United States of America is commonly referred to as being founded on Judeo/Christian principles.

I’m glad I believe in God, His Word and His principles, and that I have seen them produce the finest country in the world.

·        There is something within the human being that strikes an affinity for mysticsm, elevated feelings, and other-worldy feelings.

 We are attracted to vision, dreams, and “impossible” happenings. Millions of people “shoot-up” with narcotics and inhale hallucinogens in order to feed that craving.

Not so with a Christian, for such a person is enveloped by a heavenly “high” and thus escapes the cravings and chains of alcohol and drug addictions. Serving God and investing deeply into Him satisfies that need. It is at once highly practical and wonderfully mysterious to be a child of God, not easily told, not fully understood. It’s of another world.

·        I love the understanding that God chose me, that I’m now of a royal nation.

I’m glad I believe I’m set apart, love to think that God ordained my birth.

·        I’m glad I believe in God because it has given me the opportunity to see people transformed.

Too many thousands of times to precisely chart, I have watched a man walk to a pulpit, and have seen the holy anointing envelope him to such degree that it was as though another person stood before me.

I’ve seen alcoholics and drug addicts delivered from cruel enslavement by the power of God. If I were a skeptic, I would be blinded to such things.

·        I’m glad I cherish the physical book of God, the Bible. I’m glad for its comfort and familiarity.

Seemingly a mere volume of paper and paste, in truth, dwelling within the pages of The Holy Bible are the everlasting words of life.

·        I’m glad I believe in God so that such discoveries as the Dead Sea Scrolls hold greatest significance for me.

These are exceedingly more than crumbling papers in clay pots. Archeological finds from Biblical lands take on great significance for me. I thrill in the understanding that they far exceed the mere sighting of fallen columns or a look at scattered pottery shards.

·        I’m glad I understand my mission in life is to help spread the word of the only saving gospel—that of Jesus Christ.

I’m glad God called me into His work, glad He called my children, for it is the greatest life in the world. When my children were at home, I often reminded them; “Do you realize the greatest men that walk this earth sit on our couch and eat with you around our table, and often sleep in your bed?” And to another as he was now a pastor himself, and we had spent time talking of scripture and of God, “Do you understand how advantaged you are? You get paid to do this.”

I am an incredibly blessed woman…and I’m glad I believe in God.

There is a reason that every generation looks to an inky star-spangled heaven and hurls aloud the ancient questions: Why am I here? Is there a reason? Is there order? What is the plan?

I’m glad I believe in God and in His Holy Word, for within that belief I find the ultimate answer to life’s greatest questions…that of God, of eternity, and of purpose.

______________________________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

9 thoughts on “Why I’m Glad I Believe in God–Part 2

  1. Oh Sis Buxton, part two is even better than part one. I love this line that you wrote, “I’m glad for the practical help I find in the Bible”.

    Oh so many many times that I have turned to His word to find the answers that I needed and He always came through for me right on time. Never once has He failed me.

    Thank you for another great post. This was a wonderful way to start my morning.
    Love you!

    Like

  2. Esther

    I almost laugh every time I read where someone trys to prove that there is no God. God did not give anyone enough intellence to understand Him or to explain Him as existing or not existing. We will know all about it by and by and not before then.

    Like

  3. YES, I believe God and believe in God. Below is an e-mail sent to me and I think it adds to your post.

    INTERESTING CONVERSATION
    (author unknown)

    An Atheist Professor of Philosophy speaks to his Class on the Problem Science has with GOD, the ALMIGHTY. He asks one of his New Christian Students to stand and . . .

    Professor: You are a Christian, aren’t you, son ?
    Student : Yes, sir.
    Professor : So you Believe in GOD ?
    Student : Absolutely, sir.
    Professor: Is GOD good?
    Student : Sure.
    Professor: Is GOD ALL – POWERFUL?
    Student : Yes.
    Professor: My brother died of cancer even though he prayed to GOD to heal him. Most of us would attempt to help others who are ill. But GOD didn’t. How is this GOD good then? Hmm?

    (Student is silent )

    Professor: You can’t answer, can you? Let’s start again, Young Fella. Is GOD Good?

    Student : Yes.

    Professor: Is Satan good?

    Student : No.

    Professor: Where does Satan come from?

    Student : From . . . GOD . . .

    Professor: That’s right. Tell me son, is there evil in this World?

    Student : Yes.

    Professor : Evil is everywhere, isn’t it ? And GOD did make everything. Correct?

    Student : Yes.

    Professor: So who created evil?

    (Student does not answer)

    Professor : Is there Sickness? Immorality? Hatred? Ugliness? All these terrible things exist in the World, don’t they?

    Student : Yes, sir.

    Professor : So, who created them?

    (Student has no answer )

    Professor: Science says you have 5 Senses you use to Identify and Observe the World around you. Tell me, son . . . Have you ever Seen GOD?

    Student : No, sir.

    Professor: Tell us if you have ever heard your GOD?

    Student : No , sir.

