Two Studies That Please Me

Just because I like their results, I’m telling you of a couple of research conclusions. In my flair for honesty, I admit that next week or next month or next decade, another series of experiments may prove these current conclusions wrong. Go figure.

A Daily Cup of Coffee May Halt Alzheimers

By Rebecca Smith

Last Updated: 1:45am BST 03/04/2008

Drinking one cup of coffee a day could protect against Alzheimer’s disease, according to research.

These results please me because: 1. I like coffee 2. I don’t want to come down with Alzheimers.

No benefit in drinking eight glasses of water a day, scientists say

By Rebecca Smith, Medical Editor

Last Updated: 2:02am BST 03/04/2008

The idea that drinking eight glasses of water a day is good for your health has been dismissed as a myth.

This pleases me because I find it hard to drink eight glasses of water every day, and sometimes people say I should drink more water, and now I can retort, “Not according to
Dr Dan Negoianu and Dr Stanley Goldfarb, of the Renal, Electrolyte and Hypertension Division at the University of Pennsylvania.”

I’m taking a break now. Time for my first cup of coffee, and, watch me, I’m not drinking water. 🙂

_______________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

9 thoughts on “Two Studies That Please Me

  1. Pingback: Alzheimers » Blog Archive » Two Studies That Please Me

  2. Esther

    Unfortunantly Sis. Buxton, the weight loss has not happened to me. Fact is, the meds I have to take have caused me to gain weight ! Ugh !
    Since Alzheimers is in my family, guess I need to develop a tast for coffee.

    Oh, you seem sharp as can be. No cause for worry.

    Like

  3. If drinking a cup of coffee a day can help halt Alzheimer’s, that is encouraging news. We just got back from New York yesterday, and while we were there, we visited my husband’s aunt who has Alzheimer’s. We haven’t seen her for 4 years, and we could tell right away that she has gotten worse. She must have asked all of us about 8 times what our names were. Sometimes she can’t figure out simple things like how to wash her hands or brush her teeth. What is really amazing though is that at 82, she still plays that organ every Sunday at the Greek Orthodox Church that she has been a part of for years. If you put the music in front of her, she can sit down and play it. They have a piano at the adult care facility where she lives, and when her daughter comes by for her daily visits, she takes her down to the second floor so she can play it. It’s really amazing.

    That indeed is interesting about your husband’s aunt. How the brain exactly works remains a mystery.

    I wish we could sit together for a few hours and you could tell me of your trip to New York. I’ve been there only once and loved it.

    Like

  4. Rebecca

    I arm myself each morning with a latte, a bottle of water, and God, and I’m ready for the day!

    You, my dear, are well-armed.

    Like

  5. Esther

    My weird arthritis is too hard to explain. It is nothing like what most people have. I am on very strong meds and I hate to take meds. I’m waiting for my miracle. I hope you never get what I have. But, even if it is tough, there are so many more people so much worse off. I can still sleep, eat, walk (sometimes) and feel good except for the joints. Shawna can tell you more. The name of the type my doctor is treating me for is called: Polymyalgia Rheumatica. Funny thing is it started after I moved to Mississippi. So, I kind of blame this MS. weather for starting it. Just guessing.

    Hey, I’m so sorry. Hope you’re better soon. Might as well blame Mississippi since it can’t defend itself.

    Edit: Esther, I’ve read a little about your disorder this evening, and you probably already know it, but one of symptoms of the disease may be unintentional weight loss!

    According to Mayo Clinic the disease often spontaneously disappears. My prayers are for that.

    Like

  6. Esther

    Well, I don’t drink coffee. Simply because I don’t like the taste. However, I do drink a cup when traveling on the road if it is really a good smooth cup. I do drink lots and lots of water. I like it. And, it is required by my doctors because of the meds I am taking for a weird form of arthritis. Again, this is one of those things that you just have to take with a grain of salt (what ever that means). Too many things (reports) coming out that say: “yes you can” “no you can’t” or you should or you shouldn’t. So, drink up or refrain. What ever !!!

    Hi, Esther. What’s the weird form of arthritis? I’ve had a little bout with arthritis in my knee. In the early ’80s I had a snow-skiing accident and did damage to my knee. Doctor says now some of the debris from that accident is probably causing me a bit of grief. Don’t like it!

    Like

  7. I’m happy ’bout the first one.
    I disagree with the second one. Only because I can feel the difference when I do and don’t drink a lot of water. 🙂

    Then, drink up, my dear, or guzzle down, or swig, swallow, or gulp. Be well!

    Like

  8. Great news !!

    As here I sit in a coffee shop enjoying my first Latte of the day. NO water to wash it down with either. OH can you get me a refill quickly.

    Mervi

    Enjoy, my friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

