Prayer is Needed

…so, within the hour, Jerry and I are on our way to Crestline. Coming in tonight are Andrew, Shawnna, and their five youngins’ who range from 13 to just over a year old. We’re babysitting while Andrew and Shawnna go to St. Louis where they have been invited to participate in a Home Missions Conference.

Tomorrow after Nathaniel is out of school, Rebecca is coming up to join all of us for a turkey dinner (had one left over in the freezer since Thanksgiving.) Depending on what his teacher says on Monday, Nathaniel may also spend the rest of the week with his cousins and his Granny and Pappy. Rebecca will be in and out…

Andrew and Shawnna will leave in the evening sometime–flying out of San Diego at 6:00 on Tuesday morning.

Pray for Jerry! Pray for me!

We’re planning on a delightful time, got the bicycles up and running, the portable basketball hoop set up, lots of food laid in; plans to make ice cream, walks in the woods, a trip to the “dump,” maybe to the lake, and to the Oaktrunk.

Talk later……..prayer, remember, I need prayer. 🙂

________________________________________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

12 thoughts on “Prayer is Needed

  1. That’s why it’s called the restroom… One little one called the restingroom !!!
    I know you’ll be exhausted in the end, but thrilled with the memories and pictures.

    Like

  2. P.S. I must add, there is no guarantee the rest of the house would still be standing when you returned from your escape, but that is the chance you take for five minutes of solitude. 🙂

    Like

  3. Shirley, thinking and praying for you, hope all goes great! Thank you for your postings.
    If you get time, take a look at my thoughts on John McCain and especially my post on Keith Olbermann from last week.

    Like

  4. Your camera is sure gonna be busy. 🙂
    Lookin’ forward to the photos and posts.
    I’m prayin’, but you guys will be fine.
    Have a blast!
    Love you!

    Like

  5. This reminds me of when Mervi and I first married. When I said, “I do,” I became a wife, mother , mother-in-law and grandma to 5 grandbabies under the age of 5. We we’re married the first week of November and had all of them with us over the weekend of Thanksgiving.
    When the van’s turned the corner as they were leaving, Mervi’ said, ” Don’t those tail lights look beautiful?” I wanted to agree because I was exhausted, but I was already looking forward to seeing them again. I love being GRANDMA.

    Like

  6. HG

    Yeah!! Sounds like fun. If 6 isn’t enough, I can provide 2 more…

    (At what point do you have to acquire a day-care license?)

    Amongst many other wonderful character traits, you & Bro. Buxton are INCREDIBLE grandparents.

    If you have a chance – enjoy your time in the cool, beautiful mountains!

    Love ya,
    HG

    Like

  7. Esther

    Hey, Sis. Buxton, I’m older than you and if I can watch Jennifer’s 5 kids, you can surely watch Shawna’s five. But, I am jealous. Wish I could be there to help you. They are great kids. Jennifer’s are too. We are very blessed. You’ll have a lot of fun. Just watch that Cole ! He’s inventive. Ha! And, he’ll beat you at checkers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

