Ousted for a Mohawk

How far should a school go in dictating the appearance of its students? Is it fair that this little boy was dismissed because of his Mohawk haircut? Is it reasonable to think, as the school has suggested, that such appearance is distracting in the classroom?

While I think the haircut is unattractive, I suspect it is would not be a great distraction given the age of the students. Probably if little attention were paid to the young man, in a few days, no one in his kindergarten class would even notice. Having said that, though, I believe the parents should have respected the decision of the school authorities, should have explained it to the youngster, and have waited until the summer break to let him sport such a style. (Personally, I suspect I would not have cut my little boys’ hair in such a way.)

How about you? What do you think? All the story is here.

________________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

10 thoughts on “Ousted for a Mohawk

  1. kay

    my 6 year old has the same hair cut and since when did hair stop any childs ability to learn to read, write and learn maths NEVER . My son has been told not to gel his hair no before school my opinion is why should he stop he is an individual with his own personality.

    Like

  2. Amanda

    I would like to point out that a private school is vastly different from a Charter School. Charter Schools are typically funded from local school districts/governments. They do not typically charge tutiotion. It is an extension of a public school. A private school is just that private. They set their own rules and charge for the privledge of learning there.

    Hi Amanda. Welcome to my site. Thanks for your thoughts on this subject.

    Like

  3. Hello, Hay. Welcome to my blog. Hope you’re here often.

    I compliment you on being an A student…and on writing well.

    Of course you have a right to wear a Mohawk haircut if your mother agrees, and if that look is permitted at your school, your place of employment etc.

    However, a private school also has the right to set rules…just as does a private company. If you were to choose to go to work for, oh say, American Airlines, they might have in their stipulations that you have a traditional haircut. (I don’t know if they do, but I suspect that might be the case.) At that point you would decide: do I want this job badly enough to get rid of this haircut, or not. And of course that would mean you would get rid of the Mohawk in the evening after work hours also, of course.

    Your point about stipulations being in the rules is a valid one. I disagree with your thinking that such rules are teaching intolerance. There are some things that are not to be tolerated in schools and other places, but that is far different from castigating someone because of their race, skin color, religion, physical appearance etc.

    I wish you well with your life. Let me hear from you in 20 years, for I’m curious to know your take then on body piercings and such.

    Like

  4. I have a mohawk, and in school I was always an A+ student…my punk friends and I were the top classmen. I didn’t do it to rebel– my mom is open and doesn’t care what I look like. I had nothing ot rebel against…I have the mohawk simply because it’s me just like my piercings and my art are me.

    The problem here is two parts:

    One– The school is not only telling this boy how he should have his hair at school, but also how he should have it while at home. Thye can’t do that, it’s basic human rights. It’s not like he can just regrow the ‘hawk when he’s home then get rid of it for school…therefor, telling him he can’t have that style at school 100% limits him to how he can have that style at home.

    Two– The school doesn’t have it in the rules. The school is also teaching their students intolerance, and that’ it’s okay to berate someone for looking different. Hello prejudice!

    Like

  5. I tend to agree with Mervi and Jayleigh. It is a private school. They do have to wear uniforms and they do have standards to go by. The parents were given 3 chances to get it right. They are the ones with the rebellion problem, not the child. It is a shame because they are teaching the child that he does not have to listen to authority.

    Just like the church, I have seen many parents rebel when the pastor was trying to guide and direct them or their children and off they go and leave the church taking their children with them teaching the children you do not have to listen to authority.

    Rebellious parents are teaching their children that if someone tries to tell you what to do and you don’t want to do it, then just get up and go somewhere where they will let you do what you want. Is that really the answer?

    Like

  6. Alright… I don’t like the haircut myself, but at first blush, I thought I would be on the Kid and Parent’s side. Until I read this:

    “I understand they have a dress code. I understand he has a uniform. But this is total discrimination,” she said. “They can’t tell me how I can cut his hair.”

    Hello, UNIFORM. If the kids are wearing uniforms, that means the school has strict policies on the “look” of it’s students. And the child’s parents were on their 3rd warning. I don’t see what the deal is when they have been warned repeatedly and choose not to heed the warning!

    Like

  7. My reaction is quite mixed. I think a school should have a right to determine an acceptable dress code, but if this hairstyle is not against the rules they were wrong to send the boy home. Personally, I don’t like the haircut, but I don’t see how it would distract learning. If the teacher thought it was distracting, she could have changed which seat the boy sat in rather then sending him home. An excellent teacher manuevers around distractions. I feel sorry for the little guy who has parents that allow such a haircut at such a young age. The boy will always get his way in life and that is not good for a child.

    Our boys attended a school that had a required dress code but didn’t have specific rules for hair. Our older son was having some health issues and he hated to spend time combing his hair. Especially because our younger son never combed his hair (the curls just fall into place). Even though our older son has some natural curl to his hair, he didn’t have enough to not comb it. So. I told our older son to get a perm and he could wear his hair like his younger brother which doesn’t require any work/time. The school administrator did not even see my son but called and said he heard about it and would put our son out of the school if he came with a perm. The admin begin to tell everyone that any guy who gets a perm is a homosexual and it got really ugly. Fortunately for the school, we didn’t sue but it was tempting. I know you have seen my boys mnay times and they always look great. My oldest son liked the less work with his hair so much that he keeps a body perm in it all the time. He has had curly hair like his brother for nearly seven years. The only thing that could possibly distract anyone is their good looks. LOL

    Like

  8. Jay Burns

    Mervi,

    I too was a “little dinky guy” with a mohawk. We should start some sort of society for the betterment of the mohawk.

    In seriousness though I don’t think a mohawk nessesarily is done for rebellious purposes. In fact there are no refferences in this story to the boys poor behavior, only that it seems to be a distraction. In fairness I can see how it might be a distraction. After all that is not a usual haircut for a boy. I have to wonder, though, if a little girl who shaved her head would also be ousted from the classroom. That too would be disruptive.

    My second question is what message is being taught by taking the young boy to a different school. Is it one that says, “Don’t conform to the standards of this world and fight to preserve your rights.” Or, is this saying, “You don’t have to follow the rules set by the authorities above you.”

    When all is said and done I find myself falling on the side of the CHARTER school. This is a private school, not a public one. They can set whatever standards they choose, and if you want to attend then you must follow them. As long as they are applied fairly I don’t see a problem.

    -Jay

    Like

  9. AH a good old fashion Mohawk! Yes, I have had more then one of this style of hair cut, more years ago than I care to think about. But, the reason I had one was always the same.

    REBILION!

    A little dinky dude with this hair cut. Sorry, it is distractive. The parents allow this now. What will be allowed in five years, ten years or fifteen years? A pattern set is many times hard to brake. There is a very important lesson in the separation line between allowing a child to have some liberty and teaching the need for boundaries. This is a great lesson that we as adults need to help the generation that follows us.

    Like

  10. This is ridiculous. And wrong. It is a school exercising power to show it can. Rather than stopping education, why not use this as an educational opportunity? Explain that not everyone looks the same but that we must treat all classmates fairly. That’s about as far as it needs to go with 6 year olds. (I agree with Shirley, it’s unattractive, and I wouldn’t have chosen it for my little boy.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

