Barack Obama Responds to His Pastor’s Profanity and Racism


Sen. Barack Obama, D-Ill., and the Rev. Jeremiah Wright Jr., senior pastor, Trinity United Church of Christ in Chicago, March 2005. (Trinity United Church of Christ/Religion News Service)

“The statements that Rev. Wright made that are the cause of this controversy were not statements I personally heard him preach while I sat in the pews of Trinity or heard him utter in private conversation. When these statements first came to my attention, it was at the beginning of my presidential campaign. I made it clear at the time that I strongly condemned his comments. But because Rev. Wright was on the verge of retirement, and because of my strong links to the Trinity faith community, where I married my wife and where my daughters were baptized, I did not think it appropriate to leave the church.”

Complete text of his statement is here.

I find it insulting to the American people for Mr. Obama to think we will believe he did not know the character, tone and mindset of his pastor and spiritual mentor, under whom he sat for 20 years. It is incomprehensible to think he would not have learned of these profane and racist remarks even had he not been in the church when the words were shouted.

Without question, if any pastor I know made such hateful remarks–and they were out of character–every person in the congregation would hear of that particular sermon.

Mr. Obama is lacking in judgment, and perhaps in veracity, and is not worthy of the job of President of the United States.

_______________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

14 thoughts on “Barack Obama Responds to His Pastor’s Profanity and Racism

  1. All I have to say is: Politicians will say whatever they have to in order to get elected – sometimes they will lie – *Gasp*.

    It is disheartening to believe this is true.

    Like

  2. Jay Burns

    I posted this message on rguys blog, but will post it here as well in hopes of getting a response.

    Helen – I still don’t understand. Call me thick headed, nieve, or racist if you like, but how exactly do I have superiority over anyone of color? Please explain for me. And while you are at it please explain this supposed cost I have to pay in order to create equality. Are you talking about money? Will that make us equal? What about land? If they took my home would that make us equal? What about my job? If a black man takes my job will we be equal then? I don’t understand what this cost is that you keep reffering to that will somehow make us all equal.

    Jay, I don’t see this comment at RGuy’s.

    Edit: It’s there now.

    Like

  3. renaissanceguy

    I blogged about this same subject. If anyone is interested, click on my name.

    I think Shirley has hit the nail on the head.

    Let’s say that Obama doesn’t agree with his pastor’s outrageous and inflammatory statements, as he now claims. If that is true, then why did he sit under his pastorate for twenty years?

    Let’s say that Obama does agree with the Wright’s statements? Where is his integrity to disavow remarks that he believes himself?

    I’m encouraging my readers to go over and check out Renaissance Guy’s column. It posts crucial and pointed questions for Mr. Obama.

    Like

  4. Esther

    Well, after all this has been said, I don’t think it really matters because I don’t believe Obama will be our next president. I believe McCain will. And, if he were to get Conda Lisa Rice (spelling) for vice president I think it would be a “shoe in”. Not because she is a woman, although that would surely help. And, not because she is black, although that would probably help also. But, because she is very intellgent, calm, cool and collected AND, she has lots of experience. From working close with the president and representing the USA in foreign countries. She is a “peace maker”. I would love to have her as our next vice president. Am I just dreaming?

    Esther, it doesn’t hurt to dream. 🙂

    Like

  5. Sjur

    Churches should be examples of acceptance, forgiveness, peace and love yet, many fail us. – especially those who accept conflict, when Jesus clearly taught us the way of peace.

    Yes, churches should be such examples, and I believe many of them are.

    Like

  6. dean

    In response to Helens comments.. what is “problematic “to lots of folks is the Right Rev. Wright association with H.Obama and Farrakhan, who said in March 2000″ White people are potential humans…they haven”t evolved yet”.
    Mr.Obama did right in separating himself from a man whose message he probably shares, truth be known. God Help America.

    Like

  7. In regards to Helen’s comment, I find it admirable that the Iman and the Baptist preachers worked together to for a good cause. I am, however, troubled with many of Farrakhan’s racist statements to which Shirley referred. It seems he and Wright share a common bond of hateful speaking. If Wright and Farrakhan spread messages of peace, I might accept their travel to Libya and meeting Khadafi for the purpose of peace talks. Considering their type of preaching, I find it hard to believe their meeting with Khadafi was for a good reason. Churches should be examples of acceptance, forgiveness, peace and love yet, many fail us. I, for one, will not be surprised if at some point it is revealed Wright’s church funds terrorism.

    Like

  8. helenl:
    Have you ever heard any of Farrkhans remarks about Jews, whites or Jesus?
    Try googling those words and see what you find.
    I don’t think Dr. King would have been proud of Mr. Farrakhan.
    “Problematic”? Hmmm….

    Like

  9. And I agree with both of you that Obama’s attempt to distance himself is disgusting.

    Wright’s association with Farrakhan, however, I don’t see as problematic. Khalid Griggs, the Imam of the local mosque in Winston-Salem works with several pastors here. He was a member, along with two black pastors, on a committee I chaired that brought Martin Luther King Jr.’s Massey Lectures to Winston-Salem. We held lectures on three local college campuses, the mosque, and a black Baptist church.

    My thesis adviser and several black pastors went to the Million Man March. Why would Wright not work with Farrakhan? And now, why would Obama distance himself?

    Like

  10. This entire saga sickens me. I find it especially hypocritical of Obama to speak out AFTER his pastor generated such negative feedback. In 1984, Wright traveled with Louis Farraakhan to visit Moammar Khadafi in Libya. Why would Obama even join a church whose pastor associated with such people? Then, Wright has spoken such hate in messages for many years. This new video clip the media has been televising, is not the only racist sermon Wright has preached. Obama has stayed with that church, gave credit to Wright for being his mentor, said Wright was the inspiration for his book, and continued to be a member all these years hearing racial rhetoric. I find it truly disgusting that Obama now wants to distance himself for his campaign sake. It is pure hypocrisy.

    Jana, I tend to agree with you.

    Like

  11. arm5

    He did do the right thing by distancing himself from this man but the damage probably already has been done.

    Hello, Angela

    You’re right about the damage. Think about it. For 20 years he sat under this man’s tutelage. Surely during that amount of time, he absorbed much of the pastor’s philosophy. This is troubling, and because he is only now “distancing” himself, it smells of merely a political move.

    Like

Leave a Reply

