A Spectacular, Albeit Unorthodox, Birthday Cake

donuts 008, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

Since we don’t have a birthday cake, and since Andrew just emailed me this picture, I’m of the mind that if we could get the actual donuts to somehow appear in Lake Havasu, they would be the perfect thing to cap Jerry’s birthday. I can envision getting 76 candles on it–directly on top and sticking around every side. That would work, I’m sure you agree.

I don’t know whether it was Andrew or Shawnna who cooked these, (they’re made from canned biscuits) but Andrew took the picture, and without his knowing it, Shawnna submitted the picture to an amateur photography contest. It’s a winner! and has advanced to another category.

I still think its too bad it’s not festooned with 76 candles and with party streamers. 🙂

________________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

 

5 thoughts on “A Spectacular, Albeit Unorthodox, Birthday Cake

  1. Brenda, you are something else. Please invite me to the next birthday party you throw. Now remind me–how old is Olivia? And at 2 or 3, did she appreciate all that work you did?

    I know this revelation will probably make you so disappointed in me–Jerry did not get a real birthday cake. Such a shame. He did have a slice of cake. Goes this way: When we were in Texas a few weeks ago his sister gave us an Orange Slice Cake. It resembles a fruit cake, spicy with nuts and orange slice pieces. It’s quite good, and we’ve been eating a piece here and there and returning the rest of it to the freezer.

    Well, since Rebecca didn’t get here with the Apple Pie and I never did make a cake, on the night of Jerry’s birthday as we sat here in our motor home, from the freezer I pulled the remnants of the Orange Slice Cake, whacked off two slices, warmed them slightly in the microwave…and that was it…the party…the cake…the celebration. A little sad, huh.

    Don’t forget, though, we had gone out to dinner and Jerry ordered a huge (16 ounce) ribeye steak. It was scrumptious.

    Love you

    Like

  2. Brenda G

    They look yummy! But what I want to know is, did Brother Buxton get a birthday cake? It is quite important, you know! I do love birthdays. Last year, at my granddaughter Olivia’s birthday, I made about 8 dozen homemade (no cake mixes) birthday cupcakes. They were vanilla cupcakes with pink seven minute icing, lemon cupcakes with lemon glaze and sliced almonds (oh those did take a doctored -up mix), chocolate with cream cheese cupcakes, and carrot cupcakes with cream cheese icing. What fun I had! So as you can see, I think everybody should have a birthday cake!! Happy Birthday, Brother Buxton. P.S. I love having my birthday on a church night, because that means I can stretch out the celebration. I wouldn’t want to miss church, so we have the party on another night…but since it’s my birthday … my husband spoils me and takes me to breakfast or lunch…
    so if you haven’t had your cake yet, Brother Buxton, it’s not too late. LOL

    Like

  3. I’ve never eaten one of these delicious looking donuts. I’m so depived. 😦

    There have been times when I was talking on the phone to my sister, Shawnna, late at night, when all the kiddies were sound asleep, and it was just her and Andrew. She would say, “Andrew’s making some biscuit donuts right now.” Oh, how I wanted one to go right through the phone right then! 🙂 That’s it! Now that I’ve seen a photo of them, the next time we are together, I’m going to have Andrew make me some!

    Catherine, I have a weakness for “really good” donuts, too. I figure if I only eat them once in a while, it can’t hurt too bad, eh? They do give me a stomach ache…but it’s worth it. 🙂

    Tena, ask Shawnna to tell you about Andrew’s taking this picture. It’s hilarious.

    Like

  4. Great pic! I haven’t had “canned biscuit” doughnuts in many many years. I think it would be a great b’day cake! Give my best wishes to Bro. Buxton.

    Don’t they look yummy. Haven’t tasted one for years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

