Mothers’ Day Revisited

My Beautiful Mother, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

On Wednesday afternoon while still in Crestline, as I chanced to look beside the front door, I saw this magnificent floral arrangement. When I took it inside, there was a lengthy note from the florist apologizing for the flowers being so late.

Steve and Dearrah had sent them for Mothers’ Day. Late, I would say so…like a couple of weeks. I promptly called to thank my children, got a recording, then later Dearrah called back. Seems she had been going round and round with the florist…had not heard from her mother or me right after Mothers’ Day, so she finally checked with the florist, and no, they hadn’t sent the flowers although the charge had already appeared on their credit card bill. It’s a long story I won’t go into, but it had taken two weeks to finally get the flowers to me.

But look how beautiful they are. (I’m in Lake Havasu now, and Jerry and I packed them carefully for the trip here today. They traveled well, and are as gorgeous here in our motor home as they were in our home in Crestline.)

When Rebecca came up to the house at the beginning of Grandkids Week, she had also brought me a Mothers’ Day gift. One of the gifts is this bar of handmade soap. I placed it in a cup in the kitchen and it smells so good and has such a smooth texture that I love to wash my hands with it. Besides that it’s so pretty when I look at it.

During the time around Mothers’ Day (the real one) when some of my friends wrote of their mothers and posted pictures of them, I wished I had access to one of my own mother, but I was in Lake Havasu and our family pictures are in Crestline. When I was home, though, the past couple of weeks, I made copies of old pictures for one of my cousins who is working on our family tree. Since Mothers’ Day had popped up again and I knew I would be writing this piece, I’ve brought to you a picture of my mother.

My mom was a quiet, unassuming, very intelligent woman. When she was a child she did the 2nd and 3rd grades in the same year, and also the 7th and 8th in one year. She was a godly person and a pastor’s wife for as long as I can remember. A behind the scenes person, I don’t recall her ever teaching or actually doing anything on the platform of the church. She was a great cook, and I recall my parents frequently keeping ministers in our home.-

I’m the eldest of three children, and when I was 12 our mother died. She was pregnant ( I suspect with an unplanned pregnancy) and had a difficult delivery. A few hours after the baby was born–a darling little boy named Terry–she died with a pulmonary embolism.

It was a frigid February night in Springfield, Mo. when my Aunt Bertie rousted us out of bed and took us to St. John’s. But my mom had died before we could get there, and on the cold, wide steps of that hospital in the pit of night, my dad said to his three huddling children, “Your mother is not here anymore, Kids. She has gone to be with Jesus.” Donna stamped her feet, and we all cried.

Baby Terry was still living and the hospital personnel took us into the nursery and let us look at him. He died a few hours later.

It’s an awful thing for a child to lose a mother, but I believe I adjusted okay, and a year later my dad remarried a wonderful woman who was good to my siblings and me. But I feel a hole inside when I think of my mother.

I believe I missed her most when Steve, my eldest, was born and I was now a mother, too. I held that fine little boy, and wished desperately to show him to my mother.

________________________________________________________________________________________________

My devotional is here.

11 thoughts on “Mothers’ Day Revisited

  1. Esther

    Sis. Buxton. My Mom and Dad lived to old age but not old enough for me. Mom was 79. Had heart and cancer problems. She still had all her mind in tact. Had a great sense of humor. My dad was 88. Had alzhimers for several years. I miss my Dad but my Mom and I were very close and I miss her the most. She was a special lady. And, she was also very beautiful. Love you……….

    Without a doubt, there is something special about a daughter’s relationship with her mother.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing the story about your beautiful mother, it made me weep. Love you!

    Oh, Vonnie, you’re sweet. Don’t be sad, though, for I’m really not. I don’t think too often about the loss of my mother–only occasionally.

    I look at it this way; since my mother was a godly person who loved God and who served Him, and since I’m trying to emulate her, there will come a day when we are reunited…and we will have eternity together. Doesn’t get any better than that! That picture is much better than having been born to an ungodly mother who lived to be 100. No comparison.

