Baby Born with Two Faces Considered a Goddess

Edit: Tueday, April 1

“At first I was a little bit afraid,” Vinod Kumar Singh, the 24-year-old father of the girl, told ABC News. “But then I accepted whatever God gives.

She is now two weeks old and the parents of this little girl have not yet named her. Understandably, they seem to be confused and are reluctant to accept the medical care that has been offered them. She has not been examined in order to assess her medical condition.

_______________________________________________________________________

All around us every day are both joy and sorrow, confusion and order, war and peace. And because we are all brothers, what sad thing happens to a family far removed from our doorstep, brings a tear to our own eye. Such is the case of the family in India where a few days ago, a child was born who, because of an error in the womb, is tragically challenged.

When such births come to my attention, I am reminded to be thankful for my health and Jerry’s health, and that of my children, my grandchildren and my great-grandchildren. A slight chemical abberation or a small injury as the embryo developed could have caused any one of my family to be born less than perfect. I am indeed thankful, and my heart goes out to this family and to this little girl.

She probably is a conjoined twin, and as more medical releases are made available it is possible her life expectancy may be considered minimal, although at this time she is known to be healthy. Some conjoined twins may be surgically separated, but because of the profound joining of this baby and the location of the joining, it may not be possible. Let us all pray for this family and for the medical team of this little girl.

http://foxdrmanny.files.wordpress.com/2008/03/1_21_twofacedbaby450.jpg

The link here will take you to a video of the child and of the village in India in which she was born. She is considered by some as a goddess, and you will observe their worship of her.

______________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

5 thoughts on “Baby Born with Two Faces Considered a Goddess

  1. Matt

    Does this cojoined twin have one mind (i.e. functioning brain, and thus personality) or two? The article doesn’t say.

    Good morning, Matt–
    The last I read the family is reluctant to let medical professionals thoroughly examine the baby, so at this point we don’t know what the case is.

    I admire the parents for protecting their baby, not wanting to make a circus from her–but they don’t seem to understand there are doctors who lovingly could like to help. It’s a story still in progress.

    I want to keep praying for this greatly challenged little girl and her family.

    Thanks for reading here on my blog.

    Like

  2. Another very amazing occurance like that of Lakshmi.
    I was glad to hear that Lakshmi’s surgery went well.
    I’m very curious to find out how this child’s (children?) life will go, if she survives long. Will she be one person with two faces ? Or two people who share the same body? Will she be severly mentally handicaped or will she normal mentally. I’m very curious of all of this.

    And I can completely understand why many Indians would percieve Lakshmi and this baby as incarnations of Hindu gods/goddesses. The reason I believe they think this is because some of the paintings/sculptures of certain goddesses depict them having multiple limbs or faces (if I’m not mistaken).

    Hi, John. I wonder how that facet of their religion arose. I guess I need to study about it.
    I too, am curious about this sweet little girl. So far I haven’t seen any updates.

    Like

  3. Sjur

    I don’t think it’s odd that they consider her a goddess, it’s a very considerate and sweet reaction – which we should respect. In fact, the indian religion may be closer to the truth than you think.

    Sjur, welcome to my blog. Hope you visit here often.

    You probably know more about the Indian religion than I do, and may understand why a severely deformed child would be considered a goddess. I just am not knowledgeable about that, and when I agree that it is odd, I am reflecting my own society, I do understand that.

    I agree that her friends and relatives mean this in a kind and caring way as the video clearly shows.

    I am asking a question respectfully and sincerely. Recall the little Indian girl, Lakshmi, who had 8 limbs, and who was also considered a goddess because of that. Yet her parents decided to have corrective surgery–very successful, I believe. I followed her story and wrote extensively about her progress.

    Is she still considered a goddess after having the surgery? Is there something about deformity that in the Indian culture reveals a god or a goddess?

    Again, I am asking these questions sincerely and respectfully.

    Like

  4. By the way the link for the video wouldn’t work for me–it went to a fox news page and didn’t do or play anything after that.

    Jen, the link is good–works for both Jerry and me. It goes to a Fox site, you’ll see a Swiffer advertisement, then the video will come on. If you’re getting nothing, your signal might be weak. Check it out later.

    Like

  5. Wow…I don’t know if I’ve seen anything like that. It’s a very confusing picture, and odd that people think she is a goddess.

    I know the picture is confusing and jolting. That’s why I placed it further down in the column, rather than at the beginning. So sad. Disregarding the obvious deformity, though, she has pretty features. I hope something can be done for her, and hope she is treated with respect and love. I certainly want my column to reflect those feelings.

    It does seem odd that her friends and neighbors consider her a goddess, but it probably has to do with their religion.

    Good to hear from you, Jen. Are you doing well?

    Like

Leave a Reply

