Why I’m Glad I Believe in God

Given its title, I suspect the thrust of this post could be misconstrued, and readers might conclude this to be an apologetic for belief in a Supreme Being. That would be a timely and worthy subject, but is not the one for this piece today. Lengthy shelves that stretch into expansive rooms have long been filled with volumes so written, coupled with writings of repudiation in equal number.

My piece today—my 1000th post here—may be rightly considered a corollary to that subject, but is conclusive and not open to valid rejection for it is an essay that goes to the feelings of my heart and of my soul. Though I am not a student of psychology, it seems logical to conclude that there could be no debate of the accuracy of this piece, for my discussion is not centered on the logic of my feelings, but merely is a reporting of them. Of course, one may conclude my feelings to be misplaced, and argue that my mind (or my heart) has led me to illogical conclusions, but none should be able to make the case that my feelings are not mine.

With joyous beat, I have passed the scalding intersection of the great question– Is there a God?  I’m not here to proof text but to tell you why I’m glad I believe in God and in His word. Multiplied reasons occupy my brain, my heart, and my soul: I’ve selected a few for this discussion.

·        It is logical to believe in God.

I prefer to hold opinions that stand up to reason. While I respect the intellect of many atheists, none can explain beginning, so no matter which brand of the evolutionary theory we’re hearing, the hard bump of beginning is always there. I don’t understand beginning either, and my finite mind cannot wrap around eternity which has no beginning and no ending. I can’t grasp that. That’s why logic screams: It’s God, the supernatural Creator, the One who extends beyond explanation or understanding, and who takes my hand when I’m walking these labyrinths, and who says, “Believe, believe in Me, for I am supernatural; I have no beginning and no ending.” My belief is logical.

·        Believing gives me hope of Heaven.

It matters not whether I am right, for I am discussing the benefits and joy of the belief. God’s word promises me a better life than this; one where there is no pain, no sorrow, confusion, sickness, or casting about in despair. No death. This belief in a future Heaven gives me comfort in this, my present.

·        Belief in God connects me with people who live exceptional moral lives.

My life is centered on God and His people. Because of the nature of my life’s work, my years have set me in close relationships with people of superior moral values.

I’m not at all an elitist, though, and through Jerry’s ministry and my own contributions to the church, we have cheerfully worked with many classes of people—from those who are homeless, to the very wealthy—from those who admit to being deep in sin, to others who, like me, are striving to be righteous. But my overarching, deep relationships are those with persons of high moral values.

·        The Bible is the best-selling book in the world.

It’s gratifying that millions of other people agree with me about the value in God’s immutable word.

·        It is intriguing to see Biblical prophesies fulfilled in the daily newspaper.

 

·        Believing the Bible causes me to adhere to the plan of salvation for this dispensation.

I’m glad I know to repent, to be baptized in Jesus’ name and to be filled with the Holy Ghost. If I did not believe in God and His holy word, I would not possess this amazing gift.

·        I can howl into the night with pain and believe I am being heard.

It would be ghastly to think my screams go unnoted, and that they merely  ricochet through eons of hopeless emptiness.

·        Although God is righteous, I’m glad I understand Him to be patient.

To Judas, “Here, dip with me.”

·        Believing in God reveals that I am more than a body.

My housing is dissolving, growing old, breaking apart. I’m glad I understand that I am an ever-living, never dying soul.

·        It brings me untold joy to believe the stories in the Bible are true.

I’m glad Daniel really slept with lions, Noah actually built that monstrous boat, and that all those animals marched in. I’m glad I believe Jesus made a mud-ball and stuck it in the socket of a blind man, who could then see!…and that He raised up dead people, and took a picnic lunch from that little boy and then fed thousands of people.

It makes me happy to believe Peter got out of his boat and walked on water and Jonah got swallowed up by a fish, and then, incredibly, grew angry at the people to whom he took the message of repentance.

