Which?–Is Barak Hussein Obama Christian or Muslim?

I will vote for neither Hillary Rodham Clinton or Barak Hussein Obama…so as some say…I have no dog in this hunt, yet in crucial ways I do, for whomever is elected in November will become the President for all citizens of the United States. Thus my interest in both Democratic candidates continues. Of mounting interest is the question of Mr. Obama’s religious leanings, and in the most recent issue of Christianity Today, the issue is fully explored. Now I do understand there are those who say a President’s religious beliefs and practices have nothing to do with his qualifications for the highest office in the world. I disagree, and believe we should carefully consider every aspect of all viable candidates.

“I believe in the redemptive death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.” Barak Obama

The article is an important one, I am printing much of it here, and am encouraging you to read the entire piece.

What do you think your biggest obstacle will be in reaching evangelicals?

You know, I think that there’s been a set of habits of thinking about the interaction between evangelicals and Democrats that we have to change. Democrats haven’t shown up. Evangelicals have come to believe often times that Democrats are anti-faith. Part of my job in this campaign, something that I started doing well before this campaign, was to make sure I was showing up and reaching out and sharing my faith experience with people who share that faith. Hopefully we can build some bridges that can allow us to move the country forward.

What would you do in office differently than Hillary Clinton or John Edwards that would appeal to evangelicals?

I have not focused on all of their policies so I don’t want to speak about what their positions will be. I know that as president, I want to celebrate the richness and diversity of our faith experience in this country. I think it is important for us to encourage churches and congregations all across the country to involve themselves in rebuilding communities. One of the things I have consistently argued is that we can structure faith-based programs that prove to be successful — like substance abuse or prison ministries — without violating church and state. We should make sure they are rebuilding the lives of people even if they’re not members of a particular congregation. That’s the kind of involvement that I think many churches are pursuing, including my own. It can make a real difference in the lives of people all across the country.

So would you keep the White House Office of Faith-Based and Community Initiatives open or restructure it?

You know, what I’d like to do is I’d like to see how it’s been operating. One of the things that I think churches have to be mindful of is that if the federal government starts paying the piper, then they get to call the tune. It can, over the long term, be an encroachment on religious freedom. So, I want to see how moneys have been allocated through that office before I make a firm commitment in terms of sustaining practices that may not have worked as well as they should have.

Having read this (and I hope the entire article) I’m curious to know your thoughts concerning this area of Mr. Obama’s life. Are you convinced he is indeed a Christian, or do you contend that deep in his heart, he is Muslim? What if he were Muslim? Would that preclude your asking him to be President of the United States?

_______________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

 

11 thoughts on “Which?–Is Barak Hussein Obama Christian or Muslim?

  1. Nothing concerns more than Christians condemning their own faith. What would Jesus do? Nothing that is in this room I am sure. Hypocrisy is why your voice is shrinking and why people are paying less and less attention to you. John McCain said it best. “No Mama, he’s not Muslim, he’s a good person” in other words Muslims are not good people. The KKK is based on Christianity and you all need to remember that. Your racism makes me sick.

    Like

  2. Jim

    Sorry but this great country was founded on Christian belief and its surrounding morality. What you have seen in the past 20 years is a slow erosion of our Christian principals until its becoming a torrent. Drugs, Open homosexuals, political correctness, a veering away of the strong moral path.

    Now — we even accept a Muslim as our leader. Wake up people. The islamic religion is sworn to kill and eradicate non-believers. Do you think for a minute Obama is going to tell you he’s a Muslim so he won’t get elected. Seriously, his words are very well couched and I challenge anyone who thinks Obama will ever profess publicly or privately that Jesus Christ is his savior. Not. Better hope the voters are smarter than some of them appear.

    It’s almost as if the devil himself is sweet talking the populace.

    I’m praying that God will direct us, and that Mr. Obama will be defeated in November. Thank you for your post–for your honest concerns.

    Like

  3. Hello, Michelle–

    Thanks for coming by and leaving a comment here. I share some of your concerns about Mr. Obama, especially since there is so much about him we do not know. Also, the negative comments concerning America his wife has made deeply troubles me.

    I’m not sure about your statement “It is known fact that in order to be a presidential canidate, one must be a Christian.” Can you document that? Where is that stated.

    Wish you well, and hope you’re here often.

    Like

  4. michelle

    I don’t believe Obama is a Christian. It is known fact that in order to be a presidential canidate, one must be a Christian. How convenient for him to become a Christian before he starts his campaign. I fear this man being president as he doesn’t acknowledge our flag, or what our country stands for. Why would any American vote for an anti-American??? All it takes for him to “convert” back to Muslim is a call from his leader telling him “it’s time to do what Allah called you to do” then it’s goodbye America!! That’s my thought.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Which?–Is Barak Hussein Obama Christian or Muslim?

  6. dean

    If he chooses not to honor our flag… does not pledge allegiance to it…. who could honestly vote for him? I personally couldnt vote for him for that reason and others. But thats me. Peace

    Like

  7. renaissanceguy

    I think we have to take people at their word unless we have sound reasons not to. If Mr. Obama says that he is a Christian, then I really have no reason to think otherwise.

    What does concern me is that he is part of a different “brand” of Christianity from mine. I don’t know if he has what I would call “saving faith in Jesus” or simply a nomial assent to Christian beliefs. As a member of the UCC, he is part of a very liberal strain of the Christian movement. To the extent that his politics has been influenced by his faith, it has been an influence that is contrary to my own political persuasions.

    His early background concerns me a little. While we are not in a religous war per se, our most violent enemies at the moment are part of the Muslim religion. Given Obama’s background, will he prosecute these enemies as boldly as President Bush has? I think we have reason to doubt it.

    In theory I wouldn’t care if the President of the United States happened to be a Muslim. Given a choice between a politically liberal Christian and a politically conservative Muslim, I would tend to support the latter. However, any Muslim would have to thoroughly convince me that he is not afraid to go after the terrorists who want to destroy Israel and the United States.

    Like

  8. Well Sister Buxton, I don’t have a leg to stand on because I am not an american citizen. But it has grieved me over the years to see the decline of christian character in this great country’s political infrastructure. It is now against the law to declare God in some places? We know what was established by the forefathers, but it no longer stand. That sets the tone from the top down to kindergarden .
    Mr Obama seems to lean much more towards Islam – nothing personal – my cousin is Muslim, nice guy, but not a Christian!
    I will say to you that I see it as the unstoppable time – God’s time. We must pray to reach out to as many as possible in these dangerous times.
    To love all men, it is our duty, but we do not have to agree.

    Like

  9. I think Obama is a Christian, my brother and yours. If he were a Muslim or became a Muslim, I would have no problem with that. The decision to accept Jesus Christ as one’s personal savior has nothing to do with who occupies the White House.

    Like

Leave a Reply

