A Holiday in Visalia

Terrace at Vintage Press, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

More than once I have mentioned this elegant eating place. Vintage Press is its name and it sets in downtown Visalia, Ca. and it may be my favorite restaurant in the whole world–well, my “whole world” is rather limited, but you get the drift, I expect. It is a delightful place, beautiful, charming, the food elegantly served, moderately priced (for such a place), and dishes of such sublime and exquisite taste I always uhmm and yumm over every bite.

Yesterday, Jerry and I spent a day that is unusual for us–we did nothing. We lounged around in our room at the Lampliter Inn, ate “breakfast” out of the hospitality basket the church in Goshen had supplied for us, read books, talked, surfed the net, wrote, studied a little bit, and around noon, I think it was, I slipped from my robe and dressed for the day. On Friday evening we had attended the 50th wedding anniversary for the Cantrell’s, this morning Jerry is preaching at their church in Goshen, so we had a free Saturday in between.

The Vintage Press for lunch, we had decided. We arrived at the splendid place a bit after 1:00 and asked for garden seating. Only two other parties were there, a soft breeze wafted across the terrace, little blossoms drifted from the trees onto our shoulders, and the food (I told you) was sublime. Jerry chose blackened snapper; I had salmon dressed with a luscious sauce, and laid over a mound of buttery mashed potatoes. I don’t know where the term it was to die for originated, but if any food deserves that appellation, it was my meal yesterday…except for the coffee, which was awful, and certainly at $3.00 a cup, and to be presented at such a place should have been much better. 😦

I’ve got to hurry for we’re leaving for church in a minute, but I want to tell you about carrots. Carrots? Yes, carrots. The first time I ate at the Vintage Press, I was served these carrots, and they were so delicious I asked about them, then went home and tried to duplicate the dish. It was awful, and I had the biggest mess cooking carrots and trying to puree them in my blender…and they just didn’t taste the same. Yesterday, alongside my luscious salmon, and perfectly grilled asparagus spears was a tiny mound of orange delight–pureed carrots from the Vintage Press.

It was so tasty, yesterday as I yummed my way through them, I decided to try again to capture the taste in this dish. Guess what! A few minutes ago as I was creating a link for the Vintage Press, I found they had posted the recipe. Here it is…you lucky people.

CARROT PUREE

1 pound carrots, peeled and sliced
4 tablespoons sweet butter
Salt and freshly ground white pepper
Freshly grated nutmeg
1/4 whipping cream

Melt the butter in a saucepan and slowly cook the carrots, uncovered, until they are soft. Puree in a food processor or blender until smooth. Add the whipping cream and season well with the salt and white pepper. Grate just a little fresh nutmeg into the carrot puree, stir well and serve.

Gotta go. Talk more later. Have a blessed Sunday.

____________________________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

4 thoughts on “A Holiday in Visalia

  1. Pingback: A Walk in Visalia « Shirley Buxton

  2. thewritechoice

    It sounds like baby food, but it has to be good if it has whipping cream in it. Maybe I’ll try it some time. The Vintage Press looks like a relaxing place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

