Gulf Coast Ladies Retreat–Part 3

Fellowship in the Gym, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

I am indebted to my friend Nita Hodges, whom some of you will recognize in this shot of the gym of First Apostolic Church. She is a premiere speaker, godly, fun-loving, beautiful…and she is responsible for my being introduced to the Jacksons and to this excellent church and its ladies retreat. She and Ann Jackson are best friends, and it is so sweet of Nita to include me in this exceptional circle of people.

A wonderful perk came with our ministry at Highlands. Many of Jerry’s relatives who live in Louisiana and Texas came to the services and we had the delightful opportunity to visit with them.

Among the relatives was Emily who, for the first time in her life, saw her great, great uncle Jerry. It was love at first sight for both of them, and innumerable times, I saw her hanging all over him.

“Emily, do you want to call me Pappy?” Jerry asked her.

“Yes, Pappy, I do,” she responded. “And I want to go home with you.”

Although our dear friends Dean and DeeDee Godair were not able to attend any of the church services, we met at Starbucks on Saturday evening, and we will always cherish the few hours we spent with them. Thirty-nine years ago, in Garden Grove, CA. Jerry married these precious people, who are extremely dear to us.

5 thoughts on “Gulf Coast Ladies Retreat–Part 3

  1. Bishop L L Godair

    Hello, I came across your post while searching google for the name Godair. I recognized the name of Dean Godair although I have not had the pleasure of meeting him. i did speak to him some years ago on the phone.
    Anyway , just wanted to say the site is nice.
    Best wishes from a Godair

    Welcome to my site, Bishop Godair. Hope you’re here often.

    Dean Godair has two uncles who are very excellent ministers in the United Pentecostal Church.

    Blessings

    Like

  2. Sweet, sweet little girl! Awwww!

    I’m so moved right now… by your pictures of good food, and fun times with good friends who love the Lord. Can it get any better?

    Yes, Ma’am! But not until Heaven!

    Like

  3. dean

    Sister Dede said I should also mention….”we will always cherish the time we spent with you. I will never forget the teaching and preaching that brought me to God.”

    Like

  4. dean

    Sis.Buxton, Dede and I will always remember our time with you . You will always have a very special place in our hearts. May God continue to bless.
    The Godairs

    Like

Leave a Reply

