The Scoop on Poop

Uh, I don’t want to be too forward, but I just know some of you are thinking to give me a baby shower, and I want to let you know I won’t need any diapers. I hadn’t given any thought to the diaper issue for my baby robins, but someone else has brought up the subject.

Baby robins remain in their nest for about 13 days. Just about every time the nestlings gulp down some food, they poop. Let’s see–that’s 13 days x 4 babies x 356 insects and worms on average each day–that’s a LOT of poop! How on earth do robins keep their nest clean?

Baby robins can’t wear diapers of any kind, but they do put their poop in a strong “bag” so the parents can carry it away. This bag is made of thick, strong mucus that a parent robin can pick up in its sharp beak and carry without puncturing, and is called a “fecal sac.” Fecal sacs are just like disposable diapers for birds!

The rest of this very interesting article is here.

PS I think my blog has morphed to such degree that it is now “for the birds.”

8 thoughts on “The Scoop on Poop

  1. Pingback: baby shower food

  2. dean

    Yes, Indeed! My day is now complete, poop sacs have made this day one to remember! Peeeeace!

    I do hate to brag, but there are a few things we know in California, that Texans have not yet learned. Stay tuned for other bits of information without which no progressive family is complete.

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Scoop on Poop

Leave a Reply