    Love you back.

    Like

  3. Your mother was beautiful. You can see the JOY of life and loving in her eyes and expression.

    I’m very familiar with St John’s in Springfield… my Dad had is quadruple bypass there in 93 and my mother also had her surgery there. It’s a beautiful hospital and everyone has been so kind and considerate. We were there as recently as July of 2005 when he had a mild heart attack. My parents will be 83 this coming July and I moved them in with us this April. It’s a BIG change for them and my mom has adjusted quickly, but my Dad is having a difficult time. It was a necessary move as my Dad is rapidly losing his eyesight and can no longer drive or see to read. I didn’t mean for this to be so long… got carried away when I read “St. John’s”. 🙂

    Not too long at all. Good to hear from you. I spent most of my childhood in Springfield, and still consider it a beautiful place.

    What a blessing to have your elderly parents still with you.

    My mom was actually born in Tennessee and my parents met in Memphis.

    Like

  4. This was a touching post. I am truly sorry for your loss. You do indeed resemble your mother, and I’m sure her godly influence lives on in you and her grandchildren. I too received a late Mother’s Day bouquet. One of my son’s friends, who is like a son to me, had sent me a bouquet that arrived on Mother’s Day. For some reason, the florist shop thought it never made it to my house, even though I had signed for it. Two days later, I received another one that was even better than the first! It included a teddy bear and some yummy chocolates!

    Well, Karen. Nothing like two bouquets and one with chocolates yet. Yum!

    Like

  5. Esther

    Beautiful post. Beautiful mother. You took after her Sis. Buxton. I will get to be with my Mom and Dad again some day. Also, my son Todd and son-in-law Mike. I love being here on earth because of my wonderful daughters, son-in-laws and grandchildren. But, I am also anxious to see my loved ones who are no longer here and especially, Jesus. What a day that will be !!!

    Thank you, Esther. Did your parents die when you were young? My dad lived to be 82, so that was a real blessing.

    Like

  6. Shirley, I think we’re the ones who need the filter. I think they’re a part of the “great cloud of witnesses” and aren’t tied to laws of the physical universe. I think we “see darkly” and God has allowed them to understand. I think heaven will be everything we imagine and things we can even think of. Remember “I’ve got a home in Glory Land that outshines the sun”?

    Aren’t those old songs wonderful. (Perhaps that thought is a reflection of my advancing years, but I like to think it is also because the old hymns were indeed outstanding.)

    Yes, we see only darkly, and probably the finest and most elegant and most desirable things we can think of will pale in comparison to what Jesus has prepared for us.

    Most of the time I’m really happy on this earth. Other days I say, “Come quickly, Lord Jesus.”

    Like

  7. Oh my heart aches at the thought of losing a parent at such a young age. My mom’s folks were both gone by the time she was my age and I don’t know what I’d do if both my parents were gone. I love them so dearly and talk to them both each and every day,

    I too can see the resemblance between you and your mom. She was indeed a beautiful woman.

    Funny that both of our posts today, yours and mine, are about parents and kids. 🙂

    Jayleigh, let me commend you on talking to your parents every day. What a gift you are giving them…and giving yourself.

    I’ve been to your site…and I’m crying. You seem to do that to me…but I love you anyway. 🙂

    Like

  8. I can definitely see a resemblance between you and your mother. How wonderful it is that you have the hope of being reunited with her when this life is over. I’m sure it will make heaven all the more sweeter for you.

    Oh, yes! A happy day is coming for all of us.

    Like

  9. Shirley, Your mother was a beautiful woman. I’m sure she smiles down form heaven on you, knowing you’ve become the kind of woman she wanted you to.

    Thank you, Helen.

    I’ve often wondered how Heaven “works.” Do our righteous loved ones actually see us here on earth? If they do, such observations would have to be filtered so that they don’t observe sorrow and pain. Remember the song, “We’ll understand it better by and by?” Quite true. The main thing is I just want to be sure I get there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

