Bodacious Potato

Green Leaf, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

“What? …look at that.”

I had been in Crestline for almost two weeks, and, when back in Lake Havasu, I walked into the motor home, there lounging all over the printer was this luxurious green plant.

Remember it? Started out this way. 5th of May.

By the 10th of May, it looked like this.
…and its rooted underside was so.
And when I walked into the motorhome last Friday, I saw this veritable jungle. It is so big and has such a spread, that afraid it would completely take over the empty space in our motor home, we chose to move it outside on a table under our awning.
Jerry told me where in the shed was his tape measure, and helped me measure this beauty. It extends more than 66 inches; a spectacular specimen.
Isn’t that amazing? Is not life wonderful. In these my now advancing years, I’ve yet to lose the wonder. I remain in awe as I think of the simple ebb and flow of our world. Seedlings and marshbanks, tubers and moonlight. Sudden rain and languid summer days. What a world. What a life. Glad I’m here! Glad you’re here!
Glad my cupboard sweet potato is thrust through with such life that pushing aside every impediment, every encumbrance, every disability, every excuse, he has grown into a village green. Never can tell; if I look out there tonight, I may see miniature elephants and tigers roaming about, grazing under that lush green canopy. 🙂 Let you know if I see anything.
______________________________________________________________________________________________
My devotional blog is here.

4 thoughts on “Bodacious Potato

  1. Your potato plant is a page out of my past. Looks just like the ones my grandmother used to do. Also, it made me think of the simple things. That if we will just take time to see the potential in things that seem of little value and nurture them, they have the potential to bring us happiness.

    Karen, your thoughts are such good ones, pointing up that we really don’t need everything to be “cutting edge” to find happiness. Simple is good.

    Like

  2. That is so neat! What a tret to see that happen. It is an amazing world!

    Hello, Katrina. Yes, it’s an amazing world…and God did it all…Then he created Adam and Eve and gave them dominion over the earth. What a beautiful God we serve.

    Like

  3. From a mustard seed that blooms into a great tree with birds using it to hide and raise their young.

    The main reason that I enjoy grading so much is the wonder of growth. We were at Three Rivers camping last week one of our neighbors was from Maryland. We sat and talked much about the abound variety of ag related items grown in the San Joaquin valley.

    I made the comment, “you can dig a hole with the heel of your shoe, put a seed in that hole and it will grow.” I so enjoy watching things grow, plants for flowers, plants for just color, trees, bushes and the most important thing I so enjoy watching grow are humans.

    Dig your heel in, get a little water and some Son shine and grow, my friend grow.

    Mervi

    As far as I’m concerned, this is one of the most beautiful times of the year in the San Joaquin Valley.

    Like

Leave a Reply

