Jerry’s Birthday

Jerry Buxton, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

I’m not sure whether at this moment or not, he is aware of it, seeing that he is still asleep, but today is Jerry’s birthday. Seventy-six years ago in the village of Starks, La. the 12th and last child of the William Buxton family came wailing into the world…and they named him Gerald.

It was a rare day in Starks, for on that March 12, 1932, it snowed, an uncommon occurrence in that part of the country. Jerry has been told that during the birth his siblings were sent away from the house, and when they returned, there was Jerry!

“You have a new baby brother,” the parents told the brothers and sisters. “Take a look at him.” Wrinkled and squalling, this little critter had begun his trek through life.

Seventy-six years…

I’m not sure exactly how we will celebrate, for since yesterday our plans have changed. Rebecca had called some time before to say she wanted to come for his birthday today, but late yesterday she had to alter her plans and won’t be here until Saturday. She was bringing a sour-cream apple pie from Marie Callender’s, so I hadn’t planned a cake…but I can probably whip up one.

If you want to add a little birthday greeting for Jerry, I know he will love it.

Happy Birthday, Jerry.

______________________________________________________
My devotional blog is here.

32 thoughts on “Jerry’s Birthday

  1. Happy Birth Dat Brothr Buxtom.. If I was able I would like to go and visit you in Lake Havasu and sing “Yes He Will.” By the way; I heard Rev. Wright’s sermon and I thing he a little too white to preach like that
    Brother Webb

    Like

  2. Patrick

    Dear Bro. Buxton,

    The happiest of birthdays to you. Thank you for being an elder in my life, and for preaching and living the truth. You are an inspiration and example to us all (and I hope I look as good when I get there!)

    Have a great and BLESSED birth-day!

    We love you,

    Hollybren’s other half

    Like

  3. A Very Happy Birthday to you Bro. Buxton! I wish you a wonderful celebration.

    I love you and your sweet wife and am thankful for the influence you both have been to me.

    God Bless!!!!

    Can’t wait to see the cake with candles. ๐Ÿ˜†

    Like

  4. Happy Birthday to you, a Happy Birthday to you
    May you feel Jesus near every day of the year
    A Happy Birthday to you ,a Happy Birthday to you
    And the best one you’ve ever had!
    Happy Birthday Brother Buxton!!!
    God bless you richly and give you many more years (that’s for us too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Bro. Buxton!
    You deserve the best birthday EVER, because YOU are the BEST! ๐Ÿ˜€
    We love you and admire you for your constant giving of your life to the Kingdom of God.
    Love,
    Len, Tena, Kyle & Todd Valenti

    Like

  6. Cheri Bagato

    Happy Birthday Bro. Buxton, Hope you had a wonderful day, Just like you are, I remember being at your church in Rialto, one night when you came into the church after your accident, and seeing you with the walker and “shouting”, Bro. Caldwell was preaching. God Bless you,

    Like

  7. Esther

    I guess all the really, really good people were born on this day. It is also my son Todd’s birthday. He went to be with the Lord 29 years ago at the age of 15. I still miss him.
    I’m so thankful for you Bro. Buxton, for many reasons but the #1 reason is you gave us Andrew, which married my daughter Shawna and they gave me 5 precious, beautiful grandkids.
    Love ya’ …………….

    Like

  8. Pingback: A Spectacular, Albeit Unorthodox, Birthday Cake « Shirley Buxton

  9. Hollybren

    Happy Birthday Bro. Buxton ~

    You are one incredible man of god – I’m so blessed to have you in my life. Thanks for all you’ve taught me through the years. I constantly strive to live my life for God as you have done through all these years. You have played many roles in my life, and I’m grateful for all of them. You’ll never know how much of an impact you’ve made on my life and my family – you’re definitely one of a kind. We’re so blessed to know you.

    Have a HAPPY Happy Birthday. I pray God blesses you richly.

    Lots of Love,
    HG

    Like

Leave a Reply