    Professor: Have you ever felt your GOD, tasted your GOD, smelt your GOD? Have you ever had any Sensory Perception of GOD for that matter?

    Student : No, sir. I’m afraid I haven’t.

    Professor: Yet you still believe in HIM?

    Student : Yes.

    Professor: According to Empirical, Testable, Demonstrable Protocol, Science says your GOD doesn’t exist. What do you say to that, son?

    Student : Nothing. I only have my Faith.

    Professor: Yes, Faith. And that is the problem Science has.

    Student : Professor, is there such a thing as Heat?

    Professor: Yes.

    Student : And is there such a thing as Cold?

    Professor : Yes.

    Student : No sir. There isn’t.

    (The Lecture Theatre becomes very quiet with this turn of events)

    Student : Sir, you can have lots of heat, even more heat, superheat, mega heat, white heat, a little heat or no heat… but we don’t have anything called cold. We can hit 458 degrees below zero which is no heat, but we can’t go any further after that. There is no such thing as cold. Cold is only a word we use to describe the absence of heat. We cannot measure cold. Heat is energy. Cold is not the opposite of heat, sir, just the absence of it.

    (There is Pin – Drop Silence in the Lecture Theatre )

    Student : What about darkness, Professor? Is there such a thing as darkness?

    Professor: Yes. What is night if there isn’t darkness?

    Student : You’re wrong again, sir. Darkness is the absence of something. You can have low light, normal light, bright light, flashing light . . . but if you have no light constantly, you have nothing and it’s called darkness, isn’t it? In reality, darkness isn’t. If it is, you would be able to make darkness darker, wouldn’t you?

    Professor: So what is the point you are making, Young Man?

    Student : Sir, my point is your philosophical premise is flawed.

    Professor: Flawed? Can you explain how?

    Student : Sir, you are working on the premise of duality. You argue there is life and then there is death, a good GOD and a bad GOD. You are viewing the concept of GOD as something finite, something we can measure. Sir, Science can’t even explain a thought. It uses Electricity and Magnetism, but has never seen, much less fully understood either one. To view death as the opposite of life is to be ignorant of the fact that
    death cannot exist as a substantive thing. Death is not the opposite of life: just the absence of it.
    Now tell me, Professor, do you teach your students that they evolved from a monkey?

    Professor: If you are referring to the Natural Evolutionary Process, Yes, of course, I do.

    Student : Have you ever observed Evolution with your own eyes, sir?

    (The Professor shakes his head with a smile, beginning to realize where the argument is going )

    Student : Since no one has ever observed the Process of Evolution at work and cannot even prove that this process is an on – going endeavor, are you not teaching your opinion, sir? Are you not a Scientist but a Preacher?

    (The Class is in Uproar )

    Student : Is there anyone in the class who has ever seen the Professor’s brain?

    ( The Class breaks out into laughter )

    Student : Is there anyone here who has ever heard the Professor’s brain, felt it, touched or smelt it? . . . No one appears to have done so. So, according to the Established Rules of Empirical, Stable, Demonstrable Protocol, Science says that you have no brain, sir. With all due respect, sir, how do we then trust your lectures, sir?

    (The Room is Silent. The Professor stares at the Student, his face unfathomable.)

    Professor: I guess you’ll have to take them on Faith, son.

    Student : That is it sir . . .

    The Link between Man & GOD is FAITH.

    That is all that keeps things moving & alive.

    It turned out later that the student is Albert Einstein.

    Like

  4. Shirley, so much of what you’ve written resonates with me. I was discussing loss of faith with a friend recently, and what stuck out in my mind was that I know that we all have this tendency toward, or need for, the transcendental, the transpersonal, the sublime, the mysterious, just as you said. By whatever name we call it, we still know about these mysteries somewhere in us. And that’s just one reason why it’s a relief to “walk by faith and not by sight” only.

    Eve, it is such a shame that multitudes of people serve God in a wooden, cardboard fashion. Somehow they have missed the excitement, the joy, the mystery of the dedicated life. I continue to be astonished that I am so privileged as to be connected with something as elevated and superior as God and His kingdom.

    Think about it! At this very moment, God is aware of you and me…I mean really aware, knows our thoughts, our ambitions, disappointments, our graspings–holdings and losings–

    I wish I had a gigantic funnel with a magic painless augur and I could go around the world, walk up to people in the mall, or in their yards, and pour in the wonder of Jesus Christ.

    Do you know this song?

    Oh, sweet wonder.
    Oh, sweet wonder.
    Jesus, the son of God.
    Have you ever seen Him and shared in His glory?
    Jesus, the son of God.

    It’s a very old song, with a hauntingly beautiful melody.

    Be well–

    Like

  5. dean

    AMEN AND AMEN. And I am glad you have blessed so many with your word. Thank You!!

    It’s an honor to even be able to speak of God and His greatness.

    Like

  6. Thank you! Sis. Buxton for being the Christian that you are.
    By taking not just the time to type these entries, but the tremendous amount of thought you have displayed in these two posts.

    Mervi

    I appreciate these comments so much. It means much to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

