Rebecca, Nathaniel and Down’s Syndrome Development

undefined
A test that can detect Down’s syndrome from the blood of pregnant women, which would be the first reliable noninvasive prenatal test for the chromosomal disorder, has raised the prospect of routine screening for the condition for every expectant mother who wants it.

The advance, however, will also create ethical dilemmas for many couples following positive tests. There are fears that the simpler procedure and more extensive screening could lead to more abortions.

Fox News

Because of various concerns, my daughter, Rebecca’s, pregnancy was categorized as high risk. She had suffered through fertility tests, treatments and multiple disappointments, now was pregnant again, and I sat with her for one more test. For although she was indeed pregnant, a blood test had returned positive, indicating that her baby had a neural tube defect, including the possibility of Down’s syndrome. That particular test though often showed false positives, and an amniocentesis would now be necessary.
I remember well our discussion, for none of us would consider the abortion of Rebecca and Greg’s baby. Why then would she want to proceed with the amniocentesis?
“But are you sure you want to test for Down’s syndrome, Rebecca? Why?”
“I’m sure, Mom. I want to be prepared for what is ahead of me. I would just feel better knowing,” she told me, and I understood that.
We had cried together when she received the negative report, and I assured her of my love for her baby no matter its condition, and she nodded, and yes, she knew, but, “Mom, I really don’t want my baby to be a Down’s syndrome baby.”
“I know, Bek, I know.”
Well, the amniocentesis relieved our minds as it showed no abnormalities, and a few months later was born this perfect little boy. Wish you could see Nathaniel now. He’s a big, burly 11-year-old, bright and talented…and always hungry. 🙂
So when I read this article today, I thought of Nathaniel, and I was reminded again how wrong abortion is, how deceptive are its proponents and with what hideous darkness it stains our world.
How strange it is that whether or not to kill one’s baby could ever be considered a moral dilemma.
___________________________________________________________________________________________________
My devotional blog is here.

8 thoughts on “Rebecca, Nathaniel and Down’s Syndrome Development

  1. Pingback: prenatal development

  2. Pingback: women devotional

  3. Pingback: false negative pregnancy test

  4. I, like Reecca, had struggled with infertility, loss, and then complicated pregnancy. I was 40 years old when I became pregnant with Bryn. Preliminary testing showed she had a neural tube defect. When my doctor suggested amniocentesis, I told him it wouldn’t matter because I had already made a decision not to abort. However, he persuaded me with this reason – most downs babies suffer with other maladies and often require surgery immediately after birth. Bakersfield did not have a good neonatal unit and my doctor told me if I tested positive, he would arrange for the birth to be at UCLA so that I would be in the same hospital as the baby in case of an emergency. That made sense and I submitted to the test. It was the Friday before Father’s Day 2001, I received a phone call telling me everything was alright and that the baby was a girl. The tears turned on like a faucet. Four weeks after I turned 41, Bryn-Anika entered the world and our lives changed forever.

    Like

  5. My neice and nephew were supposed to be downs syndrome. They were born healthy. I had heard that when this test gives a positive reponse it is false up to 50 percent of the time.

    Doesn’t seem like it is very effective if that is true.

    Like

  6. This post pulled at the mother’s heart within… and I can understand the need to know. But I agree that some people will use this new technology to justify decisions… decisions they have yet to make. I have commented on some of your other posts about how research after research indicates how people modify their beliefs to match their behaviors…. rather than their behaviors to match their beliefs.

    I think some people will choose to decide how they feel until AFTER they take that test. They will somehow justify abortion and then modify their values to ease the guilt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