I’m glad I believe those stories to be true and that I’ve whispered them in the ears of my babies, and have told my sons, “Be brave as those Hebrews who were pitched into flames,” and to my daughter, “Be as Esther, Rebecca. Say with her as you do the will of God, ‘If I perish, I perish.’”

I’m finding this much too long for one post. Will write part 2 for tomorrow

_________________________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

12 thoughts on “Why I’m Glad I Believe in God

  1. renaissanceguy

    The amazing thing to me in reading such a post is that I can identify with everything you wrote, line by line. I don’t agree with you because somebody told me, but because I have found, for myself, the very same things that you have found.

    Not that you need it, but I want to confirm your beliefs by citing my own, just as you confirm my beliefs by citing yours. I think it is so important that we Christians do that for each other.

    Like

  2. Sis Buxton, So true! It does take faith to fully believe in God. His word also says; “O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him.” Psalms 34:8 Until one really knows him and falls in love with him they will never know the fullness of what you are talking about and oh what a loss it is for them. For your words ring so loud and so true.

    Beautiful, Beautiful Post!

    Like

  3. Thank you for your post…. It is just ALL ABOUT FAITH!

    Lori, we both know it is impossible to please God without faith. While I enjoy pleasing other people, my ultimate goal is to please God.

    See you in Santa Maria. 🙂

    Like

  4. Karen, Esther, Tracie, and Lynda–

    Thanks for being here and for your comments.

    Bad, I do appreciate your reading and your comments here.

    Of course you will anticipate my disagreement with your conclusion that my statement “It is logical to believe in God,” is a non-sequitur.

    While I am a true believer in God and His existence I admit to a great lack as far as being able to explain Him. I acknowledge clumsy writing when I take on such a task, and wish I were more skilled.

    But I do want to defend my statement as being logical. No non-believer can explain “beginning.” Believers point to the Bible which says, “In the beginning, God…” So when I am given these two choices, I find it logical to accept the one which provides an answer. I believe it more logical to acknowledge a creator of this earth, than to believe somehow such a magnificent, orderly place sprang from nothing.

    How, though, you say did He do that, and when I can’t answer that except to point to His supernatural ways, it probably is not satisfactory to those who do not believe.

    I certainly cannot get my mind around it all–I readily admit that, and I do believe it takes faith to fully believe in God.

    Do you consider it a non-sequitur to conclude that this earth came into existence with no creator?

    Like

  5. I don’t have any real dispute with any of your other subjective reasons for enjoying believing in God: to each their own. some like soccer, some football. It’s all good. But I do question the first one:

    “It is logical to believe in God.”

    Your point here seems like a non-sequitur to me. You note, essentially, that we don’t know everything, and amongst those things are far distant events and causes. Fair enough. But how does a lack of knowledge then legitamize jumping to any particular conclusion?

    That’s not, in fact, logical: it doesn’t proceed from any premise to a conclusion.

    Worse, God, if defined as simply inexplicable and potentially capable of anything, is the ultimate in non-explanation in any case. How was X done? Saying that it was done by God doesn’t explain how. It just gives a name and a alleged responsibility to a continued lack of knowledge about how.

    Like

  6. Esther

    Sis Buxton, I can “ditto” all your comments and add a lot more. When I was healed instantly years ago, after calling on the name of Jesus. When, in a very bad place, and I actually saw a demon, Jesus name was called on again and that thing had to flee. When God came to my rescue many times and blessed my soul many times. Also the hope of seeing my son, mother, father and son-in-law is just awesome …………etc. etc. no room to tell all why I believe in God. I’m sure you are finding that true with your posting. Love you………

    Like

  7. Sis. Buxton:

    All I can say is HAULLIA and write on!!!

    Your choice of words may be a little different from mine. Yet, but both the spirit and the intent is so close.

    ONE more great post for your 1,000th, keep up the great work.

    Mervi

    Ps;
    I would like your permission to down load, hard copy and file.

    Of course. I’m honored.

    Like

Leave a Reply

