The Surprising Progression of a Day

Sprouting Sweet Potato, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

They’re better for you than white ones, you know, so I reached in a cupboard in my motor home where I knew I had one more I could bake for Jerry and me to eat for dinner. As I grasped the long tuber, my hand grazed across something lacy, and when I looked, I saw our dinner had taken on a farming specter.

Perhaps it would have been okay to eat had I carefully trimmed the potato, but when I saw those sprouts, I recalled having sweet potato plants in our home when I was a child. From its place on the outside table, I brought this green pot, filled it with water, and am hoping for the best. I can’t remember exactly how to do this–seems we inserted toothpicks to suspend the potato over the water. Not sure.

Then it was off to Crestline again, and when we were approaching Victorville and the Cajon Pass, we saw this heavy appearing cloud of fog lying in the valley ahead of us. Wisps of fog began blowing around us, and within a ten-minute period, the temperature dropped 28 degrees–from 78 to 50. It was uncanny.

The fog stayed with us as we turned onto the mountain road to take us to Crestline, and as we passed trees that had turned now into ghosty beings.

Sometimes the fog would clear, then close in again. It was clear as we passed this station, but the sight was so ugly, I turned my head.
I had brought a few groceries, and as I opened the cupboard to place a couple of onions in the onion container, I was greeted with this sight. A forgotten bulb startled me, but he is so pretty, I took him out, posed him and snapped his picture.

8 thoughts on “The Surprising Progression of a Day

  1. Pingback: Bodacious Potato « Shirley Buxton

  2. Yes, I do – a lot – too much, I think. 🙂 I’m trying to get better at my photographing, though so I don’t have to crop too much. I read somewhere that it’s more artistic to take photos with the intent to not crop. It’s fun to have that in mind when photographing. It’s a fun challenge.

    I think I crop more when people or objects are in the photo than I do when I photograph landscape.

    Like

  3. Hello Sis Buxton,

    About your sweet potato, place roughly 1/3 of it in the water (that’s where the toothpicks come in). Looking a your picture, it’s the right side of it (pointy), the growths are already going upward it seems. Glad I could help you.
    Crystal did one a while back and it was slow to start – you are ahead!
    Yes, pictures later – thank you.

    Like

  4. AP

    I wish I knew you were there, Caleb and I went to the lake this afternoon and I would have come to see you:(

    😦 Leaving today.

    Like

  5. I was enjoying your lovely pics until I saw that UGLY picture. I can see why you turned your head. I scrolled past it quickly.

    Ugg. I’m for drilling, exploration and nuclear power. I’m also for cutting back when we can, and utilizing smaller cars (even though we’re still driving a Jeep.)

    Like

  6. The weather has been quite different indeed. Down to 53° here in Orange. Your pictures are great. Love that onion – nature is spectacular to me. Your sweet potato should have toothpicks to hold it up above a large jar (unless you have one that is large but with an opening small enough like your green one). The roots will get to look like a huge ball of twine. The more space, the bigger it will get and your plant will thrive, even bloom! Classic classroom project – love it!
    P.S. Nice looking vintage green pot.

    Catherine, help me out here. Look closely at the picture and you will see how far up the potato it is getting wet. Is that okay? I don’t have it suspended, except by the sides of the pot. (Thanks for noticing how pretty that green container is.)

    I want my plant to flourish, and I’m open to any tips.

    Like

  7. Loved taking the trip home with you. And your pictures were great. When I saw the sweet tater with its sprouts, it took me back . As a child, my grandmother would purposely place one in water to make up a plant.

    Hi, Karen. It was common a few years back to grow such a houseplant. I think when we didn’t have much extra money, we utilized what was available–and actually it is also beautiful. If my plant thrives, I will take more pictures and let everybody have a good look.

    Like

Leave a Reply

