Mysteries of the Day

Wings Over the West Coast, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

Flying from Seattle to Ontario, Ca. on Monday, far beneath me, I spotted these designs. I tried to get Jerry to identify them for me, but from he sat, he could not see them. Does anyone have an idea what they are? They look to be gigantic pie charts.

On Tuesday, here in Crestline, as I sat in a comfy chair, looking out my dining room window, I saw these large birds. At first only one flew, then later I saw both of these together. I’m trying to think they are eagles, but I don’t know much about birds, and despite checking out a field guide this morning, I cannot identify them. Can anyone help me with this?
It’s a day for mysteries…be careful, now! (Not a mystery is that Rebecca is much better–home now. Thanks for your concern.)
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
My devotional blog is here.

8 thoughts on “Mysteries of the Day

  1. AP has it right. Here’s a link to some very interesting pictures of those circular fields and the irrigation equipment which is used.

    http://rst.gsfc.nasa.gov/Sect3/Sect3_3.html

    Google images has pictures of “ravens in flight” that look strikingly similar to your photo.

    Once again, I am finding myself trying to catch up on your blog! Wish I was as good about posting as you are!!

    Like

  2. The birds look to me to be crows, perhaps ravens if you have ravens in that neck of the woods (crows are much larger than most people think).

    Go to the library — assuming you don’t have one on your home bookshelf — and look at Roger Tory Peterson’s bird guide for your area. In most of those guides there is a feature showing the profile of birds in flight (near the front or back cover) — that should help you determine they are not hawks or eagles.

    Hawks and eagles generally don’t congregate as the photos show.

    Hope that helps.

    Thank you, Darrell. I did check Peterson’s guide and looked over the profiles, but I still could not identify the birds. They looked much larger than crows to me, but I could be mistaken. Not sure if we have ravens or not, but they’re much the same size as crows, aren’t they?

    I want to think the birds were eagles, but I doubt it, for I saw one of them several times throughout that morning, and although we definitely have eagles in the area, they are not that easily spotted, I believe. Most of the morning, it was a single bird flying; only once I saw these two together.

    Not world-shattering is my desire to identify these birds. I’m back over in Arizona now, so won’t have a chance to look at the beautiful skies over Lake Gregory in Crestline for a while. Around our motor home here in Lake Havasu, we have lots of doves. They fly in, walk around our space, and from the trees, we hear their soft cooing.

    Like

  3. I believe that the birds might be hawks. I may be wrong but we have a couple who hang out by our home all the time. They eat the field mice in the farmers fields. Also, today I saw two chasing field prey on the highway. They were silhouetted by the sun and almost looked exactly like your picture.

    Hi, Anna. You may be right as we do have hawks in the area.

    Like

  4. I cannot see the birds clearly.Can you zoom in in your camera? if yes, it shouldn’t be difficult to identify them.
    Very glad to hear about your daughter! Sleep well.

    I’ve deleted the pictures from my camera. Thanks for your concern for Rebecca.

    Like

  5. AP

    The mysterious pie charts are fields being farmed, and the pie shape is formed from the irrigation system. Lets see if I can put this in to words. The primary water line that feeds the system comes up in the very center of the pie that you see, it then extends half the distance of the field that it is watering. At the outside edge of this pipe is a set of wheels that are self propelled that then in turn slowly water the field in a big circle. I believe if you thought about it, you have seen this many times in your ground travels but are just seeing it from a different prospective.

    Phooey, AP. I thought surely someone would identify those mysterious designs as being evidence of the establishment of gathering places for alien beings who have landed on earth. 😦

    Like

  6. Sis. Buxton,

    I’m wondering if the pie shaped plots have something to do with this here

    As for the birds, I am no expert, but hawks fly about where we live quite a bit. Those sorta look like the silhouette of one.

    You’ve been busy. I’m glad to here your daughter is better.

    Love you.

    Like

  7. I’m afraid I’m as baffled as you are about these mysteries, but I’m glad to hear that Rebecca is home. Good news!

    Carol, thanks for your prayers for Rebecca. She continues to improve.

    Like

Leave a Reply

